Skip to main content
San Diego Union Tribune
The San Diego Union-Tribune and its predecessors are available in a mix of formats.
Online access (restricted to UCSD users) is available for:
Microfilm access is available for issues from 1871-present. The newspaper has gone through various name changes, but all are together at call number XF 248. Microfilm provides cover-to-cover page images of all issues.
Other San Diego Newspapers
La Prensa San Diego
Weekly, bilingual (Spanish/English) San Diego newspaper. Archives back to 1998 freely available and searchable online. Find the archives link about midway down the page in the right column.
North County Times
Full-text access to the North County Times from January 2005 to the present.
San Diego Business Journal
Local San Diego magazine, with a focus on local business news.
San Diego City Beat
Weekly San Diego newspaper with online archives back to 2007.
San Diego Reader
Local weekly newspaper. Archives freely available and searchable online back to 2005.
Voice of San Diego
An online, independent San Diego newspaper. Free, searchable archives back to 2004.
U.S. & International Newspaper Sources
Access World News
Dates vary. More than 1500 sources worldwide, including 650 in the U.S. Largely newspapers,local news video for the U.S.; newspapers for Canada, UK and other English-speaking countries. For the rest of the world mostly wire services and BBC news digests.
1995-present. Full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press.
ISI Emerging Markets
Foreign business intelligence service covering macroeconomic analysis, companies, industries, finance, and news in Asia, Latin America, and Central/Eastern Europe. Includes full-text news articles, research reports, and online data.
Latin American Newspapers
Listing of Latin American newspapers, by country. Compiled by Zona Latina.
Lexis Nexis Academic
Thousands of full-text sources including newspapers, wires, transcripts, newsletters, magazines, trade journals; also industry news, company information, law reviews, court decisions. Coverage dates vary.
Los Angeles Times (1881-1990)
1881-1987. Full text and display images of both articles and complete newspaper pages.
Cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 U.S. and international newspapers, plus selected full text for more than 330 regional (U.S.) newspapers. Note: this is one of the few databases that I recommend using the "full text" limiter.