Skip to main content
Public Health Resources & Specialty Search Tools
AHRQ: Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
Look under AHRQ for You for the links available for either Researchers or Policy Makers to find:
-- Research Findings
-- Knowledge Transfer & Implementation
-- AHRQ Annual Highlights
-- and more.
Choose a Database
There are many databases to use and depending upon your topic, you may need more than one database to adequately cover your topic. A few of the most common ones are:
Covers nearly 5,000 journals in the biomedical and health sciences, and has over 20 million citations with an archive of articles going back to the late 1940's.
This customized link adds-in the UC-eLinks button.
Business Source Complete
For any and all questions dealing with financial or economic topics. Dates of coverage vary, some journals back to early 20th century. Scholarly journals are not the only item there, it also includes: journal and magazine articles, books, industry reports, company profiles, SWOT analysis, and much more
A great collection of evidence-based resources including:
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
- Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (Abstracts only)
- Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials
- Cochrane Methodology Register (Methods Studies)
- Health Technology Assessment Database (Technology Assessments)
- NHS Economic Evaluation Database (Economic Evalu
The Cumulative Index for Nursing & Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) has articles back to 1937 and covers over 1000 journals in nursing and the allied health sciences, including physical therapy, and public health. It has a strong outcomes based focused (from the nursing field). A great resource including a variety of materials, not just journal articles
Web of Science
A great cross-disciplinary database. In the sciences, there is some overlap with PubMed content, but there are also unique items here, too. No controlled vocabulary like PubMed, so use the options found on the left side of the results page to narrow your results to a more manageable set.
A cross-disciplinary database but it indexes the full-text of the article which makes it great for finding information not typically searchable in other databases. It has very few tools for refining your search, so it is good to search this one last.
Be sure to try out the Advanced Search page and use the categories. Also, try limiting a word or phrase to just the title to narrow your results.
For psychiatry or psychology topics as well as the psychological aspects of health and medicine.
An interesting database of news and journal articles from ethnic or minority press in America.
Additional Search Tools
Find reproductive health literature from most countries around the globe.