Skip to main content

LTCO 230: Literature & the Supernatural: Reference Sources

Selected Library Resources for LTCO 230

General Library Info

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, Bibliographies, Handbooks

Bane, Theresa. Encyclopedia of Vampire Mythology. Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland, 2009. Online. Access through Roger.

Bleiler, Everett F. The Guide to Supernatural Fiction. Kent, Ohio: Kent State UP, 1983. “A full description of 1175 books from 1750 to 1960.  Contains useful thematic index and summaries of about 7200 short stories. PN 56 .S8 B57 1983 SSHL Reference Collection and Stacks

Carter, Margaret L. The Vampire in Literature: A Critical Bibliography. Ann Arbor, Mich.: UMI Research Press, 1989.  SSH Stacks PN 56 .V3 V353 1989

The Encyclopedia of the Gothic. Edited by William Hughes, David Punter, and Andrew Smith. Wiley-Blackwell, 2013. Over 200 essays by leading scholars on all aspects of the Gothic, including the development of the genre, major practitioners, works and characters, and its impact on contemporary culture.

L’Encyclopédie Amoureuse des Vampires. Ed. John Bolton and Katherine Quénot. Paris: Hoëbeke, 2009.  SSH Stacks Oversize BF 1556 .Q46 2009

Frank, Frederick S. The First Gothics: A Critical Guide to the English Gothic Novel. (Garland Reference Library of the Humanities, v. 710). New York: Garland Press, 1987. SSHL stacks PR 858 .T3 F7 1987

Guiley, Rosemary. The Encyclopedia of Witches, Witchcraft and Wicca. 3rd Edition. New York: Checkmark Books, 2008. SSHL Reference Collection: BF 1566 .G85 2008 (2nd edition in Stacks)

Joshi, S. T. Encyclopedia of the Vampire: The Living Dead in Myth, Legend, and Popular Culture. Santa Barbara: ABC-Clio, 2010. Online. Access through Roger.      

Justice, Keith L. Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror Reference: An Annotated Bibliography of Works about Literature and Film. Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland, 1989. SSHL Reference Collection: PN 3433.5 .J87 1989

Melton, J. Gordon. The Vampire Book: The Encyclopedia of the Undead. 3rd Edition. Detroit: Visible Ink Press, 2011.   Online. Access through Roger.

The Penguin Encyclopedia of Horror and the Supernatural. Ed. Jack Sullivan. New York: Viking Press, 1986. SSHL stacks BF 1407 .P46 1986

Spector, Robert Donald. The English Gothic: A Bibliographic Guide to Writers from Horace Walpole to Mary Shelley. Westport, Ct.: Greenwood Press, 1984. SSHL Stacks PR 830 .T3 S66 1984

Supernatural Literature of the World: An Encyclopedia. Ed. S.T. Joshi and Stefan Dziemianowicz. Westport, Ct.: Greenwood Publishing, 2005. 3 volumes. SSHL Reference Collection: PN 56 .S8 S86 2005

Tymn, Marshall B. (ed.). Horror Literature: A Core Collection and Reference Guide. New York: R. R. Bowker, 1981. SSHL stacks: PR 830 .T3 H67

Wilson, Neil. Shadows in the Attic: A Guide to British Supernatural Fiction, 1820-1950. Boston Spa, U.K.: The British Library, 2000. SSHL Reference Collection: PR 147 .W55 2000

 Biographical Databases

The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (primarily for British dead). Examples: Le Fanu, Stoker, Polidori, Byron, Coleridge, Rymer, William of Newburgh.

Literature Resource Center. Examples: Goethe, Byron, Coleridge, Stoker, Polidori, Tieck, Hoffman, Bürger, Matheson, Meyer.