Skip to main content

BILD 38: Dementia, Science & Society: Find Journal Articles

A few tips about finding articles

  • You can find scholarly journal articles by using a subject specific database (e.g PubMed), or a broad, multidisciplinary, database (e.g. Web of Science).
  • Journal article databases are usually dedicated to specific subject areas (e.g. biology, medicine, psychology, social sciences, etc.), with the exception of a handful of multidisciplinary databases).
  • The journal article database you use depends on the topic/subject for which you are looking.

Article databases (by subject)

Below are databases you can use for different subject ares. Think about the aspect of dementia that your group is researching and search the relevant databases.

Note that all databases (except Google Scholar and PubMed) require you to configure your computer for off-campus access. PubMed requires off-campus access only to download and read full-text articles. 

Contact me if you have questions about which databases to use or how to search them. I am available to meet with your group to provide search tips. Contact me to set up an appointment.

Interdisciplinary databases

Database Help Guides / Videos
Academic Search Complete none available; contact me for help
Web of Science Web of Science videos
Google Scholar

Setting up UC-eLinks in Google Scholar (PDF)

Biology databases

Database Help Guides / Videos
PubMed Online help guide from NLM
BIOSIS Citation Index Online help guide from the vendor

Socio-Politico-Economic databases

Database Help Guides / Videos
PsycINFO PsycINFO videos
Sociological Abstracts  
Family & Society Studies Worldwide  
Business Source Complete Database guide (large .doc file); it may be easier to contact me for help
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
  •  
 
PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service)  

Questions? Contact me

Mary Linn Bergstrom's picture
Mary Linn Bergstrom
Contact:
[858] 534-1214
Social:Twitter Page

Get full-text articles

If you are in a database, click on . Need help using UC-eLinks?

 

If you have the citation, check the catalog, Roger. Search for the journal title. You get a link to the electronic journal (if we own it) or information about where to find it in print.

 

If we don't have what you need, place a request and we will get it for you for free. Be sure you have enough time for a request (usually 5-7 business days).