Skip to main content

TDGE 03: Cultivating the Creative Mind: Online Resources for Brain Science Pioneers

Library Resources for TDGE 03: Cultivating the Creative Mind

General Library Info

Online Resource For Brain Science Pioneers

Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography.  New York: Scribner's, 2008.

This comprehensive eBook includes the complete text of the 18-volume original, originally published between 1970-1990. It provides information on the history of science through articles on the professional lives of scientists, from classical antiquity to contemporary times. Published under the auspices of the American Council of Learned Societies. 

MIT Encyclopedia of the Cognitive Sciences (MITECS). Edited by Robert A. Wilson and Frank C. Keil. Cambridge, Mass.: MIT Press, 2001. Articles on topics and individuals in six primary domains of cog sci: computational intelligence; culture, cognition, and evolution; linguistics and language; neuroscience; philosophy; and psychology. Available through the CogNet family of databases.

Celebrities in Cognitive Science. Writings by and about over 50 leading thinkers in cognitive science, and critics and observers of the philosophy of mind. Maintained by Professor Martin Ryder of the University of Colorado at Denver School of Education. http://carbon.ucdenver.edu/~mryder/itc/cogsci.html

Dictionary of Philosophy of Mind. Includes short biographies of cognitive scientists and psychologists alongn with definitions of terms and concepts. The site is currently receiving considerable revision; it should be complete by February, 2014. 

AllPsych Online. A megasite for the field of psychology. Under the section “Reference Section,” the link “ Psychology Biographies” has medium-length biographical summaries of 23 prominent psychologists.

Sheehy, Noel. Fifty Key Thinkers in Psychology. London and New York: Routledge, 2004. This source provides concise biographical information on each thinker and then proceeds to examine their contributions to the evolution of psychology as a discipline. The print edition of the book is available on the 5th floor of Geisel Library at BF 109 .A1 S54 2004.  

Thinking in Psychological Science: Ideas and Their Makers. Ed. Jaan Valsiner. New Brunswick, N.J.: Transaction Publishers, 2007.  The print edition of the book is available on the 5th floor of Geisel LIbrary at BF 81 .T473 2007