Skip to main content
Librarian on site
NOTE: The last drop-in hours for spring are over. Regular weekly hours for Fall will re-start mid-October.
Cutter Consortium Membership
Cutter acts as a “global business-technology advisory firm dedicated to helping organizations leverage emerging technologies and the latest business management thinking to achieve competitive advantage and mission success” and UC San Diego has a subscription to its web contents, which includes expert research and analysis of industry trends in information technology. Cutter focuses on these practice areas:
- Agile product management and software engineering excellence
- Business and enterprise architecture
- Business technology and digital transformation strategies
- Data analytics and digital technologies
Its website contents include reports, Cutter IT Journal, the Cutter blog, training and events. Some of Cutter’s content is free, but to see the industry reports that come with the UCSD membership, you must register for an account. Instructions are here - http://blink.ucsd.edu/sponsor/ITS/services/cutter.html. Please use your ucsd.edu email address to register.
If you are interested in talking to a Cutter consultant directly, some restrictions apply; please contact Adele Barsh
or Jessica Hilt
about your research need. Also contact us if you are not finding what you want within the Cutter site.
Frequently Used Resources
- Wall Street Journal
UCSD gets the current day's content of the WSJ via WSJ Proquest and via the News Pages of Factiva. Use the Proquest interface if you want a precise search for a topic; use the Factiva News Pages version if you want to access to graphics and downloadable audio content. Proquest offers article alerts to your email and can search back to 1980. If you need access to WSJ content older than that, or full page images, use the WSJ Historical database.
http://uclibs.org/PID/11383 (ProQuest current)
http://uclibs.org/PID/32497 (Factiva current)
http://uclibs.org/PID/11380 (ProQuest historical)
- Business Insights: Global (formerly Business & Company Resource Center)
BI: Globalis a great first-stop for business information. It includes information on companies and industries from business and trade journals, academic journals, industry reports, newspapers, newsletters, and classic business reference sources.
- Mergent Online
Mergent Online provides public company information on more than 45,000 U.S. and international companies, both active and inactive. Includes historical annual reports, SEC filings, a report builder, up to 30 years' of downloadable financials.
IBISWorld Industry Intelligence
IBISWorld contains U.S. and global industry market research reports, including a specialized collection of China Industry Reports. It also provides U.S. business risk ratings, and selected economic and demographic data. Contents are downloadable as full reports or selected elements, such as SWOT analyses, statistical tables and graphs.
The Conference Board's database of reports and survey results contain discussion of business & economics topics of interest to management leadership. Access our subscription to the full database to search by your specific topics of interest. Below is the RSS feed of the latest reports: