Chinese Studies: Art, Museum & Films

Asian Film Online offers a view of Asian culture as seen through the lens of the independent Asian filmmaker. Through a selection of narrative feature films, documentaries and shorts curated by film scholars and critics, the collection offers highly relevant perspectives and insights onto themes relevant across Asia, including modernity, globalization, female agency, social and political unrest, and cultural and sexual identity

Library of over 2.5 million digital images and their corresponding metadata. Covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women's studies, as well as many other forms of visual culture

From the Chinese Taipei Film Archive 國家電影資料舘

Explores the cultural and trading relationships that emerged between America, China and the Pacific region between the 18th and early 20th centuries. Sourced from twelve North American libraries including a selection of rare books and manuscripts from the UC San Diego Library's Special Collections & Archives. These include selected rare books from the Hill Collection of Pacific Voyages and manuscript material for the Alaska Commercial Company Records.

China, America and the Pacific offers unique insights into the history of North American trade. Coverage includes the Old China Trade, the Pacific Northwest fur trade, the whaling industry and the development of Pacific trading centres such as Hawaii. Manuscripts, rare printed sources, visual images, objects and maps from international libraries and archives document this fascinating history.

Spanning three centuries, China: Culture and Society provides access to the Wason Pamphlet collection in its entirety. Mostly in English and published between c.1750 and 1929, these rare pamphlets make up one of the most extensive collections of literature on China and the Chinese in the Western world.

Documentary films and newsreels were two of the major mass media and communication channels in China from the 1950’s through the 1970’s. They covered all aspects of social activities, though the emphasis was on developments in the building of a socialist country. The bulk of the items in the collection are transcripts for the documentary films and newsreels from the Cultural Revolution, 1966-1976.

With documents encompassing events from the earliest English embassy to the birth and early years of the People’s Republic, this resource collects sources from nine archives to give an incredible insight into the changes in China during this period. Key documents relating to the Chinese Maritime Customs service – from Robert Hart to Frederick Maze – are accessible and searchable alongside original reports of the Amherst and Macartney embassies. There are letters relating to the first Opium War, survivors’ descriptions of the Boxer War and tantalising glimpses of life in China from the collected diaries and personal photographs of the Bowra family. Significant sources describing the lives and work of missionaries in China from 1869-1970, including extensive and fully searchable runs of missionary periodicals are also featured.

Contains outstanding educational programs. Many programs from the History Channel, Biography Channel, BBC, PBS and other news channels are included in this collection.

An open-access archive of visual materials including digitized photographs, negatives, postcards, and slides donated by the Warner family
Select collections include: Sino-Japanese War Postcard, Manchuria Negatives, Taiwan Negatives, Scenic Taiwan book, and Taiwan Photographic Monthly Periodical

An image archive of treasures at the National Palace Museum in Taiwan that includes paintings, calligraphy, ceramics, jade, bronzes, Buddhist antiques, etc.
Interface available in traditional Chinese, simplified Chinese, English and Japanese

This Internet library offers access to open source digital resources including texts, audio, moving images, software, as well as archived web pages
Moving images include: animation and cartoons, cultural and academic films, ephemeral films, movies, home movies, sports videos, non-English movies, etc.
e.g. Clips on Tiananmen Square, East is Red 东方红, and Scenes of City Life 都市风光

Provides access to Grove Art Online, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, the Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.

Socialism on Film is collection of documentaries, newsreels and features that reveals the world as seen by Soviet, Chinese, Vietnamese, East European, British and Latin American filmmakers. It ranges from the early twentieth century to the 1980s and examines the themes of War & Revolution, News & Current Affairs plus Culture & Society. The whole spectrum of socialist life is here on film.