Pediatric and Adolescent Concussion by 
Textbook of pediatric emergency medicine by Might be worth checking for the shoulder injury section or neck trauma.
Gray's Anatomy for Students by 
Pediatric and Adolescent Sports Traumatology by 
Common musculoskeletal problems in primary care : a handbook by 
Disorders of the shoulder : diagnosis & management by Not finding what you need? Having trouble using one of our resources? Please let us know.
Ask Karen - you can reach me at 858-534-1199 or at kheskett@ucsd.edu
Ask a Librarian - check out all the ways to reach one of us at the Biomed Library
Ask a UC Librarian - for those late-night questions, chat with a UC Librarian 24/7
|
I know anatomy topics can be challenging . In addition to the wonderful Gray's Anatomy for Students, you might find the Neuroanatomy - Draw it to know it helpful. We also have some videos for you this week.
|
Resources for this case include: Textbook Suggestions (look left) Featured Resource -- 3 Resources for Shoulder Exam A Search Process -- Performance Enhancers in School Sports For Clinically-focused Questions -- Point of Care Tools National or State Organizations MedlinePlus -- Search Widget |
Dr. Goldberg's Site
You probably already know about this one, but Dr. Goldberg's site has some great info on doing the shoulder exam - both pictures with text as well as a video.
An Additional Suggestion from Dr, Konop
Stanford has a nice collection of physical exam videos. The shoulder one is very short and demonstrates how it is done. The technique is explained in the text below the video.
JOVE Clinical Exams
Don't forget we have the JOVE Science Education collection of videos which include all sorts of clinical exams.
American Family Physician - The Painful Shoulder: Part I. Clinical Evaluation
It has some good info on the tests that might be done for evaluating a painful shoulder.
Neuroanatomy : Draw It to Know It by Finding Resources about Performance Enhancing Supplements in High School Sports
1) This can be a tough question (especially if you want to find statistics) and the problem is that this is not a well studied topic. Other groups of people are well studied, but not so much the high school group. With some special techniques (and more terms than just the few you immediately think of), you can find resource in PubMed, PsycINFO, even the internet; however, a different database is the best place to start. It is dedicated to all things education related and is called ERIC. Start there first. I found the following keyword terms to give some good results:
2) What statistics were out there on this? Sometimes, figuring out which organizations might have an interest in tracking that information is a good starting point. I did a quick Google search to see what I could find, and thought I would start with the national or rather government view. I figured the National Institutes of Drug Abuse (an NIH department) might have something. You might try this search
steroids site:drugabuse.gov
But what if I wanted a slightly different focus? A different search would be needed. Is there another phrase you might use that is more inclusive? I used one to expand my results. Using Google, I found a few interesting results. This search strategy is a bit longer. (The | in search engine speak = OR.)
3) You might also find some interesting tips by asking the question, how to talk with patient about steroids or how to talk with parents about steroids. Always be sure to check the source when Googling in the wild - know who is giving you info is very important.
For a discussion with Dr. Suraj Achar (from Medscape.com) about some of the research he has focused on with Athletes & Steroids, you could Google
anabolic steroids talk with patient athletes medscape
4) From plunking around, looking for good "stuff", I discovered that medicine has several ways of writing about this topic. The authors might be writing about supplements or drugs or steroids, so my search terms need to reflect this closely related topics. For future searches, keep in mind that you may need to pull in related terms like this to really find a good selection of pertinent articles.
The search strategy in PsycINFO is something like:
PsycINFO has several articles and a few books on the topic. Look along the right side of the window to find a link to see just the books.
5) I left PubMed to the last because the search for these articles is a little bit complex. If you don't mind sorting through 400 + articles, a simple search of performance enhancing drug OR steroids AND high school sports will give you some results and switching to "Best Match" display will help. A couple of recent articles will be found quickly.
However, PubMed has some great MeSH terms on this that help because outside of the high school environment, it is well studied and because steroids by itself will give 10 of thousands of irrelvent results (inhalers, anyone?), but using MeSH and the related terms we used earlier, there are some very interesting articles. A MeSH search will get you a small collection of very interesting articles.
The link for the MeSH Database is on the PubMed home page.
What does the MeSH Database do? It matches your terms with the appropriate controlled vocabulary terms (think tags or hashtags, if you like). You can build the search right through this tool - simply find a term you like and add it to the search box. Get another term - decide if it should connect with AND (narrow the search) or OR (to broaden the search), and add to the search box. When ready, search PubMed - click the button.
I encourage you to try it (just copy & paste the string below into PubMed). Here is my end result - keywords and a bunch of MeSH terms. Be sure to watch the ANDs and ORs.
"high school" ("Doping in Sports"[Mesh] OR "Performance-Enhancing Substances"[Mesh] OR "Anabolic Agents"[Mesh] OR performance-enhancing) AND ("Sports"[Mesh] OR sports)
So, why bother with all that? Well, an all keyword will find too much that you need to weed through. The above search gives some really good results - even a few specific for football (albeit a little dated).
Point of Care Tools
Tools like e-Medicine and Up to Date will be very helpful in exploring some of the topics this week. For example, you can find information about burners & stingers, evaluating an injured shoulder, or assessing steroid use in athletes. With these tools, links to related information can also be very helpful in expanding your understanding on some of these topics.
Team Physician - What Resources are Out There?
There are a variety of resources for team physicians, but I have a couple of suggestions that seem pertinent to this case. One is a consensus statement from the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons & American Association of Orthodaepdic Surgeons. The other is a PubMed trick to see what is in the literature.
For the consensus statement, you could Google the organizations & team physician or just use the link below.
For PubMed, give yourself a very narrow set of results and put team physician in the title. Use the Advanced search page or simply enter:
-- team physician[ti]
Just a Few Related National Organizations
MedlinePlus is a great place to find consumer-friendly materials along with directories, a dictionary & encyclopedia, and more. Take a look and see what you find - try hepatobiliary.
