Skip to main content

Physics & Astronomy: Astronomy articles, books, handbooks & encyclopedias

Basic guide to resources in physics and astronomy

Recommend a Purchase

If UCSD Library doesn't own a book or journal that you think we ought to have, please fill out the purchase suggestion form or contact me.

For delivery of an article or book or report from another university library - use Circuit (borrow books from San Diego area libraries) or Interlibrary loan.

New Astronomy Books including e-books

Loading

Wireless & Off-Campus Access

Off-campus and on-campus/wifi access to most of these licensed electronic resources--databases, e-journals, e-books--is restricted to UC San Diego students, faculty and staff.

Astronomy & Astrophysics Article Databases

Use UC-eLinks to get to the full text of subscription-only articles & conference papers, if the Library licenses it.  ADS has links both to free article scans and to UCSD-licensed articles.

Physics & Astronomy E-Book Collections

The main e-book collections (not single titles) of interest to physics & astronomy researchers. Unless otherwise specified, books in these collections are also in the UCSD Libraries catalog, though the most recently published ones are generally available online 1-3 months before appearing in our catalog.

How do I get the article?

In most of our databases, you'll see this button next to each reference: UC-eLinks.

Clicking this button may open up the article automatically, or you will see options to get the article:

- Online, if available)
- In print (links to Roger)
- Via interlibrary loan (Request) if we don't have the article.

    MathSciNet and Astrophysics Data System has their own Article (and Journal) links that in most cases will bring up the licensed UCSD accessible e-article or a freely available version.

    Encyclopedias & Handbooks