Skip to main content

TDGE 03: Cultivating the Creative Mind: Online Resources for Performance Pioneers

Library Resources for TDGE 03: Cultivating the Creative Mind

General Library Info

Online Resources For Performance Pioneers

The Library provides access to two separate online databases that index scholarly and some popular articles in the performing arts, including theater, dance, and performance art. There is some overlap in coverage, but each database indexes some unique journals. Each database provides the full texts of about half the articles they index; for other citations, use the orange “UC eLinks” buttons to see if the Library has the full text in either another digital collection or as a print subscription. These databases are:

International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance. Indexes journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations published since approximately 1984.

International Index to the Performing Arts. An index to over 200 journals and magazines in the fields of dance, drama, film, theater, opera, puppetry, circus, and other forms of performance art.

In addition to those two databases, newspapers are also excellent sources of critical reviews of performing arts and artists. Some of the most important full-text newspaper databases are:

Los Angeles Times (Historical) (articles from 1881-1986).

Los Angeles Times (Current) (articles from 1985-present

New York Times (Historical) (articles from 1851-2007)

New York Times (Current) (articles from 1999-present)

LexisNexis Academic (dates of coverage vary, but this is useful for the newspapers of small- to medium-size U.S. cities and for international newspapers from  approximately 1980 to the present.)