Skip to main content

GovSpeak: A Guide to U.S. Government Acronyms & Abbreviations: A

The most current, extensive and fully-linked listing of U.S. government agency, office, program and publication acronyms.

A

21CW Office of the 21st Century Workforce (unable to verify)
3CT Climate Change Communication Toolkit
3DEP 3D Elevation Program
AAA Archives of American Art
AAB Agency Assistance Branch
AABS Annual Arts Basic Survey
AAD Access to Archival Databases
AADAP Aquatic Animal Drug Approval Partnership
AAI Argonne Accelerator Institute (older link archive)
AAM Office of Aerospace Medicine
AAO Administrative Appeals Office
AAP Advanced Acquisition Plan
AAPC Accounting and Auditing Policy Committee
AAPI Initiative on Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders (defunct or inactive 1/17, WH transition)
AAQTF Agricultural Air Quality Task Force
AAS Office of Airport Safety and Standards
AAVP Advanced Air Vehicles Program
AAWU Alaska Aviation Weather Unit (older link archive)
ABA Acquisitions and Bibliographic Access Directorate
ABADRU Arthropod-borne Animal Disease Research Unit
ABC At Risk Individuals, Behavioral Health, and Human Services Coordination
ABCC Advanced Biomedical Computing Center
ABCD Adolescent Brain Cognitive Development Study (older link archive)
ABLES Adult Blood Lead Epidemiology & Surveillance
ABMC American Battle Monuments Commission
ABPP American Battlefield Protection Program
AC Animal Care
AC4 Atmospheric Chemistry, Carbon Cycle, & Climate (older link archive)
ACA Affordable Care Act
ACCE Airborne Cloud Computing Environment
ACCLPP Advisory Committee on Childhood Lead Poisoning Prevention
ACCSH Advisory Committee on Construction Safety and Health
ACCV Advisory Commission on Childhood Vaccines
ACD Advanced Counterfeit Deterrence (unable to verify 7/17; see alternate site)
ACE Academic Center of Excellence (changed to YVPCs) | Advanced Composition Explorer |
Adverse Childhood Experiences | Aerosols, Clouds, Ecosystems | America's Children and the Environment |
Assess Costs Everywhere | Automated Commercial Environment (older link archive)
ACEC Areas of Critical Environmental Concern
ACES Active Community Environments Initiative (unable to verify) | Annual Capital Expenditures Survey
ACF Administration for Children and Families
ACFR Administrative Committee of the Federal Register
ACFRC Advisory Committee on Family Residential Centers
ACHP Advisory Council on Historic Preservation
ACI Advanced Cyberinfrastructure (changed to OAC)
ACIP Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices
ACIS Animal Care Information System (unavailable as of 8/16)
ACL Administration for Community Living | Analytical Chemistry Laboratory
ACMAP Atmospheric Composition Modeling and Analysis Program
ACMUI Advisory Committee on the Medical Uses of Isotopes
ACOs Aircraft Certification Offices
ACPD Advisory Commission on Public Diplomacy
AcqNet Acquisition Central
ACRES Assessment, Cleanup and Redevelopment Exchange System
ACRS Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards
ACS American Community Survey | Office of American Citizens Services and Crisis Management
ACSFA Advisory Committee on Student Financial Assistance (defunct)
ACSL Adaptive Cropping Systems Laboratory
ACSNCA Advisory Committee for the Sustained National Climate Assessment (also, SNCAFAC)
ACT-America Atmospheric Carbon and Transport - America
ACTION II Accelerating Change and Transformation in Organizations and Networks II
ACToR Aggregated Computational Toxicology Online Resource
ACU Animal Care and Use
ACUS Administrative Conference of the United States
ACVP AIDS and Cancer Virus Program (site now requires login)
ACWI Advisory Committee on Water Information
ACWS Advisory Committee for Women's Services (older link archive)
ACWV Advisory Committee on Women Veterans
ACYF Administration on Children, Youth, and Families
ADA Americans with Disabilities Act (Text of ADA legislation)
ADAMS Agencywide Documents Access and Management System
ADC Program Against Digital Counterfeiting of Currency (changed to ACD)
ADD Administration on Developmental Disabilities (changed to AIDD)
ADDS Aviation Digital Data Service
ADEAR Alzheimer's Disease Education and Referral Center (older link archive)
ADF African Development Foundation
ADHS Appalachian Development Highway System
ADL Advanced Distributed Learning
ADMA Associate Director for Military Affairs
ADR Interagency Alternative Dispute Resolution Working Group
ADRO Alternative Dispute Resolution Office
ADS-B Automatic Dependent Surveillance-Broadcast
AEAP Antiterrorism and Emergency Assistance Program
AEDI Appalachia Economic Development Initiative
AEED Atmospheric, Earth, and Energy Division
AEG Aircraft Evaluation Groups
AEGL Acute Exposure Guideline Levels Program
AEO Annual Energy Outlook | Applied Economics Office
AES APS Engineering Support Division | Automated Export System
AF Bureau of African Affairs
AFC American Folklife Center
AFCARS Adoption and Foster Care Reporting and Analysis System
AFDC Aid to Families with Dependent Children (changed to TANF) | Alternative Fuels Data Center
AFF American FactFinder | Automated Flight Following
AFFH Affirmatively Furthering Fair Housing
AFG Assistance to Firefighters Grant Program
AFI Assets for Independence (older link archive)
AFM Administrative & Financial Management
AFMD Acquisition and Facilities Management Division
AFMER Annual Firearms Manufacturers And Export Report (older link archive)
AFMLS Asset Forfeiture and Money Laundering Section (changed to MLARS)
AFP Asset Forfeiture Program
AFPS American Forces Press Service (merged into DoD News)
AFRH Armed Forces Retirement Home
AFRI Agriculture and Food Research Initiative
AFRPS Animal Feed Regulatory Program Standards
AFS Air Facility System (unable to verify 2/16) | Armed Forces Sports
AFSC Alaska Fisheries Science Center
AFSIC Alternative Farming Systems Information Center
AFSP Alien Flight Student Program | Annual Filing Season Program
AFSS Animal Feed Safety System
AGDC Alaska Geospatial Data Clearinghouse (discontinued)
AgFF Agriculture, Forestry, and Fishing Program
AGID AGing Integrated Database
AGIL Animal Genomics and Improvement Laboratory
AGO Acquisition and Grants Office, NOAA | America's Great Outdoors Initiative (unable to verify 9/15)
AGRICOLA Agricultural OnLine Access
AGS Atmospheric and Geospace Sciences
AGWA Automated Geospatial Watershed Assessment
AHAR Annual Homeless Assessment Report
AHAW America's Heroes at Work
AHCPR Agency for Health Care Policy and Research (changed to AHRQ)
AHEC Area Health Education Centers
AHPP Alternative Housing Pilot Program
AHRC Advanced Housing Research Center
AHRF Area Health Resource Files (older link archive)
AHRQ Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
AHS American Housing Survey
AID Agency for International Development
AIDD Administration on Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities (older link archive)
AIDS Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome (older link archive)
AIEO American Indian Environmental Office
AIM Aeronomy of Ice in the Mesosphere
AILO American Indian Liaison Office
AIP Airport Improvement Program | Animal Improvement Program | Arctic Investigations Program
AIR Aircraft Certification Service
AirMSPI Airborne Multi-angle SpectroPolarimeter Imager
AIRS Aerometric Information Retrieval System (changed to AFS)
AIS Automatic Identification System
AK CSC Alaska Climate Science Center
ALAC Agricultural Labor Affairs Coordinator
ALCC Arctic Landscape Conservation Cooperative
ALCF Argonne Leadership Computing Facility
ALCP Assisted Living Conversion Program
ALFD Advertising, Labeling and Formulation Division
ALFRED Archival Federal Reserve Economic Data
ALIC Archives Library Information Center
ALOHA Areal Locations of Hazardous Atmospheres
ALS Academic Libraries Survey | Advanced Light Source
ALTBIB Alternatives to Animal Testing Bibliography
AMA Agricultural Management Assistance Program
AMB Administrative Management Branch | Assimilation and Modeling Branch (unable to verify 8/17)
AMBER America’s Missing: Broadcast Emergency Response
AMCG Office of Acquisitions Management, Contracts and Grants
AMD Advanced Molecular Detection
AME Aviation Medical Examiner
AMED African and Middle Eastern Division
AMES Ames Laboratory
AMH America's Marine Highway Program
AML Abandoned Mine Lands | Abandoned Mineral Lands
AMNPO Advanced Manufacturing National Program Office
AMO Advanced Manufacturing Office | Air and Marine Operations
AMP Accelerating Medicines Partnership
AMPD Air Markets Program Data
AMS Agricultural Marketing Service | Antitrust Modernization Commission (defunct; archived at UNT)
AMSO Ames Site Office
AMT Alternative Minimum Tax
AMTIC Ambient Monitoring Technology Information Center
Amtrak National Railroad Passenger Corporation
AS Acquisition Services
ASAC Applied Sciences Advisory Committee
ASAP Aerospace Safety Advisory Panel | Automated Standard Application for Payments
ASC Advanced Simulation and Computing | Alaska Science Center | Appraisal Subcommittee
ASCAC Advanced Scientific Computing Advisory Committee
ASCENDS Active Sensing of CO2 Emissions over Nights, Days, and Seasons
ASCR Advanced Scientific Computing Research
ASD Accelerator Systems Division | Astrophysics Science Division | Atomic Spectra Database
ASDC Atmospheric Science Data Center
ASE Annual Survey of Entrepreneurs
ASER Annual Site Environmental Report | Individual ASERs: Ames | ANL | BNL | LANL | LBL | LLNL | LM | NREL | PNNL | PPPL | Sandia | SRS
ASF DAAC Alaska Satellite Facility Distributed Active Archive Center
ASGC Atmospheric Sciences & Global Change
ASH Office of Security & Hazardous Materials Safety | Office of the Assistant Secretary for Health (changed to OASH)
ASHA American Schools and Hospitals Abroad
ASIAS Aviation Safety Information Analysis and Sharing
ASIWG Adaptation Science Interagency Working Group
ASJ Annual Survey of Jails
ASL Assistant Secretary for Legislation
ASLBP Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel
ASM Annual Survey of Manufactures | At-Sea Monitoring Program
ASO Argonne Site Office
ASOA Acquisition Support and Operations Analysis (replaced by CDS)
ASOS Automated Surface Observing System
ASP Airborne Science Program
ASPE Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation
ASPR Assistant Secretary for Preparedness and Response
ASR Atmospheric System Research
ASRS Aviation Safety Reporting System
AST Division of Astronomical Sciences | Office of Commercial Space Transportation
ASTEP Astrobiology Science & Technology for Exploring Planets (unable to verify 4/16)
ATA Office of Antiterrorism Assistance
ATCSCC Air Traffic Control System Command Center
ATDC Agency Transition Directors Council
ATDD Atmospheric Turbulence and Diffusion Division
ATDP Addiction Treatment Discovery Program
ATF Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms & Explosives
ATFE Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms & Explosives
ATIP Anti-Trafficking in Persons (changed to OTIP)
ATJ Access to Justice
ATLAS Argonne Tandem Linac Accelerator System
ATMB Analytic Tools and Methods Branch (merged into DPHID)
ATO Air Traffic Organization
ATom Atmospheric Tomography Mission
ATP Advanced Technology Program (unable to verify)
ATR Antitrust Division
ATRF Advanced Technology Research Facility
ATS Automated Targeting System
ATSD-IO Assistant to the Secretary of Defense for Intelligence Oversight (changed to DOD SIOO)
ATSDR Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry
ATTAINS Assessment and Total Maximum Daily Load Tracking and Implementation System
ATTREX Airborne Tropical TRopopause EXperiment
ATUS American Time Use Study
ATVM Advanced Technology Vehicles Manufacturing
ATW Air Toxics Web Site
AVC Bureau of Arms Control, Verification and Compliance
AVERT AVoided Emissions and geneRation Tool (older link archive)
AVRS AIDS Vaccine Research Subcommittee
AVS Aviation Safety
AWAE Air, Water, & Aquatic Environments Program
AWC Aviation Weather Center
AWEP Agricultural Water Enhancement Program
AWIC Animal Welfare Information Center
AWOS Automated Weather Observing System
AWTS Annual Wholesale Trade Survey