This lock sign, 
indicates that the resource is fee-based, paid for by the UC San Diego Library. To view these resources from off-campus, you will need to connect through the VPN or proxy.
Also, check out Subjects A-Z and Databases A-Z for other databases that might be useful for your topics.
Academic Search Complete
- Database covers all subject areas broadly, but none exhaustively
- Includes both popular magazines and scholarly journals, with a large number of full-text articles
- Coverage dates back more than 100 years
Anthropology Plus
- An index that offers coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals
- Coverage is from the late 19th century to the present
ARTstor
- Comprised of 300,000 digital images and their corresponding data and the tools to make active use of those images; includes many East Asian images
Art Index, or Art Full Text
- Indexes, abstracts and full-text from international periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins
- Areas covered include archaeology, architecture, art, film, humanities, marketing, motion pictures and photography
Art Retrospective
- Coverage from 1929 through 1984
- Periodicals, yearbooks, and select museum bulletins
ATLA Religion Database
- 1949-present
- The premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collection of essays in all scholarly fields of religion
Bibliography of Asian Studies
- An index to western-language books, book chapters, and articles on all parts of Asia
Historical Abstracts
- Indexes journals, books, and dissertations on non-US / Canadian history
- Best for history from 1450 to the present, but includes some medieval sources
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective
- 1907-1984
- Offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences
International Bibliography of Art
- A definitive resource for scholarly literature on Western art
- Has coverage on global art since 1945, including fine arts, decorative arts and antiques, museum studies and conservation, archaeology and material culture, folk art, and architectural history
JSTOR
- An archive of scholarly articles
- Some date as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries
- All full-text
- Use JSTOR's Print or Download tabs, not your browser's functions
- Can print or download or email only one full-text article at a time
- Note that usually the recent 3-5 years are not included; for current articles use Web of Knowledge
Philosopher's Index
- A bibliographic database with informative abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy
- The literature covered goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology, and book reviews
Project Muse: Scholarly Journals Online
- Full-text online access to journals in the humanities and social sciences
- All indexed and peer-reviewed journals
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses
- Ranging from 1861 to those accepted last semester
- Where available, it provides 24-page previews
Sociological Abstracts
- Covers historical articles mainly on sociological/psychological issues like gender, race, identity, nationalism, and religion
- Also indexes purely historical, political, and economic articles
Web of Knowledge
- Broad subject coverage of over 10,000 key journals in sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities, with references dating back to 1900
