Skip to main content
San Diego Architecture
San Diego History Center
Includes historical materials, including original maps, manuscripts, architectural drawings, public records, oral histories and biographical files.
San Diego Architectural Foundation
A non-profit organization educating the community about the value of design excellence through scholarships, tours, and lectures.
Modern San Diego
Focuses on progressive architecture throughout the county.
Save Our Heritage
Since 1969, Save Our Heritage Organisation (SOHO), a nonprofit organization, has led the community as a powerful catalyst for preservation by raising awareness and appreciation of San Diego's region's architectural and cultural heritage.
La Jolla Historical Society
The La Jolla Historical Society is dedicated to the discovery, collection, and preservation of La Jolla's heritage through their collections, programs and advocacy.
Online Reference Tools
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
1934-present, with selective coverage back to 1741. Lists journal articles in architecture, and related fields such as archaeology, urban planning, historic preservation, interior design
Oxford Art Online
Provides access to Grove Art Online, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, the Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Includes image partnerships with ARTstor, the British Museum, the Museum of Modern Art, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Art Images for College Teaching, Art Resource, Artists Rights Society and numerous international art galleries and artists
A dictionary of architecture and landscape architecture [electronic resource]
Entries on architects, terms, periods, and styles, covering all periods of Western architectural history. Biographies range from Brunelleschi and Imhotep to Le Corbusier and Richard Rogers.
Famous Architects aims to became the largest educational resource about architecture on the web. It currently provides a list of famous architects along with the detailed biographies and buildings photos.
Great Buildings Collection
This gateway to architecture around the world and across history documents a thousand buildings and hundreds of leading architects, selected over ten years by the editors of ArchitectureWeek, with photographic images and architectural drawings, integrated maps and timelines, 3D building models, commentaries, bibliographies, web links, and more, for famous designers and structures of all kinds.
Web magazine and resource platform devoted to museums and exhibitions
Pacific Coast Architecture Database
The Pacific Coast Architecture Database (PCAD) includes a range of information on the buildings and designers of California, Oregon and Washington.
A carefully selected subset from an authoritative online encyclopedia of the built world, containing histories, photographs, and maps for more than 1800 structures in 671 cities and 19 states.