Skip to main content

GovSpeak: A Guide to U.S. Government Acronyms & Abbreviations: P

The most current, extensive and fully-linked listing of U.S. government agency, office, program and publication acronyms.

P

P2 Pollution Prevention
P&R Personnel and Readiness
P&SP Packers and Stockyards Program
PA Bureau of Public Affairs
PAB Personnel Appeals Board | Program Analysis Branch
PACE Plankton, Aerosol, Cloud, ocean Ecosystem | Program of All-Inclusive Care for the Elderly
PACER Public Access to Court Electronic Records
PACHA Presidential Advisory Council on HIV/AIDS (older link archive)
PACIFICA Pacific Ocean Interior Carbon database
PACT Partnering and Communicating Together to Act Against AIDS
PAD Policy Analysis Division
PADD Product Acquisition & Deployment Directorate
PADRECC Parkinson’s Disease Research, Education, and Clinical Center
PAD-US Protected Areas Database of the United States
PAF Pregnancy Assistance Fund (older link archive)
PAFA Priority-based Assessment of Food Additives
PAGER Prompt Assessment of Global Earthquakes for Response
PAGES Public Access Gateway for Energy & Science
PAIR Patent Application Information Retrieval
PAM Office of Acquisition and Property Management | Pesticide Analytical Manual
PAMA Pediatric, Adolescent & Maternal AIDS Branch (changed to MPIDB)
PAMS Portfolio Analysis And Management System
PAO Privacy Act Office | Public Affairs Office
PARIS Public Assistance Reporting Information System
PASS Physical Assessment Subsystem
PATH Projects for Assistance in Transition from Homelessness
PAW Program to Achieve Wellness
PBA Public and Business Affairs (changed to PAO)
PBGC Pension Benefit Guaranty Corporation
PBM Pharmacy Benefits Management Services
PBRN Primary Care Practice-Based Research Networks (older link archive)
PBS Public Buildings Service
PC Peace Corps
PCA Plant Conservation Alliance
PCAH President’s Committee on the Arts and Humanities
PCAOB Public Company Accounting Oversight Board (older link archive)
PCAST President's Council of Advisors on Science and Technology (defunct or inactive 1/17, WH transition)
PCB Prevention Communication Branch
PCBE President's Council on Bioethics (changed to PCSBI)
PCC Panama Canal Commission | Program for Cooperative Cataloging
PCD Prevening Chronic Disease Journal | Program Counsel Division
PCFSN President's Council on Fitness, Sports and Nutrition (older link archive)
PCIE President's Council on Integrity and Effiency (changed to CIGIE)
PCII Protected Critical Infrastructure Information (older link archive)
PCIP Pre-Existing Condition Insurance Plan
PCLO Privacy and Civil Liberties Office (changed to OPCL)
PCLOB Privacy and Civil Liberties Oversight Board (unable to verify 8/09)
PCMDI Program for Climate Model Diagnosis and Intercomparison
PCMH Patient Centered Medical Home
PCMSC Pacific Coastal and Marine Science Center
PCN Preassigned Control Number Program
PCOS Physics of the Cosmos Program
PCPID President's Committee for People with Intellectual Disabilities (older link archive)
PCRB Process of Care Research Branch (unable to verify 11/16)
PCRM Program in Cellular Regulation and Metabolism (unable to verify 11/16)
PCS Permit Compliance System
PCSBI Presidential Commission for the Study of Bioethical Issues (defunct; archived at Georgetown)
PDB Planning Database | Population Dynamics Branch
PDC Prescott Dispatch Center
PDCO Planetary Defense Coordination Office
PDEGEN Program in Developmental Endocrinology and Genetics
PDM Pre-Disaster Mitigation Grant Program
PDMP Prescription Drug Monitoring Programs
PDN Pediatrics & Developmental Neuroscience Branch | Program in Developmental Neuroscience
PDNB Pediatrics & Developmental Neuroscience Branch
PDP Pesticide Data Program
PD&R Office of Policy Development and Research
PDS Planetary Data System
PDSD Personnel and Document Security Division
PDSI Palmer Drought Severity Index
PEAP President's Education Awards Program
PECAD Production Estimates and Crop Assessment Division (unable to verify 3/07; likely changed to IPAD)
PECE Policy for Evaluation of Conservation Efforts
PedNSS Pediatric Nutrition Surveillance System (discontinued 2012)
PEIR Program Evaluation and Information Resources
PEMAD Populations and Ecosystems Monitoring and Analysis Division
PEP Population Estimates Program (older link archive) | Priority Enforcement Program
PEPC Planning, Environment and Public Comment
PEPFAR President's Emergency Plan for AIDS Relief
PEPS Postsecondary Education Participants System
PESP Pesticide Environmental Stewardship Program
PetDB Petrological Database
PFDS Precipitation Frequency Data Server
PFEL Pacific Fisheries Environmental Laboratory
PFIAB President's Foreign Intelligence Advisory Board (changed to PIAB)
PFM Office of Financial Management
PFR Partners for Recovery
PFS Pay for Success | Principal Follow-Up Survey
PGD Program on Genomics of Differentiation
PGNB Pediatric Growth and Nutrition Branch
PGPRU Plant Germplasm Preservation Research Unit (older link archive)
PHA Public Housing Agency (see PIH)
PHAP Public Health Associate Program
PharmPAC Pharmacist Professional Advisory Committee (unable to verify 11/16)
PHB Population Health Branch
PHE Public Health Emergency
PHECC Public Housing Environmental and Conservation Clearinghouse
PHEMCE Public Health Emergency Medical Countermeasures Enterprise
PHGKB Public Health Genomics Knowledge Base (older link archive)
PHGR Public Health Grand Rounds
PHIFP Public Health Informatics Fellowship Program
PHIL Public Health Image Library
PHIN Public Health Information Network
PHITPO Public Health Informatics and Technology Program Office (replaced by PHSIPO)
PHLIC Public Health Library and Information Center (changed to CDC Library)
PHMSA Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Administration
PHOD Physical Oceanography Division
PHPPO Public Health Practice Program Office (defunct)
PHPR Office of Public Health Preparedness and Response
PHPS Public Health Prevention Service
PHR Public Health Reports
PHREO Program in Human Research Ethics and Oversight
PHS Division of Public Health Services | Public Health Service (changed to ASH) | Public Health Statements
PHSIPO Public Health Surveillance and Informatics Program Office (unable to verify 6/14)
PHSPO Public Health Surveillance Program Office (changed to PHSIPO)
PHTN Public Health Training Network (defunct; some content absorbed by CDC Learning Connection)
PHY Physics Division
PI Office of Policy and International Affairs (changed to IA)
PIA Privacy Impact Assessments
PIAAC Program for the International Assessment of Adult Competencies
PIAB President's Intelligence Advisory Board (defunct or inactive 1/17, WH transition)
PIADC Plum Island Animal Disease Center
PIC PNNL Institutional Computing
PICH Partnerships to Improve Community Health
PICS / PICSWEB Procurement Information Control System (unable to verify 2/16)
PI CSC Pacific Islands Climate Science Center
PID Pathway Interaction Database (website retired; content merged into NDEx)
PIDB Public Interest Declassification Board
PIECP Prison Industry Enhancement Certification Program (unable to verify 11/16)
PIFSC Pacific Islands Fisheries Science Center
PIGWAD Planetary Interactive G.I.S.-on-the-Web Analyzable Database
PIH Office of Public and Indian Housing
PILB Public Information and Liaison Branch
PILOT Planetary Image Locator Tool
PILOTS Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress
PILT Payment in Lieu of Taxes
PIN Public Integrity Section
PINR Division of Price and Index Number Research
PIRLS Progress in International Reading Literacy Study
PISA Program for International Student Assessment
PIT Point in Time homeless count
PLAIN Plain Language Action and Information Network
PLC Price Loss Coverage
PLLI National Institute on Postsecondary Education, Libraries, and Lifelong Learning (defunct)
PLR Polar Programs (changed to OPP)
PLS Physical and Life Sciences Directorate | Public Land Statistics | Public Libraries Survey
PLSS Public Land Survey System
PREA National Prison Rape Elimination Commission
PREMIS Preservation Metadata: Implementation Strategies
PREP Partnership for Resilience and Preparedness
PRISM Performance and Registration Information Systems Management
PRISM-ID Protective Research Information System Management System replaced by PTMS)
PRM Bureau of Population, Refugees, and Migration
PRS HIV/AIDS Prevention Research Synthesis Project
PSA Pretrial Services Agency | Protective Security Advisor Program
PSAP Participant Statistical Areas Program
PSB Payroll Services Branch
PSC Partnership for Sustainable Communities | Program Support Center | Project Safe Childhood
PSCR Public Safety Communications Research (older link archive)
PSD Physical Sciences Division | Policy and Standards Division | Production, Supply and Distribution (older link archive)
PSGP Port Security Grant Program
PSHSB Public Safety & Homeland Security Bureau (older link archive)
PSI Physical Science Informatics
PSLF Public Service Loan Forgiveness Program
PSN Project Safe Neighborhoods
PSNET Patient Safety Network
PSO Princeton Site Office
PSOB Public Safety Officers’ Benefits Program
PSOTP Protective Service Operations Training Program
PSS Private School Universe Survey
PSTP Physical Security Training Program
PSW Pacific Southwest Research Station
PTAB Patent Trial and Appeal Board
PTCIB Pediatric Trauma and Critical Illness Branch
PTFP Public Telecommunications Facilities Program
PTMS Protective Threat Management System
PTO Patent and Trademark Office
PTRB Pediatric Translational Research Branch
PTSD National Center for PTSD (Post Traumatic Stress Disorder)
PTWC Pacific Tsunami Warning Center
PUMS Public Use Microdata Samples
PVSA President’s Volunteer Service Award
PWBA Pension and Welfare Benefits Administration (changed to EBSA)
PWRC Patuxent Wildlife Research Center
PWSD Public Workforce System Dataset
PWSS Public Water System Supervision
PZ Promise Zone