Skip to main content

Chinese Electronic Resources: E-Books

This introduction is geared towards upper level undergraduate students, graduate students, faculty, and researchers. English and Chinese language resources are included.

Trial Database

超星书世界 http://bookworld.sslibrary.com   Trial ends on 6/30/17

"由超星公司2014年推出的纯文本电子书数据库,其中包含最新3-5年出版的精品电子书2万册,是研究现当代中国文化的资源库,与Chinamaxx中的书不重复。全部图书均为纯文本电子书,适合在PC、手机、平板上阅读,可以自动适应屏幕大小。书世界每天都有新书增加,现每月更新2000册左右。"

E-Books

Ariti E-Books 华艺中文电子书  http://uclibs.org/PID/254659

It provides access to Chinese ebooks primarily published in Taiwan, Hong Kong and Macau. It covers subjects such as philosophy, religion, natural sciences, applied science, social sciences, history, geography, language and linguistics, and literature and arts.

China Digital Library (Apabi E-books) 中华电子书苑  http://uclibs.org/PID/146361

        E-book Collection: http://uclibs.org/PID/146361

        Reference Collection: http://uclibs.org/PID/146355

        Yearbook Collection: http://uclibs.org/PID/146354

        Newspaper Collection: http://uclibs.org/PID/276105 

《人民日报》(始于 2009/9/1)、《光明日报》(始于 2013/8/23)、《环球时报》(始于 1993/1/3)、《文汇 报》(始于 2012/9/17)、《解放军报》(始于 2009/6/1)、《中国文化报》(始于 2008/8/4)、《中国经济时报》(始 于 2012/8/1)、《检察日报》(始于 2008/8/19)、《人 民法院报》(始于 2009/12/27)、《新华每日电讯》(始 于 2010/11/20)、《南方都市报》(始于 2007/8/10)、《中国青年报》(始于 2012/9/1) 、《北京日报》(始 于 2005/1/1)、《福建日报》(始于 2008/1/1)、《科技日报》(始于 2008/7/11)、《上海证券报》(始于 2012/5/2)、《中国知识产权报》(始于 2010/4/9)、《中国医药报》(始于 2007/11/20)、《中国体育报》(始于 2007/5/28)、《中国教育报》(始于 2008/12/1)、《中 国妇女报》(始于 2008/1/1)、《新民晚报》(始于 2007/3/7)、 《经济参考报》(始于 2008/1/2)、《羊城晚报》(始于 2007/8/27)、《重庆日报》(始于 2007/12/27)《南方周末》(始于 1984/2/11)

        Pictures Collection: http://uclibs.org/PID/267082

Chinamaxx Digital Libraries 中文电子书集献 http://uclibs.org/PID/35493

Also known as Chinamaxx Digital Library of Chinese E-Books, and SuperStar Digital Libraries

Note: compatible with IE browser; requires SuperStar Reader (SS Reader)

地方志 http://uclibs.org/PID/220727

人民画报 http://uclibs.org/PID/220726

文史资料 http://uclibs.org/PID/220728

UCSDUCSD and UCSB users have access to the Local Gazsetters collection (late 1960s to mid 1980s), People's Pictorial, and Historical Documents in the SuperStar Digital Libraries

Use IE browser, can also enter via Chinamaxx.net, see under Specialty

Duxiu 读秀 http://uclibs.org/PID/156553

More than 1.4 million full-text books

Currently available -- full-text searches, tables of content, and first 17 pages

Browse and forward purchase suggestions to Xi Chen, xichen031@ucsd.edu

Encyclopedia of Taiwan 臺灣文獻叢刊 臺灣文獻叢刊  http://uclibs.org/PID/113713 

Also known as the Encyclopedia of Taiwan; contains search-able full-text and scanned images of 595 books originally published in print between 1959 and 1972; temporal coverage from the Tang Dynasty to the Japanese occupation period

Local histories, official documents of the Ming-Qing and Nan-Ming Dynasties

Pishu 皮書China Economy, Public Policy, and Security Database  http://uclibs.org/PID/265928

These analytical reports published by the prestigious Social Sciences Academic Press, are intended to guide policymaking in the PRC.

Google Book Search Project http://books.google.com

Following the initial Google (Oxford, Harvard, U Michigan, NYPL, and Stanford), the Google Book Project involves Google 25 (25 major libraries in the world), and more than 2 million digitized volumes in 42 languages

HathiTrust Digital Library http://www.hathitrust.org

An increasingly comprehensive digital archive of library materials converted from print that is co-owned and managed by a number of academic institutions

More than 50 partners, including all UC campuses

Membership open to institutions worldwide

UC Press E-Books Collection, 1982-2004 http://publishing.cdlib.org/ucpressebooks/ 

Includes about 2,000 books from academic presses on a range of topics including art, science, history, music, religion, and fiction

Access to the entire collection is open to all UC faculty, staff and students

More than 500 titles available to the public

ACLS (American Council of Learned Societies) Humanities E-Book (HEB)  http://www.humanitiesebook.org/index.html 

An online, fully searchable collection of high-quality books in the humanities, recommended and reviewed by scholars

Area Studies and Historical Studies are amongst the many fields currently covered

US-China Million Book Digital Library Project 高等学校中英图书数字化国际合作计划 http://www.cadal.zju.edu.cn/Index.action

An international digital library project to provide free full-text access to one million books, including 500,000 rare Chinese language books and 500,000 English language books about China

A special emphasis upon topics relating to Chinese language, history, and culture 古籍, 民国图书, 民国期刊,现代图书,绘画,视频