Skip to main content

GovSpeak: A Guide to U.S. Government Acronyms & Abbreviations: H

The most current, extensive and fully-linked listing of U.S. government agency, office, program and publication acronyms.

H

H Bureau of Legislative Affairs
HAB Harmful Algal Blooms | HIV/AIDS Bureau
HABS Historic American Buildings Survey
HAC Division of Health Care Access and Coverage | Health Administration Center (absorbed into CBOPC)
HACCP Hazard Analysis Critical Control Point
HAER Historic American Engineering Record
HALS Historic American Landscapes Survey
HAMB HIV and AIDS Malignancy Branch
HAN Health Alert Network
HARB Healthcare Assessment Research Branch
HARP Home Affordable Refinance Program
HATS Halocarbons and other Atmospheric Trace Species Group
HBB Health Behavior Branch
HBP Highway Bridge Program (reverted to HBRRP)
HBRB Health Behaviors Research Branch
HBRRP Highway Bridge Replacement and Rehabilitation Program (changed to HBP, then reverted to HBRRP)
HBRT HIPAA Breach Reporting Tool
HCAAF Human Capital Assessment and Accountability Framework
HCFA Health Care Financing Administration (changed to CMS)
HCFAC Health Care Fraud and Abuse Control Program
HCIC Hurricane Contracting Information Center (unable to verify 2/09)
HCIRB Health Communication and Informatics Research Branch
HCMI Human Cancer Models Initiative
HCP Habitat Conservation Plan
HCS Hazard Communication Standard
HCSA Healthcare and Social Assistance
HCSD Health Communication Science Digest
HCUP Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project
HCV Office of Housing Choice Vouchers (older link archive)
HDGDC Historical Dietary Guidance Digital Collection
HDI Health Data Interactive (discontinued 7/16)
HDP Heritage Documentation Programs
HDRP Healthcare Delivery Research Program
HDW HRSA Data Warehouse
HEALS Healthy Eating and Active LifeStyles
HEASARC High Energy Astrophysics Science Archive Research Center
HECAT Health Education Curriculum Analysis Tool
HEI Healthy Eating Index
HELP Commission Commission on Helping to Enhance the Livelihood of People around the Globe (defunct)
HEMS HUD Enforcement Management System (older link archive)
HEMU Health Economics and Modeling Unit
HEO Human Exploration and Operations Mission Directorate (older link archive)
HEP High Energy Physics Program | High School Equivalency Program | Office of Planning, Environment, and Realty
HERD Higher Education Research and Development Survey
HERO Health and Environmental Research Online
HESN Higher Education Solutions Network
HF Human Factors Division | Hydraulic Fracturing
HFD Human Factors/Behavioral Sciences Division (unable to verify 5/14)
HFIR High Flux Isotope Reactor
HFP Division of Health Care Financing Policy
HFRP Haitian Family Reunification Parole Program | Healthy Forests Reserve Program
HGP Human Genetics Program
HHE Health Hazard Evaluation Program
HHF Hardest Hit Fund
HHI Healthy Homes Initiative (older link archive)
HHRA Human Health Risk Assessment
HHS Department of Health and Human Services
HHTS Healthy Homes Technical Studies
HiAP Health in All Policies
HIC Housing Inventory Count
HIDTA High Intensity Drug Trafficking Area (defunct or inactive 1/17, WH transition)
HIE Health Information Exchange
HIFCA High Intensity Financial Crime Area
HIFLD Homeland Infrastructure Foundation-Level Data Working Group
HINTS Health Information National Trends Survey
HIP Housing Improvement Program (older link archive) | Migratory Bird Harvest Information Program
HIPAA Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act
HIPDB Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank (archive; merged into NPDB 5/13)
HIS Hydrographic and Impairment Statistics
HISPC Health Information Security and Privacy Collaboration
HIU Humanitarian Information Unit
HIV/AIDS Divisions of HIV/AIDS Prevention
HIW Health Indicators Warehouse (discontinued 6/16)
HKNC Helen Keller National Center
HL Hydrology Laboratory
HMDA Home Mortgage Disclosure Act
HMEP Hazardous Materials Emergency Preparedness (older link archive)
HMGP Hazard Mitigation Grant Program
HMI Healthy Marriage Initiative (archive)
HML Hollings Marine Laboratory (older link archive)
HMRF Healthy Marriage & Responsible Fatherhood
HMRS Healthy Meals Resource System
HOME HOME Investment Partnerships Program
HOMR Historical Observing Metadata Repository
HOPWA Housing Opportunities for Persons with AIDS
HOS Health Outcomes Survey
HP Office of Health Policy
HPC Hydrometeorological Prediction Center (changed to WPC; see archive)
HPCC High Performance Computing and Communications (unable to verify 12/12)
HPD Hourly Precipitation Data
HPDP Health Promotion/Disease Prevention
HPI House Price Index
HPP Hospital Preparedness Program
HPS Heritage Preservation Services (unable to verify 5/11)
HPSA Health Professional Shortage Areas
HQO Division of Health Care Quality and Outcomes
HRC Homelessness Resource Center
HRCCT Health Resources County Comparison Tool (changed to HRCT)
HRCPO HR Connect Program Office
HRCT Health Resources Comparison Tool (unable to access 2/17)
HRD Hurricane Research Division
HRDF Human Rights and Democracy Fund
HREB Hormonal and Reproductive Epidemiology Branch (unable to verify 5/16; likely changed to MEB)
HR LOB Human Resources Line of Business
HRP Human Research Program
HRSA Health Resources and Services Administration
HRSP Human Rights and Special Prosecutions Section
HRT Hostage Rescue Team
HRVWCU Human Rights Violators and War Crimes Unit
HS&B High School & Beyond
HSAC Homeland Security Advisory Council
HSARPA Homeland Security Advanced Research Projects Agency
HSAS Homeland Security Advisory System (replaced by NTAS)
HSB Head Start Bureau (changed to OHS) | Health Studies Branch | Healthcare Systems Bureau
HSDL Homeland Security Digital Library
HSEB Health Services and Economics Branch (replaced by HARB)
HSEEP Homeland Security Exercise and Evaluation Program (older link archive)
HSGAC U.S. Senate Committee on Homeland Security & Governmental Affairs
HSGI High School Graduation Initiative
HSGP Homeland Security Grant Program
HSI Hispanic-Serving Institutions Division | Homeland Security Investigations
HSIN Homeland Security Information Network
HSINAC Homeland Security Information Network Advisory Committee (unable to verify 11/17)
HSIP Highway Safety Improvement Program | Homeland Security Infrastructure Program
HSIPR High-Speed Intercity Passenger Rail Program
HSIRB Health Systems and Interventions Research Branch
HSOC Homeland Security Operations Center (unable to verify 3/12)
HSP Office of Human Services Policy
HSPC Homeland Security Policy Council (older link archive)
HSPP Human Subjects Protection Program
HSR Health Services Research
HSR&D Health Services Research & Development
HSRB Hazardous Substances Research Branch | Human Studies Review Board
HSRIC Health Services Research Information Central
HSS Office of Health, Safety and Security (divided into IEA and EHSS 5/14)
HSSTAC Homeland Security Science and Technology Advisory Committee
HST High School Transcript Studies
HSWG Human Subjects Working Group (changed to HSPP)
HTF Housing Trust Fund
HTPU Human Trafficking Prosecution Unit
HTS Harmonized Tariff Schedule
HUBZone Historically Underutilized Business Zones
HUD Department of Housing and Urban Development (older link archive) | Humanitarian Use Device
HUD-VASH HUD Veteran Affairs Supportive Housing Program
HVRP Homeless Veterans Reintegration Program
HVS Housing Vacancy Survey
HVU HUD Virtual University (older link archive)
HWM Health and Wellness Manager
HyspIRI Hyperspectral Infrared Imager