Skip to main content

GovSpeak: A Guide to U.S. Government Acronyms & Abbreviations: O

The most current, extensive and fully-linked listing of U.S. government agency, office, program and publication acronyms.

O

OA Office of Administration (defunct or inactive 1/17, WH transition)
OAA Office of Academic Affiliations
OAAG Office of the Associate Attorney General
OAAM Office of Audit, Assessment, and Management
OAA NP Older Americans Act Nutrition Program (older link archive)
OAC Office of Advanced Cyberinfrastructure | Office of Antiboycott Compliance
OACU Office of Animal Care and Use
OADS Ocean Acidification Data Stewardship Project | Office of the Associate Director for Science
OAG Office of the Attorney General
OAH Office of Adolescent Health
OAHP Office of Affordable Housing Preservation (changed to Office of Recapitalization)
OAI Office of Academic Improvement | Office of Audits and Inspections
OAIT Office of American Indian Trust (defunct)
OALJ Office of Administrative Law Judges
OAM Office of Administrative Management | Office of Air and Marine (changed to AMO) | Office of Archival Management
OAO Office of Advocacy and Outreach
OAP Ocean Acidification Program | Office of Antimicrobial Products | Office of Atmospheric Programs
OAQPS Office of Air Quality Planning and Standards
OAR Office of AIDS Research | Office of Air and Radiation | Office of Oceanic and Atmospheric Research
OARC Office of Autism Research Coordination
OARM Office of Administration and Resources Management | Office of Attorney Recruitment and Management
OAS Office of Applied Studies (changed to CBHSQ) | Office of Appraisal Services | Office of Aviation Services
OASAM Office of the Assistant Secretary for Administration and Management
OASCR Office of the Assistant Secretary for Civil Rights
OASDI Old-Age and Survivors Insurance and Disability Insurance
OASH Office of the Assistant Secretary for Health
OASIS One Acquisition Solution for Integrated Services (older link archive)
OAT Office for the Advancement of Telehealth (older link archive) | Organic Analytical Toxicology Branch
OBA Office of Biotechnology Activities (unable to verify 7/17; likely changed to BBEBP)
OBBR Office of Biorepositories and Biospecimen Research
OB.DAAC Ocean Biology Distributed Active Archive Center
OBEMLA Office of Bilingual Education and Minority Languages Affairs (changed to OELA)
OBHE Office of Behavioral Health Equity
OBI Office of Business Innovations (defunct)
OBIM Office of Biometric Identity Management
OBL Office of Business Liaison
OBLR Office of Brownfields and Land Revitalization
OBMT Office of Business Management and Transformation
OBO Bureau of Overseas Buildings Operations
OBP Office for Bombing Prevention
OBPA Office of Budget and Program Analysis
OBPG Ocean Biology Processing Group
OBPM Office of Budget and Performance Management
OBS Office of Broadcast Services (inactive or defunct 2/17) | Office of Observations
ObsIWG Integrated Observations Interagency Working Group
OBSSR Office of Behavioral and Social Sciences Research
OC Office of Communications
OCA Office of Congressional Affairs, CIA
OCADS Ocean Carbon Data System
OCC Office of Cancer Centers | Office of the Comptroller of the Currency | Office of Child Care | Office of Community Care
OCCPR Office of Cancer Clinical Proteomics Research
OCDETF Organized Crime Drug Enforcement Task Force
OCE Ocean Sciences | Office of Civil Enforcement | Office of the Chief Economist | Office of the Chief Engineer | Office of Congressional Ethics | Oncology Center of Excellence
OCED Ocean Chemistry and Ecosystems Division
OCEFT Office of Criminal Enforcement, Forensics and Training
OCFT Office of Child Labor, Forced Labor, and Human Trafficking
OCG Office of Cancer Genomics
OCGS Organized Crime and Gang Section
OCHP Office of Children's Health Protection
OCI Office of Criminal Investigations | Office of Cyberinfrastructure (changed to ACI)
OCIA Office of Congressional and Intergovernmental Affairs | Office of Cyber and Infrastructure Analysis
OCIE Office of Compliance Inspections and Examinations
OCIR Office of Congressional and Intergovernmental Relations, EPA
OCIJ Office of the Chief Immigration Judge
OCKT Office of Communications and Knowledge Transfer (changed to OC)
OCL Ocean Climate Laboratory
OCM Office for Coastal Management | Office of Committee Management
OCO-2 Orbiting Carbon Observatory-2
OCP Office for Community Partnerships (unable to verify 2/17) | Office of Combination Products | Our Changing Planet
OCPD Oceans and Coastal Protection Division (unable to verify 7/17)
OCPR Office of Conflict Prevention and Resolution (changed to ADRO)
OCR Office for Civil Rights, ED | Office for Civil Rights, HHS | Office for Civil Rights, OJP | Office of Civil Rights, EPA | Office of Credit Ratings
OCRM Ocean and Coastal Resource Management (merged into OCM)
OCRPRO Office of Clinical Research Policy and Regulatory Operations
OCRS Organized Crime and Racketeering Section (merged into OCGS)
OCRWM Office of Civilian Radioactive Waste Management
OCS Office of Cancer Survivorship | Office of Coast Survey | Office of Community Services | Office of the Chief Scientist, NASA | Office of the Chief Scientist, USDA
OCSC Office of Citizen Services and Communications (changed to OCSIT)
OCSE Office of Child Support Enforcement
OCSIRF Office of Chief Scientist, Integrated Research Facility
OCSIT Office of Citizen Services and Innovative Technologies (changed to TTS)
OCSPP Office of Chemical Safety and Pollution Prevention
OCSQ Office of Clinical Standards and Quality (changed to CCSQ)
OCT Office of the Chief Technologist
OCTAE Office of Career, Technical, and Adult Education
OE Office of Electricity Delivery and Energy Reliability
OEA Office of Economic Adjustment | Office of Enforcement Analysis | Office of Environmental Analysis
OEC Office of Emergency Communications
OECA Office of Enforcement and Compliance Assurance
OECR Office of Emergency Care Research
OED Office of Enrollment and Discipline
OEDCA Office of Employment Discrimination and Complaint Adjudication
OEE Office of Entrepreneurship Education | Office of Export Enforcement
OEEB Occupational and Environmental Epidemiology Branch
OEEO Office of Equal Employment Opportunity
OEGT Office of Electronic Government and Technology (changed to egov; defunct or inactive 1/17, WH transition)
OEHE Office of Environmental Health and Engineering
OEI Office of Environmental Information
OEID Office of Economic Impact and Diversity
OEIO Office of Earnings & International Operations
OEIS Office of Energy Infrastructure Security
OEL Ocean Ecology Laboratory | Office of Early Learning
OELA Office of English Language Acquisition
OEM Office of Emergency Management, EPA | Office of Emergency Management, PHE | Office of Environmental Markets
OEMM Offshore Energy and Minerals Management (now part of ONRR)
OEMR Office of Energy Market Regulation
OEO Office of Enforcement Operations
OEP Office of Energy Projects | Office of Extramural Policy
OEPC Office of Environmental Policy and Compliance
OEPI Office of Energy Policy and Innovation
OEPNU Office of Energy Policy and New Uses
OEPR Office of Extramural Policy and Review
OER Office of Economic Resilience | Office of Electric Reliability | Office of Extramural Research | Office of Ocean Exploration and Research
OEREP Office of Extramural Research, Education, and Priority Populations
OERI Office of Educational Research and Improvement (defunct; see also IES)
OERR Office of Emergency Response and Recovery (changed to OMA)
OES Bureau of Oceans and International Environmental and Scientific Affairs | Occupational Employment Statistics
OES/EGC Office of Global Change
OESE Office of Elementary and Secondary Education
OET Office of Educational Technology | Office of Engineering and Technology
OFA Office of Family Assistance | Office of Federal Acknowledgement (older link archive)
OFAC Office of Foreign Assets Control
OFACMO Office of Federal Advisory Committee Management and Outreach (changed to ODACMO)
OFAM Office of Financial and Administrative Management
OFAS Office of Facilities and Administrative Services
OFBNP Office of Faith-Based and Neighborhood Partnerships (defunct or inactive 1/17, WH transition)
OFC Office of the Federal Coordinator for Alaska Natural Gas Transportation Projects (defunct as of 3/15)
OFCCP Office of Federal Contract Compliance Programs
OFCM Office of the Federal Coordinator for Meteorology
OFDA Office of U.S. Foreign Disaster Assistance
OFDC Office of Federal Disaster Coordination
OFDT Office of the Federal Detention Trustee (merged into USMS 6/12)
OFECR Office of Facilities, Environmental and Cultural Resources (changed to OFPSM)
OFEE Office of the Federal Environmental Executive (changed to OFS)
OFFM Office of Federal Financial Management (defunct or inactive 1/17, WH transition)
OFHEO Office of Federal Housing Enterprise Oversight (merged into FHFA)
OFIA Office of the Flood Insurance Advocate
OFLC Office of Foreign Labor Certification
OFM Office of Financial Management | Office of Foreign Missions
OFMC Office of Facilities Management and Construction (changed to DFMC)
OFO Office of Field Operations
OFPA Office of Financial Planning and Analysis
OFPP Office of Federal Procurement Policy (defunct or inactive 1/17, WH transition)
OFPSM Office of Facilities, Property and Safety Management (older link archive)
OFR Office of the Federal Register | Office of Financial Research
OFRM Office of Financial Resource Management
OFS Office of Federal Sustainability | Office of Financial Stability
OFTP Office of Firearms and Tactical Programs (merged into OTTP)
OGA Office of Global Affairs
OGAC Office of the U.S. Global AIDS Coordinator
OGAP Office of Global Affairs and Policy
OGC Office of General Counsel (defunct or inactive 1/17, WH transition)
OGD Office of Generic Drugs
OGE Office of Government Ethics
OGFM Office of Grants and Financial Management
OGH Office of Global Health
OGHA Office of Global Health Affairs (unable to verify; likely changed to OGA)
OGIS Office of Government Information Services
OGP Office of Governmentwide Policy (older link archive) | Open Government Partnership (inactive or defunct 2/17)
OGR U.S. House Committee on Oversight and Government Reform
OGWDW Office of Ground Water and Drinking Water
OHA Office of Health Affairs | Office of Hearings and Appeals (DOE) | Office of Hearings and Appeals (DOI)
OHAIDP Office of HIV/AIDS and Infectious Disease Policy (older link archive)
OHAM Office of HIV and AIDS Malignancy (older link archive)
OHAP Office of HIV/AIDS Policy (changed to OHAIDP)
OHASIS Office of Health and Safety Information System (changed to OSHE)
OHCM Office of Human Capital Management (older link archive)
OHD Office of Hydrologic Development
OHE Office of Health Equity
OHHLHC Office of Healthy Homes and Lead Hazard Control (changed to OLHCHH)
OHO One Health Office
OHPI Office of Highway Policy Information
OHRP Office for Human Research Protections
OHS Office of Head Start
OHSEC Office of Homeland Security and Emergency Coordination
OHSES Office of Homeland Security & Emergency Services (older link archive)
OHSN Occupational Health Safety Network
OHTA Office of Historical Trust Accounting (unable to verify 3/13)
OIA Office of Insular Affairs | Office of Integrative Activities | Office of International Affairs, DOJ |
Office of International Affairs, NOAA
OIAA Office of Information Analysis and Access
OIASA Office of Indian Alcohol and Substance Abuse
OIC Office of Information Collection | Office of Interoperability and Compatibility
OID Office of Infectious Diseases
OIE Office of Innovation and Entrepreneurship
OIEA Office of Internal Evaluation and Assessment (changed to DIEA)
OIEP Office of Indian Education Programs (changed to BIE)
OIEPP Office of Indian Energy Policy and Programs
OIFS Office of Investigative and Forensic Sciences
OIG Office of Indian Gaming (older link archive) | Office of the Inspector General (directory of OIGs)
OII Office of Innovation and Improvement
OIIA Office of Intergovernmental and Interagency Affairs (defunct)
OIL Office of Immigration Litigation
OIP Office of Information Policy
OIPC Office of International Patent Cooperation
OIPD Office of Innovative Program Delivery
OIPDA Office of Information Products and Data Analysis
OIPL Office of Intergovernmental and Public Liaison (merged into OLA)
OIPR Office of Intelligence Policy and Review (changed to Office of Intelligence)
OIR Office of International Relations (older link archive) | Office of Intramural Research
OIRA Office of Information and Regulatory Affairs (defunct or inactive 1/17, WH transition)
OIRM Office of Information and Resource Management
OIRP Office of International Research Programs (older link archive)
OIS Office of Immigration Statistics | Office of Indian Services (older link archive)
OISE Office of International Science and Engineering
OISM Office of Information Systems Management
OIT Office of International Trade
OITA Office of International and Tribal Affairs
OITO Office of Information Technology Operations
OMA Office of Mission Assurance
OMAO Office of Marine and Aviation Operations
OMAR Office of Medical Applications of Research (absorbed 1/12 into ODP)
OMB Office of Management and Budget
OME Office of Migrant Education | Office of Minority Economic Impact (changed to OEID)
OMG Oceans Melting Greenland
OMH Office of Minority Health
OMHA Office of Medicare Hearings and Appeals
OMHAR Office of Multifamily Housing Assistance Restructuring (replaced by OAHP)
OMHD Office of Minority Health and Health Disparities (changed to OMHHE)
OMHHE Office of Minority Health & Health Equity
OMHR Office of Minority Health and Research (unable to verify 11/2011; likely replaced by OSPD)
OMI Office of the Medical Inspector
OMIM Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man
OMIS Office of Management and International Services
OMM Offshore Minerals Management Program (changed to OEMM, then ONRR)
OMPS Ozone Mapping Profiler Suite
OMQ Office of Manufacturing Quality
OMS Office of Management Services
OMSHR Office of Mine Safety and Health Research
OMWI Office of Minority & Women Inclusion, CFPB | Office of Minority and Women Inclusion, SEC
OP Office of Policy
OPA Office of Pharmacy Affairs | Office of Population Affairs | Office of Project Assessment | Office of Public Affairs (older link archive)
OPAD Office of Policy Analysis and Development
OPAE Office of Planning, Analysis and Evaluation
OPART Office of Performance, Accountability, Resources, and Technology (changed to COE)
OPC Ocean Prediction Center | Office of the Police Corps (defunct)
OPCL Office of Privacy and Civil Liberties
OPDAT Office of Overseas Prosecutorial Development, Assistance and Training
OPDP Office of Prescription Drug Promotion
OPDR Office of Policy Development and Research
OPE Office of Partnership and Engagement | Office of Postsecondary Education | Office of Public Engagement (defunct or inactive 1/17, WH transition)
OPEO Office of Preparedness and Emergency Operations (changed to OEM)
OPEP Office of Program Evaluation and Performance
OPEPD Office of Planning, Evaluation and Policy Development
OPHG Office of Public Health Genomics
OPHS Office of Public Health Science
OPIC Overseas Private Investment Corporation
OPL Office of Policy and Legislation
OPLA Office of the Principal Legal Advisor
OPL-IGA Office of Public Liaison & Intergovernmental Affairs (changed to Office of Public Engagement, OPE)
OPM Office of Personnel Management | Office of Program Management
OPMP Office of Pest Management Policy
OPP Obstetric & Pediatric Pharmacology Branch (changed to OPPTB) | Office of Pesticide Programs | Office of Polar Programs
OPPA Office of Policy and Program Analysis | Office of Projects, Planning, and Analysis
OPPM Office of Planning and Performance Management (changed to OBPM)
OPPSD Office of Planning and Programming for Service Delivery
OPPT Office of Pollution Prevention and Toxics
OPPTB Obstetric and Pediatric Pharmacology and Therapeutics Branch
OPPTS Office of Prevention, Pesticides, and Toxic Substances (changed to OCSPP)
OPR Office of Petroleum Reserves | Office of Professional Responsibility | Office of Protected Resources | Senate Office of Public Records
OPRE Office of Planning, Research and Evaluation
OPRO Office of Planning, Resources, and Outreach (changed to OPM)
OPS Office of Pipeline Safety (older link archive) | Office of Private Sector
OPSO Office of Physical Sciences - Oncology
OPT Office of Pediatric Therapeutics
OPTF Obscenity Prosecution Task Force (absorbed into CEOS)
OPTN Organ Procurement and Transplantation Network
OPU Operational Projects Unit
ORA Office of Regulatory Affairs | Office of Research and Applications (changed to STAR)
ORACBA Office of Risk Assessment and Cost-Benefit Analysis
ORACLES ObseRvations of Aerosols above CLouds and their intEractionS
ORACW Office of Recovery for Auto Communities and Workers (unable to verify 7/14)
ORB Outcomes Research Branch
ORBA Office of Regional and Bilateral Affairs
ORCR Office of Resource Conservation and Recovery
ORD Office of Rare Diseases (changed to ORDR) | Office of Research and Development
ORDGMH Office for Research on Disparities and Global Mental Health
ORDR Office of Rare Diseases Research
ORE Office of Research and Evaluation
OREI Organic Agriculture Research and Extension Initiative
ORES Office of Research, Evaluation, and Statistics
ORHP Office of Rural Health Policy (changed to FORHP)
ORI Office of Research Integrity
ORIA Office of Radiation and Indoor Air
ORIP Office of Research Infrastructure Programs (older link archive)
ORISE Oak Ridge Institute for Science and Education
ORM Office of Research and Methodology | Office of Resolution Management
ORMH Office of Research on Minority Health (changed to OMHR, then to OSPD)
ORNL Oak Ridge National Laboratory
ORNL DACC Oak Ridge National Laboratory Distributed Active Archive Center
ORP Office of River Protection
ORPB Outbreak Response and Prevention Branch
ORPM Office of Regulatory Policy and Management
OR&R Office of Response and Restoration
ORR Office of Refugee Resettlement | Office of Response and Recovery | Office of Response and Restoration
ORSC Obesity Research Strategic Core (unable to verify 2/16)
ORTA Office of Research and Technology Applications (changed to TPO)
ORWH Office of Research on Women's Health
OSA Office of Survivors Assistance | Office of the Science Advisor
OSAC Overseas Security Advisory Council
OSBP Office of Small Business Programs (see OSDBU)
OSC Office of Space Commercialization | Office of Special Counsel | Office of Special Counsel for Immigration-Related Unfair Employment Practices (changed to IER) | Office of Strategic Coordination | Office of Sustainable Communities | Open Source Center (changed to OSE)
OSCC Southern California Geographic Area Coordination Center
OSCP Office of Science Coordination and Policy
OSD Office of the Scientific Director | Office of Systems Development (changed to OPPA) | Office of the Secretary of Defense (older link archive)
OSDBU Office of Small and Disadvantaged Business Utilization
OSDFS Office of Safe and Drug-Free Schools (changed to OSHS)
OSDPD Office of Satellite Data Processing and Distribution (merged into OSPO)
OSE Office of Science Education | Open Source Enterprise
OSEC Office of the Secretary (Dept. of Labor)
OSELS Office of Surveillance, Epidemiology, and Laboratory Services (changed to CSELS)
OSEM Office of Strategic Environmental Management
OSEOD Office of Strategic Employee and Organization Development
OSEP Office of Special Education Programs
OSERS Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services
OSF Office of Space Flight (changed to Office of Space Operations, then to HEO)
OSFAP Office of Student Financial Assistance Programs (changed to FSA)
OSG Office of Self-Governance (older link archive) | Office of the Solicitor General | Office of the Surgeon General
OSH Office of Occupational Safety and Health | Office on Smoking and Health
OSHA Occupational Safety and Health Administration | Office of Special Health Affairs (unable to verify)
OSHC Office of Sustainable Housing and Communities (unable to verify 2/14; likely changed to Office of Sustainable Communities)
OSHE Office of Safety, Health, and Environment
OSHRC Occupational Safety and Health Review Commission
OSHS Office of Safe and Healthy Students
OSI Office of Special Investigations (merged into HRSP)
OSIM Office of Scientific Information Management
OSLTC Office of State, Local and Tribal Coordination (unable to verify 11/16)
OSM Office of Spectrum Management
OSMA Office of Safety and Mission Assurance (older link archive)
OSMO Office of Science Management and Operations
OSMP Office of Special Medical Programs
OSMR Office of Survey Methods Research
OSMRE Office of Surface Mining Reclamation and Enforcement
OSO Oak Ridge National Laboratory Site Office | Office of Satellite Operations (merged into OSPO) | Office of Space Operations (changed to HEO)
OSP Office of Science Policy | Office of Strategic Planning and Policy Analysis
OSPA Office of Science Planning and Assessment (defunct)
OSPAC Office of Science Policy, Analysis and Communication (changed to OSPRA)
OSPC Office of Science Policy and Communications
OSPD Office of Special Programs in Diversity (unable to verify 5/16)
OSPO Office of Satellite and Product Operations
OSPRA Office of Science Policy, Reporting, and Program Analysis
OSQI Office of Science Quality and Integrity
OSQR Office of Scientific Quality Review
OSRTI Office of Superfund Remediation and Technology Innovation
OSS Office of State Support | Office of Strategic Services
OST Office of Secure Transportation | Office of the Special Trustee for American Indians
OSTI Office of Scientific and Technical Information
OSTLTS Office for State, Tribal, Local and Territorial Support
OSTM Ocean Surface Topography Mission
OSTP Office of Science and Technology Policy (older link archive)
OST-R Office of the Assistant Secretary for Research and Technology
OSWER Office of Solid Waste and Emergency Response (changed to OLEM)
OT Office of Trade