Skip to main content

LTWL 172: Parzival & The Grail: Databases & Bibliographies of Scholarly Articles & Books

A guide to Geisel Library resources for LTWL 172.

Printed Bibliographies of Criticism

Coleman, Arthur. Epic and Romance Criticism: A Checklist of Interpretations, 1940-1972. New York: Watermill Publishers, 1973-74. 2 vols. (Vol. 1: English & American, Vol. 2: Classical & Continental).

                 Although this book is now over 30 years old, it is still a useful listing of scholarly articles IN ENGLISH about various epics and romances. Articles and books on Parzival are listed in volume 2, pages 272-79.

                 SSH Reference Collection: PN 1303 .C64 1973

 

Medieval Arthurian Literature: A Guide to Recent Research. Ed. Norris J. Lacy. New York: Garland Publishing Co., 1996. 

               The articles listeed are no longer very "recent," but this is still a convenient and authoritative listing of articles through 1995.

               SSH Stacks: PN 685 .M43 1996 (7th floor)

 

Bibliographie der Deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft. Frankfurt am Main: Klostermann, 1969-present. Annual bibliography of Western-language materials (but mostly German) on Germanic literatures, including Parzival legends.

                 SSH Reference Collection: PT 85 .B5 SSH Reference Stacks (2001-2009 volumes; 1969-2000 at SRLF).

Online Databases

The MLA International Bibliography: MLAIB. New York: Modern Library Association, 1922-present.

            The principal bibliographic database of articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations relating to the literatures of the modern world (excluding languages no longer used, e.g. Latin, ancient Greek, ancient Hebrew, etc.). Use the boxes to combine either keywords or specific subject headings (called descriptors in MLAIB); optionally, limit your search by date of publication, language, type of publication, scholars' names, etc.  Includes direct links to all articles in JSTOR or Project Muse, and UC eLinks to other online texts or to the UCSD and UC system catalogs.

 

Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature, 1920- : ABELL. The online cumulation of a bibliography published since the 1920s, relating ONLY to English-language literatures. Therefore, useful for articles only about English versions and adaptations of the Parzival legend and of post-medieval Arthurian literature. Includes UC eLinks to any available online texts or to the UCSD and UC system catalogs.

 

International Medieval Bibliography: IMB.  The world's leading interdisciplinary bibliography covering the European Middle Ages (roughly the years 400-1500 A.D.).  The database comprises over 300,000 articles derived from regular coverage of some 4500 periodicals and thousands of other publications. The majority of articles on most topics are in languages other than English, so you may wish to limit to English language publications by using the Advanced Search option.