Skip to main content

GovSpeak: A Guide to U.S. Government Acronyms & Abbreviations: C

The most current, extensive and fully-linked listing of U.S. government agency, office, program and publication acronyms.

C

CAN Cures Acceleration Network
CAOC Chief Acquisition Officers Council (earlier link)
CAP Client Assistance Program | Criminal Alien Program | Cross-Agency Performance Goals (inactive; older link archive)
CAPP Coastal Aquaculture Planning Portal (older link archive)
CAPPS II Computer Assisted Passenger Prescreening System (unable to verify; see GAO Report)
CAPS Cooperative Agricultural Pest Survey
CAPT Center for the Application of Prevention Technologies
CAPUS Care and Prevention in the United States
CAR Climate Action Report (archived)
CARDS Computer Access to Research on Dietary Supplements
CARE Community Action for a Renewed Environment
CARS Car Allowance Rebate System (defunct) | Central Accounting Reporting System
CART Community Assessment Reporting Tool
CARVE Carbon in Arctic Reservoirs Vulnerability Experiment
CASAC Clean Air Scientific Advisory Committee
CASC Center for Applied Scientific Computing
CASL Consortium for Advanced Simulation of Light Water Reactors
CASMIRC Child Abduction and Serial Murder Investigative Resources Center
CASOM Comprehensive Approaches to Sex Offender Management Program
CASPIR CDC and ATSDR Specimen Packaging, Inventory and Repository (unable to verify 8/14)
CASTNET Clean Air Status and Trends Network
CASU Cooperative Administrative Support Units (defunct)
CAT Chemical Catalysis
CATC Clean Air Technology Center | College Affordability and Transparency Center
CATR Office of Conventional Arms Threat Reduction
CatReg Categorical Regression Analysis
CATS Cloud-Aerosol Transport System
CAVC United States Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims
CAWSC California Water Science Center
CD Climatological Data | Compliance Division, OGE | Counterintelligence Division
CDAC Commerce Data Advisory Council
CDAP Center for Disability and Aging Policy (changed to CIP)
CDAT Climate Data Analysis Tools (merged into UV-CDAT)
CDBB Child Development and Behavior Branch
CDBG Community Development Block Grants
CDBPR Center for Developmental Biology & Perinatal Research (absorbed into DER)
CDBS Consolidated Database System
CDC Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
CDCO Corporate Data Center Operations (changed to EO)
CDC WONDER CDC Wide-ranging Online Data for Epidemiologic Research
CDD Conserved Domains Database
CDDB Contraceptive Discovery and Development Branch (changed to CRB)
CDDIS Crustal Dynamics Data Information System
CDER Center for Drug Evaluation and Research
CDFI Community Development Financial Institutions
CDHC Coral Disease & Health Consortium
CDIAC Carbon Dioxide Information Analysis Center (older link archive)
CDIP Crash Data Improvement Program
CDL Commercial Driver's License Program | Cropland Data Layer
CDM Continuous Diagnostics and Mitigation
CDNS Climatological Data National Summary
CDO Climate Data Online
CDOM Center for Delivery, Organization, and Markets
CDP Center for Domestic Preparedness
CDR Chemical Data Reporting | Climate Data Record Program
CDRH Center for Devices and Radiological Health
CDS Capability Development Support | Cataloging Distribution Service
CDSI Conservation Delivery Streamlining Initiative (unable to verify)
CDUP Commerce Data Usability Project
CDX EPA Central Data Exchange
CE Consumer Expenditure Survey
CEA Council of Economic Advisers (older link archive)
CEAC Consular Electronic Application Center
CEAM Center for Exposure Assessment Modeling
CEAP Conservation Effects Assessment Project
CEBAF Continuous Electron Beam Accelerator Facility
CEBB Customs Electronic Bulletin Board (migrated to CBP)
CEC Commission for Environmental Cooperation
CECA Center of Excellence on Children in Adversity
CECC Congressional-Executive Commission on China
CED Community Economic Development Program
CEDI Cumulative Estimated Daily Intakes
CEDR Comprehensive Epidemiologic Data Resource
CEDS Common Education Data Standards
CEE Consumer Education and Engagement Division (older link archive)
CEHTP California Environmental Health Tracking Program
CEI Climate Extremes Index
CEIC Clean Energy Investment Center (changed to EIC)
CEMP Community Environmental Monitoring Program
CEN Bureau of the Census
CENC Commission on Enhancing National Cybersecurity
CENDI Federal STI Managers Group (formerly Commerce, Energy, NASA, Defense Information Managers Group)
CENRS NSTC Committee on Environment, Natural Resources, and Sustainability (defunct or inactive 1/17, WH transition)
CEO Chief Evaluation Office
CEOS Child Exploitation and Obscenity Section
CEP Community Eligibility Provision
CEPI Center for Evidence and Practice Improvement
CEPPO Chemical Emergency Preparedness and Prevention Office (unable to verify 12/15)
CEPS Center for Earth and Planetary Studies
CEQ Council on Environmental Quality (defunct or inactive 1/17, WH transition)
CER Comparative Effectiveness Research
CERC Columbia Environmental Research Center | Crisis & Emergency Risk Communication
CERCLIS Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation, & Liability Information System (defunct; replaced by SEMS)
CERT Community Emergency Response Teams (older link archive) | Comprehensive Error Rate Testing
CES Center for Economic Studies | Current Employment Statistics
CESD Climate and Environmental Sciences Division
CFA Commission of Fine Arts
CFACT Center for Financing, Access, and Cost Trends
CFAR Centers for AIDS Research
CFATS Chemical Facility Anti-Terrorism Standards
CFBCI Center for Faith-Based and Community Initiatives (changed to CFBNP)
CFBNP Center for Faith-Based and Neighborhood Partnerships
CFDA Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance
C-FERST Community-Focused Exposure and Risk Screening Tool
CFFR Consolidated Federal Funds Report
CFIUS Committee on Foreign Investments in the United States
CFL Computers for Learning
CFLHD Central Federal Lands Highway Division
CFLR Collaborative Forest Landscape Restoration
CFM Census Flows Mapper | Division of Contracting & Facilities Management (FWS)
CFN Center for Functional Nanomaterials
CFO Chief Financial Officers Council
CFOC Chief Financial Officers Council
CFP Climate Friendly Parks Program
CFPB Consumer Financial Protection Bureau
CFPCGP Community Food Projects Competitive Grant Program
CFR Code of Federal Regulations
CFRP Cuban Family Reunification Parole Program
CFS Commodity Flow Survey
CFSAC Chronic Fatigue Syndrome Advisory Committee
CFSAN National Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition
CFSRs Child and Family Services Reviews (older link archive)
CFSRU Counterterrorism and Forensic Science Research Unit
CFTC Commodity Futures Trading Commission
CG Comptroller General of the United States
CGAHR Center for Grain and Animal Health Research
CGB Cancer Genetics Branch (changed to CGCGB) | Clinical Genetics Branch | Consumer & Governmental Affairs Bureau (older link archive)
CGCGB Cancer Genetics and Comparative Genomics Branch
CGCI Cancer Genome Characterization Initiative
CGFS Bureau of the Comptroller and Global Financial Services
CGH Center for Global Health
CGP Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
CGS Center for Global Security
CI Computation Institute (older link archive) | Criminal Investigation (older link archive) | Office of Congressional and Intergovernmental Affairs
CIA Central Intelligence Agency
CIADM Centers for Innovation in Advanced Development and Manufacturing
CIAO Critical Infrastructure Assurance Office (see NIAC)
CIAP Coastal Impact Assistance Program
CIB Clinical Investigations Branch
CIC Census Information Centers | Consumer Information Center
CIC/AG Counterintelligence Center Analysis Group (unable to verify 2/17)
CICA U.S.-Mexico Border Information Center on Air Pollution
CICP Countermeasures Injury Compensation Program
CIDA Center for Integrated Data Analytics (archive; changed to OWI)
C-IEDS Counter-IED Section
CI-FLOW Coatal and Inland Flooding Observation and Warning Project
CIFS Center for Innovative Finance Support
CIG Conservation Innovation Grants
CIGIE Council of the Inspectors General on Integrity and Efficiency
CIGP Citizenship and Integration Grant Program (changed to Citizenship and Assimilation Grant Program)
CIH Crop Insurance Handbook
CIHS Center for Integrated Health Solutions (older link archive)
CIMC Cleanups in My Community
CINDRR Center of Innovation on Disability and Rehabilitation Research
CINMS Channel Islands National Marine Sancturary
CINT Center for Integrated Nanotechnologies
CIO Council Chief Information Officers Council
CIOC Chief Information Officers Council
CIP Cancer Imaging Program | Cataloging in Publication | Center for Integrated Programs (older link archive)
CIPRIS Coordinated Interagency Partnership Regulating International Students (see SEVIS)
CIR Current Industrial Reports
CIRA Climate Change Impacts and Risks Analysis
CIRG Critical Incident Response Group
CIS Cancer Information Service (changed to NCI Contact Center)
CISE Directorate for Computer & Information Science & Engineering
CIT Center for Information Technology | United States Court of International Trade (older link archive)
CITA Committee for the Implementation of Textile Agreements (unable to verify 2/16)
CITES Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora
Cities-LEAP Cities Leading through Energy Analysis and Planning
CIV Civil Division
CJIS Criminal Justice Information Services
CLA Center for Legislative Archives
CLARREO Climate Absolute Radiance and Refractivity Observatory
CLAS Culturally and Linguistically Appropriate Services
CLASS Center for the Library's Analytical Scientific Samples | Comprehensive Large Array-Data Stewardship System (older link archive)
CLCCHC Center for Linguistic and Cultural Competency in Health Care
CLD Center for Leadership Development | Contract Law Division
CLDP Commercial Law Development Program
CLEAR Clearinghouse for Labor Evaluation and Research
CLG Certified Local Government
CLIA Clinical Laboratory Improvement Amendments
CLILL Clinical Investigator Inspection List
Climate R&D Climate Research and Development Program
CLP Chemistry of Life Processes
CLU Climate and Land Use Change
CMAQ Congestion Mitigation and Air Quality Improvement Program
CMB Clinical/Medical Branch
CMBC Creative Media and Broadcast Center (older link archive)
CMCS Center for Medicaid and CHIP Services
CMECS Coastal and Marine Ecological Classification Standard (older link archive)
CMEDE Center for Materials in Extreme Dynamic Environments
CMEL Center for Management and Executive Leadership (changed to FAA University; unable to verify 11/14)
CMGDS Coastal and Marine Geoscience Data System
CMGP Coastal and Marine Geology Program
CMHS Center for Mental Health Services
CMIP Coupled Model Intercomparison Project (older link archive)
CMMD Condensed Matter and Materials Division (changed to MSD)
CMMI Division of Civil, Mechanical and Manufacturing Innovation
CMO Certificate Management Offices | Congressional Members Organization
CMOP Coalbed Methane Outreach Program
CMOR Climate Model Output Rewriter (unable to verify 5/15)
CMRP Clinical Monitoring Research Program
CMS Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services
CMSHS Center for Maritime Safety and Health Studies
CMSI Crop Moisture Stress Index
CMSP Coastal and Marine Spatial Planning
CMTS Committee on the Marine Transportation System
CMU Crisis Management Unit
CMV Center for Minority Veterans
CMVS Center for Motor Vehicle Safety
COAC Advisory Committee on Commercial Operations of the Customs and Border Protection
COAST Coastal Ocean Assessments, Status, and Trends (unable to verify 5/16)
COBRA Consolidated Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act
CoC Continuum of Care Program
COCA Clinician Outreach and Communication Activity | Coastal and Ocean Climate Applications (older link archive)
CoCASA Comprehensive Clinic Assessment Software Application
CoCHP Coordinating Center for Health Promotion (defunct)
CODIS Combined DNA Index System
COE Center for Outcomes and Evidence (merged into CEPI) | Grants Center of Excellence
COGH Coordinating Office for Global Health (changed to CGH)
COL Cooperative Oxford Laboratory (older link archive)
COLC Copyright Office, Library of Congress
COMBAT Commercial Building Analysis Tool for Energy-Efficient Retrofits
CONPLAN U.S. Government Interagency Domestic Terrorism Concept of Operations Plan (.pdf)
CONSER Cooperative Online Serials
COOL Country of Origin Labeling
COOP Continuity of Operations (older link archive) | Cooperative Observer Network
CO-OP Consumer Operated and Oriented Plan
CO-OPS Center for Operational Oceanographic Products and Services
CoP Conference of the Parties
COPAG Cosmic Origins Program Analysis Group
COPR Council of Public Representatives (unable to verify 11/14)
COPS Office of Community Oriented Policing Services
COPs/ROPs Country Operational Plans
COR Cosmic Origins Program
CORAL COral Reef Airborne Laboratory
CORD CDC Online Resource Directory
CORE Network Coordinated Outbreak Response and Evaluation Network
Core SVIPP Core State Violence and Injury Prevention Program
Core VIPP Core Violence and Injury Prevention Program (changed to Core SVIPP)
CoRIS Coral Reef Information System
CORP Corporation for National and Community Service
CORS Continuously Operating Reference Stations
CoS NSTC Committee on Science (defunct or inactive 1/17, WH transition)
COS Report of Organization
COSIM Climate, Ocean and Sea Ice Modeling (unable to verify 12/16)
CoSTEM NSTC Committee on Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math Education (defunct or inactive 1/17, WH transition)
CoT NSTC Committee on Technology (defunct or inactive 1/17, WH transition)
COTPER Coordinating Office for Terrorism Preparedness & Emergency Response (defunct)
COTS Cotton, Oilseeds, Tobacco and Seeds Division (unable to verify 12/13)
CP Chemistry and Pharmacology Branch
CP3 Center for Primary Care, Prevention, and Clinical Partnerships (merged into CEPI)
CPARD Certification Plan and Reporting Database
CPARS Contractor Performance Assessment Reporting System
CPB Chemistry and Pharmaceutics Branch | Corporation for Public Broadcasting
CPC Climate Prediction Center | Cooperative Patent Classification
CPCat Chemical and Product Categories
CPD Correctional Programs Division | Office of Community Planning and Development (older link archive)
CPDB Carcinogenic Potency Database
CPEX Census Program for Evaluations and Experiments
CPGL Conservation of Private Grazing Land
CPGM Compliance Program Guidance Manual
CPH Census of Population and Housing
CPHC Central Pacific Hurricane Center
CPHST Center for Plant Health Science and Technology
CPI Center for Program Integrity | Consumer Price Index | Counter-Proliferation Investigations | Office of Counter-Proliferation Initiatives
CPNI Customer Proprietary Network Information
CPO Climate Program Office | Coral Protocols Online | Corrections Program Office (now part of BJA)
CPONDER CDC’s PRAMS Online Data for Epidemiologic Research (discontinued: replaced by PRAMStat)
CPP Capital Purchase Program | Clean Power Plan (older link archive)
CPPBSD Committee for Purchase From People Who Are Blind or Severely Disabled (aka "U.S. AbilityOne Commission")
CPPD Climate Protection Partnerships Division (unable to verify 9/15)
CPPM Crop Protection and Pest Management Program
CPPW Communities Putting Prevention to Work Program
CPR Center for Population Research (absorbed into DER)
CPRC Conflict Prevention and Resolution Center
CPRS Construction Progress Reporting Survey
CPS Child Passenger Safety (replaced by Parents Central, then Parents and Caregivers) | Current Population Survey
CPSC Consumer Product Safety Commission
CPS-FSS Current Population Survey Food Security Supplement
CPSO Cataloging Policy and Support Office (changed to PSD)
CPSRB Chemistry and Physiological Systems Research Branch (changed to CP)
CPVA Child Pornography Victim Assistance
CQuIPS Center for Quality Improvement and Patient Safety
CRA Community Reinvestment Act
CRAD Compliance Risk Analysis Division
CRB Contraception Research Branch | Copyright Royalty Board (older link archive)
CRC Cancer, Reproductive, Cardiovascular, and Other Chronic Disease Prevention Program | Civil Rights Center
CRCC Strategy Cultural Resources Climate Change Strategy
CRCCP Colorectal Cancer Control Program
CRCHD Center to Reduce Cancer Health Disparities
CRCL Office for Civil Rights and Civil Liberties
CRCP Coral Reef Conservation Program
CRDC Civil Rights Data Collection
CRDP Cataloging Record Distribution Program
CRE Climate Ready Estuaries
CreDS Credentialing Distribution System
CRENL Commission to Review the Effectiveness of the National Energy Laboratories
CREP Conservation Reserve Enhancement Program
CREST CIA Records Search Tool
CREW Continuous Reliability Enhancement for Wind (older link archive)
CRF Combustion Research Facility
CRGB Clinical Research Grants Branch
CRGR Committee to Review Generic Requirements
CRH Contraception & Reproductive Health Branch (changed to CDDB, then CRB)
CRHP Civil Rights History Project
CRIS Center for Risk & Integrated Sciences (unable to verify 12/13) | Current Research Information System
CRISP Computer Retrieval of Information on Scientific Projects (merged into RePORT)
CRM Criminal Division | Cultural Resources Management
CRMC Center for Research for Mothers & Children (absorbed into DER)
CROMERR Cross-Media Electronic Reporting Rule
CROSS Customs Rulings Online Search System
CRP Conservation Reserve Program
CRPDG Compensation Research and Program Development Group
CRS Community Relations Service | Congressional Research Service
CRSCI Climate-Ready States and Cities Initiative
CRSRA Commercial Remote Sensing Regulatory Affairs
CRT Climate Resilience Toolkit
CRWU Creating Resilient Water Utilities
CS U.S. Commercial Service
CS&C Office of Cybersecurity and Communications
CSAC Chemical Security Analysis Center | Citizens' Stamp Advisory Committee
CSAP Center for Substance Abuse Prevention
CSAPR Cross-State Air Pollution Rule
CSAT Center for Substance Abuse Treatment
CSB U.S. Chemical Safety Board
CSBG Cell and Structural Biology Group | Community Services Block Grant
CSC Climate Science Centers | NOAA Coastal Services Center (merged into OCM)
CSCE Commission on Security and Cooperation in Europe (Helsinki Commission)
CSCOR Center for Sponsored Coastal Ocean Research (unable to verify 10/17)
CSD Chemical Sciences Division (LLNL) (changed to NACS) | Chemical Sciences Division (NOAA) | Cyber Security Division
CSDL Coast Survey Development Laboratory
CSE Office of Child Support Enforcement (changed to OCSE)
CSELS Center for Surveillance, Epidemiology and Laboratory Services (older link archive)
CSEM Case Studies in Environmental Medicine
CSEPP Chemical Stockpile Emergency Preparedness Program
CSFP Commodity Supplemental Food Program
CSGB Computational and Statistical Genomics Branch
CSGCL Crop Systems and Global Change Lab (changed to ACSL)
CSI Center for the Study of Intelligence | Climate and Societal Interactions Division (older link archive) |
Computational Science Initiative | Conservation Study Institute (changed to Stewardship Institute)
CSN Consumer Sentinel Network
CSO Bureau of Conflict and Stabilization Operations | Congressional Staff Organization
CSOS Controlled Substance Ordering System
CSOSA Court Services and Offender Supervision Agency for the District of Columbia
CSP Charter Schools Program | Community Science Program | Conservation Stewardship Program
CSPR Consolidated State Performance Reports
CSR Center for Scientific Review | Comprehensive School Reform Program
CSRC Computer Security Resource Center
CSREES Cooperative State Research, Education, and Extension Service (changed to NIFA)
CSRS Call Sign Reservation and Authorization System
CSS Crime and Safety Surveys
CSSI Center for Strategic Scientific Initiatives
CSSR Climate Science Special Report
CSTL Chemical Science & Technology Laboratory (merged into MML)