LibGuides: CHEM 87: Introduction to Undergrad Research: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Encyclopedias to Get You Started

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
Covers all aspects of chemistry and chemical engineering. Good complement to Ullmann's.
Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry
Covers all aspects of chemistry and chemical engineering. Good complement to Kirk-Othmer.

Access Science
aka McGraw Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology. General science and technology encyclopedia and dictionary. Limited to 1 user at a time; please try again if you get 'Access Denied.'

Encyclopedia of Atmospheric Sciences
Articles on atmospheric science and related subjects, including clouds, aerosols and global change.
Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry
Encyclopedia of Computational Chemistry
Articles on computational chemistry topics, including applications, cheminformatics, quantum mechanics and biochemical modeling.
Encyclopedia of Energy
Articles on all forms of energy, focusing not only on the science and engineering aspects but covering economic, social and policy topics.
Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry
Articles on inorganic, organometallic, nuclear & bioinorganic chemistry, physical chemistry, computational methods, catalysis and materials/nanomaterials
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
Articles on life science topics, including biochemistry.
Wiley Encyclopedia of Chemical Biology
.Articles on topics in chemical biology, emphasizing the role of chemistry and chemical techniques in the life sciences
Encyclopedia of Materials: Science & Technology
Articles on materials science: applications, materials, properties, techniques and processing.
Encyclopedia of Spectroscopy & Spectrometry
Articles on all topics related to spectroscopy (from atomic to vibrational), including fundamentals.

Find more chemistry dictionaries in the Library Catalog.