Skip to main content

GovSpeak: A Guide to U.S. Government Acronyms & Abbreviations: G

The most current, extensive and fully-linked listing of U.S. government agency, office, program and publication acronyms.

G

GEAR UP Gaining Early Awareness and Readiness for Undergraduate Programs
GEC Global Engagement Center
GEDI Global Ecosystem Dynamics Investigation Lidar
GEDN Genetics, Epigenetics, and Developmental Neuroscience Branch
GEH Genes, Environment, and Health Branch | Global Environmental Health
GEMEnA Interagency Working Group on Expanded Measures of Enrollment and Attainment
GEO Directorate for Geosciences | Gene Expression Omnibus
GEO-CAPE GEOstationary Coastal and Air Pollution Events
GeoCONOPS Geospatial Concept of Operations
GeoFIN Geospatial Fisheries Information Network
GeoMAC Geospatial Multi-Agency Coordination Group
GES DISC Goddard Earth Sciences Data and Information Services Center
GETEM Geothermal Electricity Technology Evaluation Model
GETS Government Emergency Telecommunications Service
GFDL Geophysical Fluid Dynamics Laboratory
GFS Office of Global Food Security
GFWED Global Fire WEather Database
GGRU Grape Genetics Research Unit (older link archive)
GHCN Global Historical Climatology Network
GHDB Gynecologic Health and Disease Branch
GHG Greenhouse Gas
GHGRP Greenhouse Gas Reporting Program
GHI Global Health Initiative (discontinued)
GHRC Global Hydrology Resource Center
GHS Globally Harmonized System of Classification and Labelling of Chemicals
GHSB Global Health Security Branch (changed to Global Health Security; older link archive)
GHSP Global Health Service Partnership (older link archive)
GIBS Global Imagery Browse Services
GID Global Immunization Division | Governments Integrated Directory
GIDEP Government-Industry Data Exchange Program (older link archive)
GIL General Information Leaflets
GILS Government Information Locator Service (defunct)
Ginnie Mae Government National Mortgage Association
GIP Geoscientists-in-the-Parks (older link archive)
GIPP Global Initiatives for Proliferation Prevention
GIPSA Grain Inspection, Packers, and Stockyards Administration
GIRA Geospatial Interoperability Reference Architecture (unable to verify 11/17)
GIS Geographic Information Systems
GISP Gonococcal Isolate Surveillance Project
GISS Goddard Institute for Space Studies
GIST Global Information Sharing Toolkit
GISTEMP GISS Surface Temperature Analysis
GPO Government Pension Offset | Government Publishing Office (formerly Government Printing Office)
GPOI Global Peace Operations Initiative
GPP Green Parks Plan | Green Power Partnership
GPRA Government Performance and Results Act
GPS Geographic Profile of Employment and Unemployment | Global Positioning System |
Office of Global Publishing Solutions
GPSN Global Patent Search Network (unable to verify 2/17)
GRACE Gravity Recovery & Climate Experiment
GRACEnet Greenhouse gas Reduction through Agricultural Carbon Enhancement network (older link archive)
GRAIL Gravity Recovery and Interior Laboratory
GRAS Generally Recognized as Safe
GRD Geologic Resources Division
G.R.E.A.T. Gang Resistance Education And Training Program (unable to verify 8/17)
GRIN Germplasm Resources Information Network
GRIP Genesis and Rapid Intensification Processes
GRP Grassland Reserve Program
GRTS Grants Reporting and Tracking System
GSA General Services Administration (older link archive)
GSAM General Services Administration Acquisition Manual  
GSD Global Systems Division
GSFC Goddard Space Flight Center (older link archive)
GSM-102 Export Credit Guarantee Program
GSO Government to Government Services Online
GSOD Global Summary of the Day
GSS Database of Genome Survey Sequences | Global Security Sciences
GSTC Geospatial Service and Technology Center
GTB Genome Technology Branch (defunct)
G/TIP Office to Monitor and Combat Trafficking in Persons
GTMBA Global Tropical Moored Buoy Array
GTO Geothermal Technologies Office
GTP Geothermal Technologies Program (changed to GTO)
GTR Genetic Testing Registry
GTSSData Global Tobacco Surveillance System Data
GUDID Global Unique Device Identification Database
GUPCP Geographically Updated Population Certification Program
GVP Global Volcanism Program
GWA Governmentwide Accounting & Reporting Modernization (changed to CARS)
GWEP Geriatrics Workforce Enhancement Program
GwoB Government Without Boundaries (defunct)