LibGuides: International Physicians' Information: UCSD Resources

Overview

UCSD has many resources to choose from. We've divided the clinical resources into the following categories:

Primary Databases

Synthesized Resources

Drug Resources

Primary Databases

PubMed
The key database to use for finding the clinical evidence. Don't forget to use limits to narrow your results or use the related citations link from an article that closely answers your question.
PsycINFO
Search over 200 years of international literature on the fields of psychology, cognitive science, and related disciplines. Search through articles, books, book chapters or dissertations. Also a great resource for items about the psychological and behavioral aspects of medicine and health.
Web of Science
The tools to narrow your search are not as robust in this database, but it has very good coverage of medical topics and includes journals that PubMed does not index.

Need more options? A-Z List of Databases
UCSD has a large selection of biomedical databases. Use our A-Z list to browse the options.

Synthesized Resources & Point of Care Tools

DynaMed Plus
A resource similar to Up to Date and Medscape where the key information is already synthesized for you in an encyclopedic fashion.

UptoDate
A database that is particularly helpful with treatment questions as well as a bit of the basic information question. Its treatment recommendations are based on medical evidence and a new trend provides a grading level to help you know the strength of that evidence.

(Only available when on campus.)
Cochrane Library
A great tool to identify either systematic reviews or information on clinical trials. Information indexed extends beyond the journal in PubMed, so while there is some repetition, not all of the information is found in PubMed. Information can be highly relevant for patient care or decision making.
Medscape
A "clinical care reference guide". This is the free version and is a useful substitute for Up-To-Date. It may require free registration for full access.

Drug Online Resources & Books

The Library's most popular resources for Drug Information

The following list includes the key pharmacy-specific database to find the original literature and a wealth of synthesized resources to help you quickly find the information you need, from finding background information about a drug (e.g. pharmacology, pharmacokinetics) to information for treating patients (e.g. dosing, interactions).

Clinical Pharmacology
This database has comprehensive coverage of marketed US drugs and some investigational agents. It also contains a drug identification tool, drug interaction checker, patient handouts, and an ... For more info - see the info button above. external linkage to the Natural Medicines Database which provides extensive information on herbals and nutraceuticals. Terminology is consistent throughout the database, allowing comprehensive searches of various topics such as drugs that cause specific adverse reactions, all drugs used for certain indications, etc. The database has references to the primary literature.
Micromedex
This is a collection of databases with "Drugdex" as the key one. A search is done across all databases and is likely to find information in several of the databases. It has somewhat more extensive referencing than other major databases, with some information on investigational and non-US drugs as does Martindale (a European drug database) which is included in the Micromedex package. For more information - see the info button above. The package also contains a drug identification tool ("Identidex"), a drug interaction checker, patient handouts, summary drug documents and three teratology databases.
NatMed Pro
This database is also a comprehensive database of natural products. It is noteworthy for its expert evaluations of the literature on natural remedies and organized ranking of the literature quality.
Meyler’s Side Effects of Drugs: The International Encyclopedia of Adverse Drug Reactions and Interactions
This database contains extensive, well-referenced electronic books on adverse reactions reported on drugs and drug classes. Search for drug names to find case reports of adverse effects, or search for adverse effects to find lists of drugs that have been associated with that effect.