Skip to main content

LTCO 230: Literature & the Supernatural: Article Databases

Selected Library Resources for LTCO 230

General Library Info

Article Databases

All Article Databases are accessible from the “Databases A-Z” link on the Library's homepage)

MLA International Bibliography. Indexes scholarly articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, etc. on British, German, American, and all other post-Classical literatures. Includes some coverage of film, particularly adaptations of literary works and themes. No full texts in the database itself, but links to full text (where available) are provided.

ABELL: Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature. Some overlap with MLAIB, but enough additional citations—especially for British publications—to warrant a separate search. Coverage from 1920 to the present. It also indexes the book reviews in the journals it covers; MLAIB does not.

FIAF: International Index to Film Periodicals. Indexes both academic and popular film periodicals, from 1972 to the present.

Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text. Covers writing about film and television for scholars, students and the general public. Subjects include film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, reviews. Thorough coverage since 1987; limited coverage between 1970-1986.

Film Literature Index. Although no longer current (it ceased indexing in 2001), this source may be more thorough in its indexing of more than 150 scholarly and popular film magazines for the period between 1976 and 2001.

Art Index Retrospective. 1929-1984. Cites articles and reproductions of art works from periodicals throughout the world, in English, French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch. Also yearbooks and museum bulletins. Can search together with Art Abstracts. 

ArtBibliographies Modern. 1974-present. Abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art.

New York Times (Historical and Current). Full text of the entire New York Times from 1851 to the present. Particularly good for finding book, film, theater, and television reviews as well as news of the publishing, theater, and film industries, including advertisements.