Skip to main content
UCSD Community and Campus Crimes
California and San Diego Crime Stats
US Crime Statistics
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
Data about criminal justice in the United States. More than 600 tables of statistics on topics including correctional facilities, police and sheriffs' departments, judges, nature and distribution of known offenses, attitudes
FBI - Uniform Crime Reports
Highlights links to major reports such as: Crime in the United States, Hate Crime Statistics and Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted.
Bureau of Justice Statistics
Provides statistics on crime trends, homicide trends and characteristics, law enforcement management and administrative details, and lists of prosecutors' offices.
Law Enforcement Management and Administrative Statistics (U.S. Department of Justice, Bureau of Justice Statistics)
Local Law Enforcement Agency Profile by large cities including employment, demographic composition, functions, agency operations, salaries, employment requirements and training, and crimes reported summary.
County and City Data Book (U.S. Census Bureau)
Access to statistics including population, housing, income and labor force for place, city, county and state from decennial Census. Web interface allows selection of multiple data elements to download. 1944-2000
ProQuest Statistical Insight
This is a searchable database which indexes statistical tables from a wide range of government and private resources such as the FBI Uniform Crime Reports and Municipal Profiles, which provide crime data at the community level. Searches provide a citation for locating the material and in many cases full tables. * Click on Search Abstracts.
* In Enter Keywords box type topic and state. (A sample search would be:"crime and massachusetts")
* Under Geographic check box for: By City (You can also or limit by date or click on limit to documents in Excel format only)
* Click on Search button.
National Archive of Criminal Justice (National Archive of Criminal Justice Data)
The archive offers a user-friendly interface to download data on criminal justice. The site includes Quick Tables of statistics and an online analysis tool, Data Analysis System (DAS).
States & Local Areas
Online access to the data provided by the Statistical Abstract supplement publications, State and Metropolitan Area Data Book and County and City Data Book. Both publications were canceled in 2012. Latest editions are State and Metropolitan Area Data Book: 2010 and County and City Data Book: 2007
International Crime Statistics
Crime and Justice Datasets
Federal Justice Statistics Resource Center
The Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS), through its Federal Justice Statistics Resource Center (FJSRC), compiles information describing suspects and defendants processed in the Federal criminal justice system.
International Crime Victimization Survey (ICVS) Series @ ICPSR
Available through ICPSR, the ICVS is a collection of surveys of householders' experience with crime, policing, crime prevention, and feelings of insecurity in a large number of nations. Sample size is generally, 1,000 - 2,000 households from each participating country.
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) @ ICPSR
The NACJD preserves and distributes computerized crime and justice data from Federal agencies, state agencies, and investigator initiated research projects. They have a collection of online Resource Guides that highlight popular criminal justice research topic.
National Crime Victimization Survey @ ICPSR
Previously called the National Crime Survey (NCS), has been collecting data on personal and household victimization since 1973. An ongoing survey, conducted twice each year, of a nationally representative sample of residential addresses.
Survey of Inmates in State and Federal Correctional Facilities @ ICPSR
Information on demographic, socioeconomic, and criminal history characteristics of inmates including: age, ethnicity, education, gun possession and use, lifetime drug use and alcohol use and treatment, prior incarceration record, and prearrest annual income and details of inmates' military service records. Data on characteristics of victims are provided as well.
United Nations International Study on Firearm Regulation
A country-level survey dealing with firearm regulation, including issues of ownership, possession and use; manufacturing and trade; smuggling and other illegal dealings; demographic, accident and crime statistics; and policy and public education initiatives. The survey instrument was distributed to Member States in 1996. The sample size is 78 countries.
UN Surveys of Crime Trends and Operations of Criminal Justice Systems
The surveys were started in 1977, covering five-year intervals from 1970-1994. Starting in 1995 surveys cover two- or three-year intervals. Sample Size: The number of participating countries varies by sweep.
Violence Against Women Resource Guide
A guide to data useful for the study of violence against women available from the National Archive of Criminal Justice Data at ICPSR.