Skip to main content
The UCSD Libraries have many article databases to select from as well as many clinically-focused tools.
Use this page to learn more about:
Don't forget to check the right-hand sidebar for details about
- Can I search for articles from home?
- What if the journal (or article) I need isn't here - can Interlibrary Loan help?
How Can I Find a Specific Article?
Sometimes you know exactly what article you want and you're just trying to figure out if you can get a copy at the library. If you have the citation information (title, author, journal title, volume number, etc.), there are 2 ways you can find out.
Harnad, S. "Why
and how we are Not Zombies." Journal of Consciousness Studies 1.2 (1994):
1. Catalog Search
- Go to the catalog
- Do at Title/Journal Title search for the name of the journal
- If you get too many results limit it to Journals/Serials
- E-journals are found in the same way. If a journal is available online, links are provided to the full-text.
- If the article isn't available online, check to see if we have the year you need in print. Then note the Location & Call Number.
2. Citation Linker -- using UC-eLinks
- Go the Citation Linker form
- Select the type of item you seek -- book, book chapter, journal article, etc.
- Fill in as much information as you have -- the example below is an article with the article title, name of the journal, & the volume number
- Click Continue
- The UC-eLinks screen (see below) will appear with your options for electronic access or print aceess th rough Roger (see instructions above)
- If we don't have the article you need, use the Request link and request a copy through Interlibrary Loan. Articles are usually sent by email in 4-7 business days.
How Can I Get to the Full-Text?
How to find the full-text of the article:
Some databases include the full text of the article in the
database. Look for icons or links that say:
- HTML (good version for reading on a computer screen)
- PDF (good version for printing or saving to a portable drive)
- Full Text (no specific format listed, but full text nonetheless)
If the article
isn't available full-text within the database you found it, click on the orange
UC-eLinks button to checkfor other full text as well as print options. UC-eLinks checks to see if the article is available through UC San Diego Libraries's subscriptions - whether it is online or in print.
UC-eLinks makes it easy to:
- Check for online access
- Check the catalog (Roger) for the print version
- Use Request to have us get a copy from another library (known as interlibrary loan)
- Format the citation information in one of 5 sytles to easily paste into your bibliography - use Copy & Paste citation
Can I search for articles at home?
Yes! The Libraries online resources are restricted so that
UCSD faculty, staff, and students can view them from off-campus.
to get access to these resources from an off-campus computer, you
connect your computer to the UCSD network.
There are three ways to do this:
Private Network (VPN)
- Web VPN
The article I need isn't here - How can I get a copy?
Interlibrary loan (ILL) is the service libraries provide when they do not own the item you want. We will work with our partner libraries and borrow a book, video, or get a scan of a journal article at your request.
- If working in a database, look for the Request link in UC-eLinks (see the box, How to get to full text for a picture).
- Know the details of a specific citation you need? If so, use Citation Linker to look for it in UCSD's collection and make your request if we don't have it. (See details).