LibGuides: Japan Resources Guide: GPS Focus: Home

Introduction

This guide is a collection of the UCSD libraries and open access resouces on Japan related topics taught at the IR/PS.

The blue lock images seen next to resource titles indicate our library subscription titles. You can access to these titiels on campus. However, you need to configure your computer browser when you access to these titles from remote locations.

How to Find Books & Journal Articles

Books

Journal Articles

Having problems in finding Japanese language books and journals? Check your romaji against the Romanization Table.

Search online journal indexes to locate journal articles.

New Books and Videos

Lists newly acquired books and videos on Japan related topics at the UCSD Libraries.

Japanese titles

English titles

リサーチ・ナビ（調べ方案内）

Research guide prepared by the National Diet Library of Japan. Includes the collection of useful websites in conducting researches.

Key Sites

EIU Report on Japan
Provides current political and economic news and analysis, with data, forecasts, and business and investment profiles on Japan. The site is run by Economist Intelligence Unit.
Bank of Japan
Site of the central bank of Japan. Includes Japanese banking related information, policies and statistics.
Ministry of Finance
Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry (MITI)
Tokyo Stock Exchange
Japan External Trade Organization (JETRO)
JETRO is a government-related organization that works to promote mutual trade and investment between Japan and the rest of the world.
Nippon Keidanren
A comprehensive economic organization comprised of companies, industrial associations and regional economic organizations.
Japan Trade Union Confederation (Rengo)
Site of the central Japanese labor union.

Company & Industry

Factiva
Can search Japanese company financial information and news. It includes newspapers, newswires and transcripts from 28,000 sources.
Scroll down on the landing page to the Newsstand: US section for the latest content of Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, Barron's & more.
Nexis Uni
Can search Japanese company profiles. It also covers newspapers, newsletters and newswire stories from Japan.

Nikkei Telecom21
Mainly Japanese-language news and financial information from Nihon Keizai Shinbun.
Kaisha Shikiho (会社四季報)
Kaisha Shikiho is one of many titles offered within the database called JapanKnowledge. It provides compact information on listed firms in Japan including business performance, financial information, major shareholders, and share price trends, etc. The DVD Rom version of Kaisha Shikiho that covers from 1936-2006 (70 years) is available. Request at the Reference Desk of the Social Sciences and Humanities Library.
Japan Company Handbook
The English language version of Kaisha Shikiho. It provides the latest financial information for all of the listed Japanese companies from 1974. This data file is available through LexisNexis Academic.
Investing in Japan
Provides various information on setting up and doing business in Japan.
産業情報ガイド
Provides research tools on various Japanese indstry groups. This site is organized by the National Diet Library of Japan.
有価証券報告書
Japan version of EDINET (Electronic Disclosure for Investors' Network). Can view the latest 5 years of listed company financial reports.

News

Factiva
Covers Mainichi and Yomiuri newspapers both in Japanese and English versions. Also, covers Sankei and many local papers. Can search the database in Japanese and English.
Scroll down on the landing page to the Newsstand: US section for the latest content of Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, Barron's & more.

Kikuzo (朝日新聞)
A newspaper database for Asahi Shinbun published from 1879 to present. Also, includes articles from the weekly magazine, Aera as well as Shukan Asahi.
日経新聞
Provides coverage of the Japanese business and finanacial community through current news reports from Nihon keizai shinbun, Nikkei ryutsu shinbun, Nikkei kinyu shinbun and Nikkei sangyo shinbun.
Yomidas Rekishikan (読売新聞)
Full text of the Yomiuri Shinbun since 1874. Also includes Daily Yomiuri and a biographical dictionary of modern Japanese figures.