Skip to main content

GovSpeak: A Guide to U.S. Government Acronyms & Abbreviations: S

The most current, extensive and fully-linked listing of U.S. government agency, office, program and publication acronyms.

S

S&T Science and Technology Directorate
S&TF Science and Technology Facility
SAB EPA Science Advisory Board
SABER Statistical Analysis Battery for Epidemiological Research (unable to verify)
SABIT Special American Business Internship Training
SABS School Attendance Boundary Survey
SAC Small Agency Council
SACC Science Advisory Committee on Chemicals
SACGHS Secretary's Advisory Committee on Genetics, Health and Society (unable to verify 7/17)
SACGT Secretary's Advisory Committee on Genetic Testing (absorbed by SACGHS)
SACO Subject Authority Cooperative Program
SACX Secretary's Advisory Committee on Xenotransplantation (defunct)
SaDIP Safety Data Improvement Program
SAE State and Metro Area Employment, Hours, & Earnings
SAER LLNL Site Annual Environmental Report
SAFECOM Safety Communications
SAFER Safety and Fitness Electronic Records | Staffing for Adequate Fire & Emergency Response Grants Program
SAHIE Small Area Health Insurance Estimates
SAIF Saving Associate Insurance Fund (merged into DIF)
SAIPE Small Area Income & Poverty Estimates
SAM System Advisor Model | System for Award Management (older link archive)
SAMHDA Substance Abuse and Mental Health Data Archive
SAMHSA Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration
SAO Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory
SAOP Senior Agency Officials for Privacy (older link archive)
SAP Scientific Advisory Panel
SARA Service and Advice for Research and Analysis | Stock Assessment Results Archive
SARC Stock Assessment Review Committee
SARD Safety and Assurance Requirements Division
SARP Sectoral Applications Research Program (older link archive)
SAS Service Annual Survey | Surveillance and Aviation Section
SASS Schools and Staffing Survey
SAVE Systematic Alien Verification for Entitlement
SAVIN Statewide Automated Victim Information and Notification
SAVS System for Assessing Vulnerability of Species
SAW Stock Assessment Workshop
SB Space Biology Program | Surgery Branch
SBA Small Business Administration
SBC Structural Biology Center
SBE Directorate for Social, Behavioral and Economic Sciences
SBIC Small Business Investment Company
SBIP Sustainable Buildings Implementation Plan
SBIR Small Business Innovation Research
SBIRT Screening, Brief Intervention, and Referral to Treatment
SBLF Small Business Lending Fund
SBO Survey of Business Owners
SBP School Breakfast Program
SBRB Social and Behavioral Research Branch
SB/SE Small Business/Self-Employed Division (older link archive)
SBST Social & Behavioral Sciences Team
SC Office of Science
SC2 Strong Cities, Strong Communities Initiative
SCA Bureau of South and Central Asian Affairs | Service Center Agencies
SCAAP State Criminal Alien Assistance Program
SCAN Soil Climate Analysis Network
SCAP Security Content Automation Protocol
SCC Strategic Center for Coal (unable to verify 11/16)
S/CCI Office of the Coordinator for Cyber Issues
SC CSC South Central Climate Science Center
SCEC State Climate Extremes Committee
SCF Strengthening Communities Fund (unable to verify) | Survey of Consumer Finances (older link archive)
SCHIP State Children's Health Insurance Program
SCI Special Crash Investigations | Specialty Crops Inspection (unable to verify 8/17) | Sustainable Communities Initiative
SciDAC Scientific Discovery through Advanced Computing
SCNGO Strategic Center for Natural Gas and Oil
SCO Office of Strategic Communications and Outreach | Special Counsel's Office | Standards Coordination Office
SCOTUS Supreme Court of the United States
SCP Specialty Crops Program
S/CPR Office of the Chief of Protocol
SCRAM Support Center for Regulatory Atmospheric Modeling
SCRI Specialty Crop Research Initiative
SCS School Crime Supplement
SCSEP Senior Community Service Employment Program
S/CT Office of the Coordinator for Counterterrorism (changed to CT)
SD Storm Data
SDC State Data Center
SDDS School District Demographics System (changed to MapED)
SDMS Spatial Data Management System
SDN Specially Designated Nationals List
SDOH Social Determinants of Health
SDP Sustainable Development Partnerships
SDPI Special Diabetes Program for Indians
SDR Subcommittee on Disaster Reduction
SDRP School District Review Program (older link archive)
SDVOSB Service-Disabled Veteran-Owned Small Business
SDWIS Safe Drinking Water Information System
SEAB Secretary of Energy Advisory Board
SEAS Special Envoy to Monitor and Combat Anti-Semitism (older link archive)
SEC Securities and Exchange Commission | Space Environment Center (changed to SWPC)
SECA Solid State Energy Conversion Alliance
SE CSC Southeast Climate Science Center
SED Survey of Earned Doctorates | Systems Exposure Division
SEDAC Socioeconomic Data and Applications Data Center
SEDAR SouthEast Data, Assessment, and Review
SEDS Social & Economic Development Strategies | State Energy Data System
SEE Senior Environmental Employment Program | Space Environments and Effects
SEE Action State and Local Energy Efficiency Action Network
SEED Systems Engineering & Evaluation Directorate (unable to verify 5/16; likely changed to Assessments Directorate)
SEER Surveillance, Epidemiology, and End Results
SEES Science, Engineering and Education for Sustainability
SEFL Supervision, Enforcement, and Fair Lending Division (older link archive)
SEFSC Southeast Fisheries Science Center
SEL Systematic Entomology Laboratory
SEMS Superfund Enterprise Management System
SENSOR Sentinel Event Notification System for Occupational Risks
SENTRI Secure Electronic Network for Travelers Rapid Inspection
SEP State Energy Program (older link archive)
SEPA Southeastern Power Administration
SEPDPO Scientific Education and Professional Development Program Office (changed to DSEPD)
SEPT Survey of Employer-Provided Training
SER State Education Reforms
SERC Smithsonian Environmental Research Center
SERF Solar Energy Research Facility
SERO Southeast Regional Office
SERV Project School Emergency Response to Violence
S/ES Executive Secretariat
SES Division of Social and Economic Sciences | Senior Executive Service
SESA Office of Environmental Protection, Sustainability Support & Corporate Safety Analysis
SESTAT Scientists and Engineers Statistical Data System
SET Space Environment Testbeds
SETS Statistical Export and Tabulation System (unable to verify 11/16)
SEVIS Student and Exchange Visitor Information System
SEVP Student and Exchange Visitor Program
SEWP Solutions for Enterprise-Wide Procurement
SF Office of Sustainable Fisheries
SFBPC Sport Fishing and Boating Partnership Council
SFMNP Senior Farmers' Market Nutrition Program
SFS Scholarship for Service
SFSP Summer Food Service Program
SGCN Species of Greatest Conservation Need
SGCR Subcommittee on Global Change Research
SGE Special Government Employee
SGIG Smart Grid Investment Grant
SGLI Servicemembers' Group Life Insurance
SGMRO Sexual and Gender Minority Research Office
S/GWI Office of Global Women's Issues
ShaRE Shared Research Equipment User Facility (merged into CNMS; see archive)
SHARE Initiative Safety, Health and Return-to-Employment
SHARES Shared Resources High Frequency (HF) Radio Program
SHARP Strategic Health IT Advanced Research Projects
SHC Strategic Habitat Conservation
SHED Survey of Household Economics and Decisionmaking (older link archive)
SHIBs Safety and Health Information Bulletins
SHIP Small Rural Hospital Improvement Grant Program
SHOP Self-help Homeownership Opportunity Program | Small Business Health Options Program (older link archive)
SHP Secretary's Honors Program | Supportive Housing Program
SHPPS School Health Policies and Practices Study (older link archive)
SHRP2 Strategic Highway Research Program
SHSD Safety & Health Services Division
SHSP Strategic Highway Safety Plan (older link archive)
SMA Safety and Mission Assurance Directorate | SBE Office of Multidisciplinary Activities
SMAD Spinal Cord and Musculoskeletal Disorders and Assistive Devices Program (unable to verify 8/17)
SMAP Soil Moisture Active Passive
SMART Office of Sex Offender Sentencing, Monitoring, Apprehending, Registering, and Tracking
SMB Specimen Management Branch
SMD Science Mission Directorate
SMG Spaceflight Meteorology Group
SMM Sustainable Materials Management
SMP Senior Medicare Patrol (older link archive) | Special Milk Program
SMSR Safety and Mission Success Review
SMVF TA Service Members, Veterans, and their Families Technical Assistance Center
SNAP Significant New Alternatives Policy | Southern Nevada Agency Partnership | Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program
SNCAFAC Sustained National Climate Assessment Federal Advisory Committee (also, ACSNCA)
SNL Sandia National Laboratories
SNOTEL Snowpack Telemetry
SNS Spallation Neutron Source | Strategic National Stockpile (older link archive)
SNUN Significant New Use Notice
SNUR Significant New Use Rules
SOC Standard Occupational Classification | Survey of Construction
SOCC Sustainable Operations and Climate Change Branch
SOCCR State of the Carbon Cycle Report
SOCDS State of the Cities Data Systems
SOCO Standards of Conduct Office (older link archive)
S/OCR Office of Civil Rights
SOD Safety of Dams program (older link archive)
SOHO Solar and Heliospheric Observatory
SOI Statistics of Income (older link archive)
SOL Office of the Solicitor
SOMA Survey of Market Absorption of New Multifamily Units (older link archive)
SONIC Sound Online Inventory and Catalog
SOP Street Outreach Program
SOPD Sector Outreach and Programs Division
SOPR Senate Office of Public Records (changed to OPR)
SoR System of Registries
SORCE Solar Radiation and Climate Experiment
SORD Special Operations and Research Division
SORNs System of Records Notices
SOS Safe Online Surfing | Science on a Sphere
SOST Subcommittee on Ocean Science and Technology (defunct or inactive 1/17, WH transition)
SOT Survivors of Torture Program
SOTC State of the Climate
S/P Policy Planning Staff
SPB Science Policy Branch
SPC Storm Prediction Center
SPD Special Programs Division (unable to verify 10/14) | Survey of Program Dynamics
SPEA Strategic Planning and Economic Analysis (changed to EAO)
SPF Strategic Prevention Framework
SPHB Susceptibility and Population Health Branch (unable to verify 12/13)
SPI Office of Economic Sanctions Policy and Implementation | Smart Policing Initiative
SPLP Safer Product Labeling Program (changed to Safer Choice)
SPO Special Programs Office | Strategic Partnerships Office | Sustainability Performance Office
SPOREs Specialized Programs of Research Excellence
SPoRT Short-term Prediction Research and Transition Center
SPPA Survey of Public Participation in the Arts
SPR Strategic Petroleum Reserve
SPRAC Senior Preservation Rental Assistance Contracts
SPRUCE Spruce and Peatland Responses Under Climatic and Environmental Change
SPS Secure Payment System
SPSD Standardized Program Structure and Definitions
SQ-CLASS Business and Professional Classification Survey
SRB Scientific Review Branch | Services Research Branch
SRCL Striving Readers Comprehensive Literacy Program
SRDR Systematic Review Data Repository
S/RGA Office of Religion and Global Affairs
SRM Standard Reference Materials
SRMC Special Representative to Muslim Communities
SRNL Savannah River National Laboratory
SRO Smithsonian Research Online
SRP Superfund Research Program
SRRL Solar Radiation Research Laboratory (unable to verify 1/17)
SRS Savannah River Site | Southern Research Station | Substance Registry Services | Surveillance and Response System
SRTB Science of Research and Technology Branch (unable to verify 11/16)
SRTS Safe Routes to School | Survey Request Tracking Solution
SRWG NASA Sounding Rocket Working Group