Skip to main content
The UCSD Libraries subscribe to several newspaper databases. These databases search newspapers beyond what you might find in Google News. In most cases, full-text articles are available.
To access these databases from off-campus, you will need to configure your computer.
Access World News
Includes more than 1500 sources worldwide, including 650 in the U.S. Largely newspapers,local news video for the U.S.; newspapers for Canada, UK and other English-speaking countries.
Lexis Nexis Academic
Includes thousands of full-text sources including newspapers, wires, transcripts, newsletters, magazines, trade journals.
Provides cover-to-cover full-text articles from 28 U.S. and international papers, plus television news transcripts and selected full texts from more than 260 additional U.S. newspapers.
Getting full-text news articles
Most of the time, you will probably be able to read the full text news article online. However, there may be articles that you will be asked to pay for or to sign up for an account in order to read them.
Never pay for an article without checking the UCSD Library catalog to see if we have a subscription.
To see if UCSD subscribes to a newspaper, watch this video or follow these steps:
- Go to the UCSD Library Catalog
- Click "Journals and Serials" above the search box (this will limit your search to newspapers and journals only)
- Type the newspaper title into the search box (e.g. New York Times)
- Click on the result that most closely matches your search terms (it will probably be one of the first three results)
The record will provide:
- a link to the online full-text articles (if available) -- click on "Go to electronic version"
- a library location and call number to find the article in print at one of the libraries (this will mostly be for older articles)