Skip to main content

GovSpeak: A Guide to U.S. Government Acronyms & Abbreviations: N

The most current, extensive and fully-linked listing of U.S. government agency, office, program and publication acronyms.

N

NAAL National Assessment of Adult Literacy
NAALC North American Agreement on Labor Cooperation
NAAMES North Atlantic Aerosols and Marine Ecosystems Study
NAAMP North American Amphibian Monitoring Program
NAAQS National Ambient Air Quality Standards
NABEC Native American Business Enterprise Center
NABMRR National Advisory Board on Medical Rehabilitation Research
NAC NASA Advisory Council | National Advisory Committee, EPA | National Agroforestry Center | National Audiovisual Center
NACCH National Assessment of Coastal Change Hazards
NACD Native American Consultation Database
NACEM North American Climate Extremes Monitoring
NACEPT National Advisory Council for Environmental Policy and Technology
NACHHD National Advisory Child Health and Human Development Council
NACIC National Counterintelligence Center (merged into ONCIX, then into NCSC)
NACIE National Advisory Council on Indian Education | National Advisory Council on Innovation and Entrepreneurship
NACO Name Authority Cooperative Program
NACOSH National Advisory Committee on Occupational Safety & Health
NACS Nuclear and Chemical Sciences Division
NACTEP Native American-Career and Technical Education Program
NAD National Address Database | National Appeals Division
NAEP National Assessment of Educational Progress
NAETC Native American Employment and Training Council
NAFRI National Advanced Fire and Resource Institute
NAFTA North American Free Trade Agreement
NAGB National Assessment Governing Board
NAGP National Animal Germplasm Program
NAGPRA National Native American Graves Protection and Repatriation Act
NAHLN National Animal Health Laboratory Network
NAHMS National Animal Health Monitoring System
NAHRS National Animal Health Reporting System
NAI NASA Astrobiology Institute
NAICS North American Industry Classification System
NAL National Agricultural Library
NALDC National Agricultural Library Digital Collections
NAMCS National Ambulatory Medical Care Survey (older link archive)
NamUs National Missing and Unidentified Persons System
NAO National Applications Office (defunct) | North Atlantic Oscillation
NAP Noninsured Crop Disaster Assistance Program
NAPAP National Acid Precipitation Assessment Program
NAPCS North American Product Classification System
NARA National Archives and Records Administration
NAREL National Analytical Radiation Environmental Laboratory
NARMS National Antimicrobial Resistance Monitoring System for Enteric Bacteria
NARR North American Regional Reanalysis
NARS National Aquatic Resource Surveys
NAS The National Academies | Nonindigenous Aquatic Species
NASA National Aeronautics and Space Administration
NASM National Air and Space Museum
NASNTI Native American-Serving Nontribal Institutions Program
NASS National Agricultural Statistics Service | National Automotive Sampling System
NATA National Air Toxics Assessment
NATCARB National Carbon Sequestration Database and Geographic Information System
NATO North Atlantic Treaty Organisation
NATTS National Air Toxics Trends Stations
NAVCEN Navigation Center
NAWQA National Water-Quality Assessment Program
NAWS National Agricultural Workers Survey (older link archive)
NBAC National Bioethics Advisory Commission (replaced by PCBE, then PCSBI)
NBACC National Biodefense Analysis and Countermeasures Center
NBAF National Bio and Agro-Defense Facility
NBB Nutritional Biomarkers Branch
NBC National Business Center (changed to IBC)
NBCCEDP National Breast and Cervical Cancer Early Detection Program
NBFAC National Bioforensic Analysis Center (merged into NBACC)
NBHQF National Behavioral Health Quality Framework
NBI National Bridge Inventory
NBIC National Biosurveillance Integration Center
NBII National Biological Information Infrastructure (defunct as of 1/12)
NBIS National Bridge Inspection Standards
NBL New Brunswick Laboratory
NBM National Broadband Map
NBO NOAA Budget Office
NBPI Northern Border Prosecution Initiative
NBR National Bison Range
NBRC Northern Border Regional Commission
NBS National Beneficiary Survey
NBSB National Biodefense Science Board (changed to NPRSB)
NBSDB National Building Stone Database
NBTCC National Biological Threat Characterization Center (merged into NBACC)
NCA National Cemetery Administration | National Climate Assessment
NCACA National Capital Arts and Cultural Affairs
NCADAC National Climate Assessment & Development Advisory Committee
NCANDS National Child Abuse and Neglect Data System
NCAP New Car Assessment Program
NCAR National Center for Atmospheric Research
NCATS National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences
NCAUR National Center for Agricultural Utilization Research
NCAVC National Center for the Analysis of Violent Crime
NCBDDD National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities (older link archive)
NCBI National Center for Biotechnology Information
NCC National Coordinating Center for Telecommunications
NCCA National Coastal Condition Assessment
NCCAD National Counter-Improvised Explosive Device (IED) Capabilities Analysis Database
NCCAM National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine (changed to NCCIH)
NCCC National Civilian Community Corps
NCCCP National Comprehensive Cancer Control Program
NCCDPHP National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion (older link archive)
NCCIC National Child Care Information and Technical Assistance Center (defunct as of 8/11)
NCCIES National Climate Change Interpretation and Education Strategy
NCCIH National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health
NCCOE National Cybersecurity Center of Excellence
NCCOS National Centers for Coastal Ocean Science
NCCR National Coastal Condition Reports
NCCS National Center for Computational Sciences (changed to OLCF)
NC CSC North Central Climate Science Center
NCCT National Center for Computational Toxicology
NCCV National Climate Change Viewer
NCCWSC National Climate Change and Wildlife Science Center
NCD National Council on Disability | Noncommunicable Diseases
NCDC National Climatic Data Center (merged into NCEI)
NCDDC National Coastal Data Development Center (merged into NCEI)
NCDRST NIOSH Center for Direct Reading and Sensor Technologies
NCEA National Center for Environmental Assessment | National Center on Elder Abuse
NCEC National Climate Extremes Committee
NCEE National Center for Education Evaluation and Regional Assistance | National Center for Environmental Economics
NCEH National Center for Environmental Health
NCEHC National Center for Ethics in Health Care
NCEI National Centers for Environmental Information
NCEM National Center for Electron Microscopy
NCEP National Centers for Environmental Prediction | National Cholesterol Eduation Program (unable to verify 10/14)
NCER National Center for Education Research | National Center for Environmental Research
NCES National Center for Education Statistics
NCETR National Center for Explosives Training and Research
NCEZID National Center for Emerging and Zoonotic Infectious Diseases
NCFI National Computer Forensics Institute
NCFO National Census of Ferry Operators
NCFS National Commission on Forensic Science (defunct; older link archive)
NCFY National Clearinghouse on Families & Youth (older link archive)
NCGMP National Cooperative Geologic Mapping Program
NCHHSTP National Center for HIV/AIDS, Viral Hepatitis, STD, and TB Prevention
NCHIP National Criminal History Improvement Program
NCHM National Center for Health Marketing (changed to Health Communication and Social Marketing)
NCHS National Center for Health Statistics
NCHSTP National Center for HIV, STD, and TB Prevention (changed to NCHHSTP)
NCHWA National Center for Health Workforce Analysis (older link archive)
NCI National Cancer Institute
NCIC National Crime Information Center
NCID National Center for Infectious Diseases (defunct; absorbed by NCHHSTP, NCIRD, NCPDCID, and NCZVED) |
National Court Interpreter Database
NCIPC National Center for Injury Prevention and Control (older link archive)
NCIRC National Criminal Intelligence Resource Center
NCIRD National Center for Immunization and Respiratory Diseases
NCIX Office of the National Counterintelligence Executive (merged with NCSC)
NCJRS National Criminal Justice Reference Service
NCLB No Child Left Behind
NCLIS National Commission on Libraries and Information Science (defunct as of 3/08)
NCMHD National Center on Minority Health and Health Disparities (changed to NIMHD)
NCMRR National Center for Medical Rehabilitation Research
NCMVS NIOSH Center for Motor Vehicle Safety (changed to CMVS)
NCNR NIST Center for Neutron Research
NCO NCEP Central Operations
NCOD National Contaminant Occurrence Database (older link archive)
NCORP NCI Community Oncology Research Program
NCP Nat'l Center for Health Promotion & Disease Prevention | Nat'l Oil & Hazardous Substances Pollution Contingency Plan
NCPAW National Center for Productive Aging and Work
NCPC National Capital Planning Commission | National Counterproliferation Center (older link archive)
NCPDCID National Center for Preparedness, Detection, and Control of Infectious Diseases (merged into NCEZID)
NCPHI National Center for Public Health Informatics (changed to PHITPO, then PHSIPO)
NCPPCC National Crime Prevention and Privacy Compact Council
NCPS National Center for Patient Safety
NCPTSD National Center for Posttraumatic Stress Disorder (changed to PTSD)
NCPTT National Center for Preservation Technology and Training
NCPV National Center for Photovoltaics
NCPW National Consumer Protection Week (older link archive)
NCR National Capital Region
NCRA NCI Council of Research Advocates
NCRAR National Center for Rehabilitative Auditory Research
NCRC National Climate-Computing Research Center | Office of National Capital Region Coordination (older link archive)
NCRDS National Coal Resources Data System
NCRFO National Center for Radiation Field Operations
NCRMP National Coral Reef Monitoring Program
NCRPIS North Central Regional Plant Introduction Station
NCRR National Center for Research Resources (defunct; see org. history)
NCS National Children's Study | National Clandestine Service | National Communications System (changed to OEC) | National Compensation Survey
NCSA National Center for Statistics and Analysis (older link archive)
NCSC National Counterintelligence and Security Center (older link archive)
NCSD National Cyber Security Division (unable to verify 12/13)
NCSER National Center for Space Exploration Research | National Center for Special Education Research
NCSES National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics
NCSS National Cooperative Soil Survey
NCSSLE National Center on Safe Supportive Learning Environments
NCTC National Conservation Training Center | National Counterterrorism Center (older link archive)
NCTIC National Center for Trauma-Informed Care
NCTR National Center for Toxicological Research | NOAA Center for Tsunami Research
NCTSI National Child Traumatic Stress Initiative
NCUA National Credit Union Administration
NCVHS National Committee on Vital and Health Statistics
NCVRW National Crime Victims' Rights Week
NCVS National Crime Victimization Survey
NCZVED National Center for Zoonotic, Vector-Borne, and Enteric Diseases (merged into NCEZID)
NE Nuclear Engineering Division | Office of Nuclear Energy
NEA Bureau of Near Eastern Affairs | National Endowment for the Arts
NEAC Nuclear Energy Advisory Committee
NEB Nutritional Epidemiology Branch (changed to MEB)
NEC National Economic Council (defunct or inactive 1/17, WH transition)
NECP National Emergency Communications Plan
NE CSC Northeast Climate Science Center
NED NIH Enterprise Directory
NEDM National Education Data Model (unable to verify 9/16)
NEDSS National Electronic Disease Surveillance System
NEEAC National Environmental Education Advisory Council
NEEMO NASA Extreme Environment Mission Operations
NEESPI Northern Eurasia Earth Science Partnership Initiative (older link archive)
NEFOP Northeast Fisheries Observer Program
NEFSC Northeast Fisheries Science Center
NEGP National Education Goals Panel (defunct; UNT has archived some material)
NEH National Endowment for the Humanities
NEHRP National Earthquake Hazards Reduction Program
NEI National Export Initiative (older link archive) | National Eye Institute
NEIC National Earthquake Information Center | National Enforcement Investigations Center
NEISS National Electronic Injury Surveillance System (older link archive)
NEJAC National Environmental Justice Advisory Council
NEL Nutrition Evidence Library (older link archive)
NEMESIS National Exotic Marine and Estuarine Species Information System
NEMI National Environmental Methods Index
NEMSAC National EMS Advisory Council
NEO Near-Earth Object Program (defunct as of 4/17; see CNEOS)
NEON National Ecological Observatory Network
NEP National Estuary Program
NEPA National Environmental Policy Act
NEPAG NASA Electronic Parts Assurance Group
NEPHTN National Environmental Public Health Tracking Network
NEPIS National Environmental Publications Information System (merged into NSCEP)
NEPP NASA Electronic Parts and Packaging
NERFC Northeast River Forecast Center
NERI National Estuaries Restoration Inventory
NERL National Exposure Research Laboratory
NERRS National Estuarine Research Reserve System
NERSC National Energy Research Scientific Computing Center
NESC NASA Engineering and Safety Center
NESDIS National Environmental Satellite, Data, and Information Service
NESS Office of Nuclear Energy, Safety and Security
NET New Electronic Titles
NETL National Energy Technology Laboratory
NEUP Nuclear Energy University Programs
NEW Native Employment Works
NEW VISTAS Neighborhood Enrichment with Vision Involving Services, Treatment, and Supervision
NEX NASA Earth Exchange
NIGC National Indian Gaming Commission
NIGMS National Institute of General Medical Sciences
NIH National Institutes of Health
NIHHIS National Integrated Heat Health Information System
NIIC National Incident Information Center (absorbed into NIFC)
NIICD National Interagency Incident Communications Division
NIJ National Institute of Justice
NIMAC National Inventory and Monitoring Applications Center
NIMH National Institute of Mental Health
NIMHD National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities
NIMO National Incident Management Organization
NIMS National Incident Management System
NINDS National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke
NINR National Institute of Nursing Research
NIOCCS NIOSH Industry and Occupation Computerized Coding System
NIOGEMS National Indian Oil & Gas Evaluation & Management System (older link archive)
NIOSH National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health
NIP National Immunization Program (changed 6/07 to Vaccines and Immunizations)
NIPA National Income and Product Accounts
NIPC National Infrastructure Protection Center (merged with IAIP)
NIPP National Infrastructure Protection Plan
NIS National Identification Services (unable to verify; likely absorbed by PPQ) | National Immunization Survey (older link archive)
NISAR NASA-ISRO SAR Mission
NISC National Invasive Species Council
NISIC National Invasive Species Information Center
NIST National Institute of Standards and Technology
NISTIR National Institute of Standards and Technology Interagency Report (older link archive)
NISVS National Intimate Partner and Sexual Violence Survey
NITAAC NIH Information Technology Acquisition and Assessment Center
NITRD Networking and Information Technology Research and Development
NITTF National Insider Threat Task Force (older link archive)
NITT-TA Now Is The Time Technical Assistance Center
NIWQP National Irrigation Water Quality Program (unable to verify 8/17)
NJTTF National Joint Terrorism Task Force
NKUDIC National Kidney and Urologic Diseases Information Clearinghouse (unable to verify 5/15)
NLA National Lakes Assessment
NLAE National Laboratory for Agriculture and the Environment
NLCD National Land Cover Database
NLE National Library of Education | National Library of Energy (discontinued; older link archive)
NLG National Leadership Grants for Libraries
NLIC National Lead Information Center
NLLAP National Lead Laboratory Accreditation Program
NLM National Library of Medicine
NLMS National Longitudinal Mortality Study
NLRB National Labor Relations Board
NLRC National Legal Resource Center (discontinued; older link archive)
NLS National Library Service for the Blind and Physically Handicapped | National Longitudinal Surveys
NLSI NASA Lunar Science Institute (changed to SSERVI)
NMAfA National Museum of African Art
NMAI National Museum of the American Indian
NMAM NIOSH Manual of Analytical Methods
NMAO NOAA Marine and Aviation Operations (changed to OMAO)
NMB National Mediation Board
NMDB National Mortgage Database
NMFS National Marine Fisheries Service
NMHSS National Mental Health Services Survey
NMIO National Maritime Intelligence-Integration Office
NMMR National Mine Map Repository
NMMSS Nuclear Materials Management & Safeguards System
NMNH National Museum of Natural History
NMREC National Maritime Resource and Education Center
NMVTIS National Motor Vehicle Title Information System
NN Public Housing Neighborhood Networks Program
NNAS National Nursing Assistant Survey (older link archive)
NNCO National Nanotechnology Coordination Office
NNCP National Name Check Program
NNDSS National Notifiable Diseases Surveillance System
NNHS National Nursing Home Survey (older link archive)
NNI National Nanotechnology Initiative
NNL National Natural Landmarks Program
NN/LM National Network of Libraries of Medicine
NNMI National Network for Manufacturing Innovation
NNSA National Nuclear Security Administration
NQMC National Quality Measures Clearinghouse
NQS National Quality Strategy
NR National Register of Historic Places
NRA Natural Resources Analysis Group
NRB Neuroimaging Research Branch
NRC National Revenue Center | Neighborhood Reinvestment Corporation (changed to NeighborWorks America) | Nuclear Regulatory Commission
NRCS Natural Resources Conservation Service
NRD National Resource Directory | Nationwide Readmissions Database
NRDA Natural Resource Damage Assessment and Restoration Program
NRDAR Natural Resource Damage Assessment and Restoration Program
NRDP National Rural Development Partnership
NREL National Renewable Energy Laboratory
NREN National Research and Education Network
NREPP National Registry of Evidence-based Programs and Practices (older link archive)
NREVSS National Respiratory and Enteric Virus Surveillance System
NRFC National Responsible Fatherhood Clearinghouse
NRI National Resources Inventory | Nationwide Rivers Inventory | Neighborhood Revitalization Initiative
NRIC Natural Resource Investment Center (unable to verify 8/17)
NRMRL National Risk Management Research Laboratory
NRO National Reconnaissance Office
NRP National Residue Program for Meat, Poultry, and Egg Products
NRPB National Recording Preservation Board
NRPC National Railroad Passenger Corporation (AMTRAK)
NRR Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation
NRS National Runaway Safeline | Northern Research Station
NRRSS National River Restoration Science Synthesis (defunct)
NRSA National Rivers and Streams Assessment
NRSS Natural Resource Stewardship and Science Directorate
NSLDS National Student Loan Data System
NSLP National School Lunch Program
NSLS National Synchrotron Light Source
NSLTCP National Study of Long-Term Care Providers
NSMBB Newborn Screening and Molecular Biology Branch
NSMP National Strong-Motion Project
NSNSD Natural Sounds and Night Skies Division
NSOPR National Sex Offender Public Registry (changed to NSOPW)
NSOPW Dru Sjodin National Sex Offender Public Website
NSP Neighborhood Stabilization Program
NSPD National Security Professional Development
NSR New Source Review
NSRCF National Survey of Residential Care Facilities (older link archive)
NSRE National Survey on Recreation and the Environment
NSRL NASA Space Radiation Laboratory
NSS National Security Science | National Settlement Service | National Shelter System
NSSATS National Survey of Substance Abuse Treatment Services
NSSC NASA Shared Services Center
NSSE National Special Security Events
NSSL National Severe Storms Laboratory
NSSP National Syndromic Surveillance Program
NST Nanoscience and Technology Division
NSTAC National Security Telecommunications Advisory Committee
NSTC National Science and Technology Center (changed to NOC) | National Science and Technology Council (defunct or inactive 1/17, WH transition)
NSTIC National Strategy for Trusted Identities in Cyberspace (changed to TIG)
NSTS National Source Tracking System
NSTX National Spherical Torus Experiment
NSWP National Space Weather Program
NTA National Taxpayer Advocate (changed to TAS)
NTAC National Threat Assessment Center
NVAP National Veterinary Accreditation Program
NVD National Vulnerability Database
NVDRS National Violent Death Reporting System
NVFEL National Vehicle and Fuel Emissions Laboratory
NVMC National Vessel Movement Center
NVPO National Vaccine Program Office
NVSL National Veterinary Services Laboratories
NVSN New Vaccine Surveillance Network
NVSR National Vital Statistics Reports
NVSS National Vital Statistics System (older link archive)
NVTC National Virtual Translation Center
NWBC National Women's Business Council
NWCA National Wetland Condition Assessment
NWCC National Water and Climate Center
NWCG National Wildfire Coordinating Group
NW CSC Northwest Climate Science Center
NWDP National Wildlife Disease Program
NWFHS National Wild Fish Health Survey
NWFHSDb National Wild Fish Health Survey Database (older page archive)
NWFP Northwest Forest Plan
NWFSC Northwest Fisheries Science Center
NWHC National Wildlife Health Center
NWHIC National Women's Health Information Center
NwHIN Nationwide Health Information Network
NWI National Wetlands Inventory
NWMDE Nonproliferation of Weapons of Mass Destruction Expertise (inactive or defunct 2/17)
NWPG National Water Program Guidance
NWRC National Wetlands Research Center (changed to WARC) | National Wildlife Research Center
NWRS National Wildlife Refuge System
NWS National Weather Service
NWTRB Nuclear Waste Technical Review Board
NYGS National Youth Gang Survey
NYTD National Youth in Transition Database
NYTS National Youth Tobacco Survey
NZERTF Net-Zero Energy Residential Test Facility