Skip to main content
Streaming video resources
Electronic Arts Intermix, Educational Streaming Site
Founded in 1971, Electronic Arts Intermix (EAI) is a nonprofit resource that fosters the creation, exhibition, distribution and preservation of media art. The full collection of the EAI is recognized as one of the largest and most comprehensive resources for video art and moving image media in the world. Spanning the mid-1960s to the present, the full collection features over 3,500 experimental media artworks by 200 artists. The Educational Streaming Site is a new initiative of the EAI that includes selected titles from the full collection.
Includes over 26,000 videos available. The videos come from leading producers such as the BBC, California Newsreel, Criterion Collection, First Run Features, Kino Lorber and PBS, with more content added each year. Many of the films are from independent and specialty producers, with a focus on documentary films.
UbuWeb: Film & Video
Educational resource for avant-garde film and video.
Video Data Bank TV
Launched in 2015, VDB TV is an innovative digital distribution project which provides free, online streaming access to curated programs of video and media art.
Selected Film Databases
American Film Institute Catalog
Comprehensive information on all American films, 1893 to 1970 with plot summaries, production history, and cast information.
FIAF: International Index to Film Periodicals
1972-present. Includes comprehensive coverage of television periodicals 1972-2000, and coverage of tv in film periodicals since that date. Also several other more specialized databases on film research.
Film and Television Literature Index
Covers 1987-present; limited 1970-86. Covers writing about film and television for scholars, students and the general public.