Skip to main content
Theses and Dissertations
Theses and Dissertations are unpublished book-length manuscripts completed in order to earn a master's degree or Ph.D. Various subject-based databases index and abstract dissertations. Various links for access are below. See also the general UCSD research guide dedicated to accessing Dissertations and Theses.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses
The Dissertations and Theses database from ProQuest cites 2.3 million works issued by graduate institutions in North America and beyond from 1861 to the present. PDF full texts of most UC dissertations starting about 1997 are available online at no charge.
Center for Research Libraries
CRL is a good source for foreign dissertations; our CRL membership provides free loans for UCSD researchers.
Additional ETD Links
Use this UCSD LibGuide for more links to ETD (electronic theses and dissertations) repositories across the globe.
See also a general UCSD research guide dedicated to accessing Dissertations and Theses
University of California ETDs
To limit to ETDs, click on the thesis box in the menu on the left. To limit to a particular campus, select the drop down option and the campus you want to search.
Tesis del Colegio de Mexico/Theses and Dissertations from the Colegio de Mexico
Ebook Collections accessible at UCSD
ACLS Humanities eBooks
Full-text and full-page-image access more than 5,100 books in the humanities and area studies, recommended by scholars as significant contributions to their respective fields. From the American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS).
Find Ebooks @ UCSD Research Guide
The Find Ebooks @ UCSD Research Guide points to many of UCSD's Ebook collections and also provides pointers to searching the catalog for Ebooks or searching within specific Ebook collections for material on the subject you are researching.
Biblioteca Digital Andina (Andean Digital Library)
Provides digital access to representative works of the cultural tradition of Andean countries. Books are categorized by topic, including: Classical Works, Aboriginal Languages, Biodiversity, and Andean Culture.
Ibero-American Electronic Text Series
Project developed at the University of Wisconsin-Madison devoted to Latin American and Iberian works in the Humanities. Digitizes Latin American and Iberian texts from the Middle Ages to the present.
Over 8000 electronic books from Spain and Latin America spanning arts, humanities, social sciences, and science and technology. Includes more than 2000 e-journal issues. Most items published in Spanish or English, with some French, Catalan, and other languages.
There are many resources to use to find books at UCSD, as well as the broader San Diego, California, and Global Community. A useful strategy is to begin with MELVYL to search for books available throughout the University of California System. Because it draws from UC records in WorldCat (a consortial, global library catalog), this approach allows you to expand out to global and international searches from MELVYL by selecting "Libraries Worldwide" from the drop-down menu, or to drill down to San Diego libraries by selecting "Search San Diego" or just UCSD by selecting "Search UCSD." Alternatively, you can use ROGER to do a UCSD-specific or CIRCUIT to do a San Diego-specific library search in online systems that are not connected to WorldCat. Other resources, including HaithiTrust, Cibera, and the Handbook of Latin American Studies provide additional citations. Beginning with MELVYL and then expanding to broader searches or narrowing to more narrow ones is a useful strategy because the interface includes faceting, which helps you to narrow down the results of your search by format, subject, or other criteria.
This is a world-wide, consortial catalog of OCLC member libraries that includes over 50 million online records in multiple formats. MELVYL (The University of California Libraries) is a selection of WorldCat records. This is the best place to look for a particular source that is not held in California, or to do a search by subject heading(s) to find materials outside of California. The link above brings you into one of two versions of WorldCat provided by UCSD Library. For the other, click on Databases A-Z and choose the WorldCat FirstSearch option. This allows you to see more more details about and to have more options in searching for similar records.
German collaborative project providing access to library catalogs, internet resource links, periodical databases; newspapers, and wikis with content for Latin America, Spain, and Portugal
Handbook of Latin American Studies
The Handbook of Latin American Studies is an annotated bibliography of Latin American Studies literature produced by research librarians at the Library of Congress.
For the print version, see:
Handbook of Latin American studies. Austin [etc.] : University of Texas Press [etc.].
Geisel Reference, Request from SRLF ; Reference, Geisel Floor2 West, Offsite (SRLF) ; F1408 .H33 ; Library Use Only, AVAILABLE
Click on More for different ways to use
CQ Press Electronic Library
Find reporting, analysis on US Congressional issues in the news and coverage of the status of bills, votes and amendments, floor and committee actiity and backroom maneuvering. Includes: CQ Almanac, CQ Researcher Plus Archive, CQ Weekly, Political Handbook of the World, Politics in America, and Supreme Court Yearbook. All include information on Latin America particularly in the context of US-Latin American relations.