Skip to main content
Books to Explore
State Rankings 2012
Call Number: HA203 .U17
Publication Date: 2012-04-18
Most recent edition in SSHL (in Geisel) Reference while older copies are in the stacks (6th floor). This is an annual publication.
Google Search Tip
Not sure how to find your topic at one of these sites? Or, maybe, you don't like their search capability? You can let Google help. Now that you know about these organizations, use part of their URL and search with your topic. For example, Google:
health-care reform site:rwjf.org
This will bring up results for the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation specifically dealing with health care reform.
Google Web Search
If you search here, be sure to use good search technique. For example:
- Include words like: statistics OR data
- Use site:gov for government sites
- Use tip above -- use a more specific URL to search a site
Google Journal Article Search
Remember to adjust for the correct span of years -- on the results page, set a custom range of years if the preset ones aren't quite right.
Each database will have a tool to limit to just the past few years, but each one will have it in a different place. PubMed has it on their limits page, Web of Science has it on their main search page, and Business Source Premier has a slider tool you can see of the results page. Check out some of the different ways to refine your search too.
The premier biomedical and health science database with nearly 20 million citations and growing. A key database for anyone in medicine or health sciences to know how to use.
Be sure to check out the Limits to narrow for time period and other helpful criteria.
A "semantic" search tool that looks at relationships between words. Search for articles from PubMed, but have it processed a different way for different results.
Be sure to use the Date limit listed on the left-side panel to get just results from the last 3 years.
Business Source Complete
The database to use for questions involving financial or economic factors in any discipline.
The Cumulative Index for Nursing & Allied Health Literature is a great database for nursing related questions, but also for topics that are more involved in Allied Health fields: physical therapy, occupational therapy, rehabilitation, as well as public health or public policy topics.
Indexes articles, books, chapters, thesis, and web pages dealing with psychology or psychiatry. It also covers the psychological aspect of health and health care.
Government Resources (Statistics)
The following are selected reference sources. For more options, see our special list.
California Vital Statistics Reports
Get an overview of a health topic, instead of making a query, with various charts, graphs, & statistics.
California Department of Health Services Vital Statistics Query System
From the California Center for Health Statistics, this system lets you construct detailed queries about California vital statistics (births, deaths) including variables such as county, age, cause of death, etc. Requires Java-enabled browser.
California Counties Health Status Profiles
The Office of Health Information and Research produces a variety of reports on the health and well-being of Californians. This webpage provides links to those reports which are available online. Reports are listed in alphabetical order by title.
California Health Interview Survey
Registration is required. This resources offers an interactive report generator for the topics you select.
Health United States (from the CDC)
From the National Center for Health Statistics, data on health trends in the American population - birth & death rates, infant mortality, life expectancy, morbidity and health status, risk factors, use of ambulatory and inpatient care, health personnel and facilities, financing of health care, health insurance and other health issues. Each year, a topical subject is also covered in depth.
** New ** MedPac
This group is a Congressional advisory group and has compiled a number of reports on Medicare and health care in general.
Other Authoritative Resources
California Statistics (from RAND California)
From the RAND think tank. Generates tables of latest data on business and economics, population and demographics, census, health, education, government finance, community indicators, politics and public opinion.
Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
A non-governmental research organization for health & health care related topics including health policy, government & legal issues, public policy, and more.
I am available to meet with you to help you use these tools and refine your search.