Diagnostic atlas of renal pathology : a companion to Brenner & Rector's The kidney by 
Comprehensive clinical nephrology by 
Graff's Textbook of Urinalysis and Body Fluids by 
CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment by 
The Essentials of Clinical Dialysis by Not finding what you need? Having trouble using one of our resources? Please let us know.
Ask Karen - you can reach me at 858-534-1199 or at kheskett@ucsd.edu
Ask a Librarian - check out all the ways to reach one of us at the Biomed Library
Ask a UC Librarian - for those late-night questions, chat with a UC Librarian 24/7
From chronic kidney disease to nephrotic syndrome, the Point of Care tools will be very helpful in clarifying aspects of the case. Many of these POC tools also reference the latest guidelines, but you sometimes may need to find the latest by searching for them.
Don't forget the Drug Information Resources for gaining a better understanding of the drugs involved in this week's case.
Resources for this Case
Textbooks (look left)
This Week's Reading Assignments
PubMed Tips: Depression & CKD
Database Searching: Psych-related Questions
Trip Database: Article, Books, Guidelines & more all in one place
Just to make it easier for you to access the readings, here's the article & resources
Point of Care Tools
All of the tools have some great information on this topic. However, each has some special features that highlight information in different ways. Since they are simple to use, try looking in more than one tool and compare them.
CKD & Depression
Have you search PubMed for articles related to possible depression with chronic kidney disease (or even nephrotic syndrome)? Did you notice a problem with your results?
What else could you do?
Psychological Resources
Database #1: PsycINFO
Sometimes, your topic will be well-covered by a resource that is not PubMed. In this case, the database PsycINFO, with its emphasis not only on psychology & psychiatry, but also on the psychological aspects of health and medicine, makes it a great addition or alternative to PubMed.
A simple keyword search gives you a few good options. The first result in this database shows:
Database #2: CINAHL
Another database you may not have every really explored is the CINAHL database. It overlaps a little with the results in PubMed, but has a variety of great articles PubMed does not have. Check out some of the results from a simple keyword search:
TRIP Database
Find medical resources of all types in this one meta-search engine. Their limits let you specify the type of info you might want - look at all of the options and you might find the Guidelines limit helpful.
Looking up information about the results of lab tests are mostly background questions. The following resources are easy to use tools to find very reliable information about the normal values, reference ranges, and more.
Henry's Clinical Diagnosis and Management by Laboratory Methods by 
Ferri's Clinical Advisor by 
Pocket Guide to Diagnostic Tests by 
Delmar's Guide to Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests by An internet search will show that there are many patient support group resources and the trick in exploring it to be sure to check the about page for details on how they use the information. National organizations also are sources of informaiton on credible patient/family support groups. I've listed a couple of resources below, and one other place you might also find some good suggestions for patient support groups MedLine Plus - use the search box below.
MedlinePlus is a great place to find consumer-friendly materials along with directories, a dictionary & encyclopedia, and more. Take a look and see what you find for this week's topics. Try looking for diet info for chronic kidney disease. They have some good references for you too.
