Skip to main content

Image Guide: Medical and Science Images

Use this guide to find images for research and class presentations.

Anatomical Images

Atlas of Microscopic Anatomy

Historical Anatomies. Images selected from anatomical atlases in the National Library of Medicine's collection.

Digital Anatomist Project

Gray's Anatomy from Bartelby

John Martin Rare Book Room Images

Human Anatomy Online

Vesalius's Anatomy Lesson

ARTstor.  Use ARTstor to search for content related to the social and historical aspects of the practice of medicine and human beliefs about life, death, disease, and healing. See ARTstor for History of Medicine & Natural Science images.

Medical & Science

CDC Public Health Image Library

American Society of Hematology Image Bank.  ASH Image Bank is a Web-based image library that offers a comprehensive, growing collection of images relating to a wide range of hematology topics.

Wellcome Images.  Wellcome Images is one of the Wellcome Library's major visual collections. The Library has over 750 000 books and journals, an extensive range of manuscripts, archives and films, and more than 250 000 paintings, prints and drawings.

Digital Atlas of Ophthalmology.  The Digital Atlas of Ophthalmology is a database of images drawn from the vast clinical experience of the New York Eye and Ear Infirmary of Mount Sinai specialists and their colleagues around the world.

National Library of Medicine's Digital Collections.  Images of the History of Medicine provides access to the nearly 60,000 images collection of the History of Medicine Division.

National Eye InstitutePhotos and images.

NASA Image Gallery

Yale Medical Digital LibraryA growing collection of digital resources made available for scholarship.

Science Photo LibraryStock photo science images.

Science Images.  Selected links from Government agencies covering earth sciences, biology, agriculture and more.

Whole Brain Atlas

Botanical images

Botanical Society of America Image Collection.  The Botanical Society of America has made a collection of approximately 800 images available for instructional use.

Plant Image Gallery.  Contains about 7000 pictures of plants native to several parts of the world. Pictures of plants from Europe, Costa Rica and Galapagos Islands were taken during botanical field trips. Additionally, a considerable number of close-ups are among them obtained by use of a microscope. Pictures of plants native to other parts of the worlds were mainly made in botanical gardens.

San Diego Botanic GardenPlant list.