Skip to main content

Biomedical Apps and Mobile Resources: Databases & Catalogs

Selected resources for "smart devices" from the Android, Apple, and Blackberry families.

Databases

PubMed
National Library of Medicine's PubMed's mobile website (beta).  A simple search interface for smartphones and other internet capable devices.  At this time, only 2 filters or Limits are available (free full-text and reviews). The abstract view offers links to related citations and publisher's links, so if using UCSD's protected wireless, then many times you will have full-text access. [FREE]

PubMed HandHeld
The original PubMed site for hand held devices.  Check out the specialty tools [FREE]: 

  • PICO search - an evidence-based search interface
  • askMedline - free-text natural language searching
  • Consensus abstracts
  • Journal Abstracts -- a table of contents like browsing interface
  • Disease Association - search case reports for associations to a specific disease
     
 

For added features or other NCBI databases, check iTunes or Market Place for mobile apps that offer something extra. Many will cost [$$$], but some are free. A few that are well-reviewed are:

Android
PubMed Mobile

Apple
PubClip
PubMed on Tap

 

Web of Knowledge
The mobile version of Web of Knowledge provides access to Web of Science, BIOSIS Previews, BIOSIS Citation Index, MEDLINE, Zoological Record and INSPEC.  Search the databases one at a time or do a "quick search" of all of them at once.  The cited reference search option in Web of Science is not available.  There are a couple of temporary glitches: you can export references to your EndNote Web account but the RefWorks export button is not working - and the UC-eLinks button is not working, either. [UCSD]

     

 

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature)
Do some basic searching and even find limits to focus your search.  CINAHL has some full-text articles and PDFs (or html version) are viewable from the database itself.  Share results easily with a quick email option.  Be sure to check settings to search only the CINAHL database as Ebsco has many different ones to search.

App is currently for iphone/itouch only, but android app is comming soon.  The app is available via iTunes, but you must have an EBSCO key to begin - go to CINAHL (mobile or web) and scroll to the button for the iphone/itouch app.  Use the link from the email to start it.  After that, use the app.   Again, check settings to search only CINAHL. [UCSD]

     
 

SciFinder Scholar
Search this key chemistry database. 

First create a SciFinder username and password and then go to http://scifinder.cas.org and your device should detect the mobile version. [UCSD]

For more details, go to http://blog.ucsd.edu/se/2011/04/04/scifinder-mobile/

     

Databases that are Apps

 

PubMed 4 Handhelds [Free]
Use the PICO form to start your search - web or app.  See more ...

Go to Play Store Go to iTunes App Store Go to Blackberry App World Go to Amazon Kindle App Store Go to mobile web site
IDdx app image 

IDdx Infectious Disease Queries  [Free]
Query-based app with symptoms and epidemiological factors of 251 important infectious diseases organized into the categories arthropod-borne, bioterrorism, childhood, community-acquired, foodborne, gastroenteritis, sapronoses, localized infections, sexually-transmitted, and zoonoses. Find symptom information for a disease or find a list of diseases with a specific symptom. 

Go to Play Store Go to iTunes App Store Go to mobile web site

Library Catalogs

Roger
The mobile version of the UC San Diego Libraries catalog, Roger. Find print and electronic books, journals, media, etc. the UCSD Libraries own. Find links to ebooks, ejournals, and other resources, and find print items owned and where they are located on campus. [FREE]
     
  Melvyl (WorldCat Local)
Searches for items at UC San Diego, UC Libraries, and libraries around the world. UC-affiliated users can request items held anywhere, both within the UC system and beyond.  [FREE]
     

See Also

UCSD Libraries Mobile Site
Access more resources on a variety of topics at the Libraries-wide mobile friendly website. [FREE]