Skip to main content

HIEA 126 The Silk Road in Chinese and Japanese History: Guides & Bibliographies

General Guides

BBC - The Silk Road

On the trade routes which spanned Asia for over a thousand years, carrying Buddhism to China and paper-making and gunpowder westwards

BBC - A History of the World: The Silk Road and Beyond (AD 400-800)

Explores the world along and beyond the Silk Road in the 7th century AD at a time when the teachings of the prophet Muhammad were transforming the Middle East

Digital Library & Museum of Buddhist Studies

With links to bibliographies, dictionaries, scriptures, and other useful Buddhist resources

The World of Xuanzang and the Silk Road 玄奘西域

In Chinese; with video tour, civilization map, full-text searches, chronologies

Digital Silk Road Project

Digital archives from the National Institute of Informatics, Tokyo

Links to databases of Buddhist caves, temples, Ruins, online tour, chronological maps, and more

H-Buddhism: An H-Net Discussion List

A medium for exchanging information for specialists in Buddhist Studies currently affiliated with academic institutions

With useful links posted by members on Buddhist studies

Internet Guide for Chinese Studies

The China WWW Virtual Library; not up to date

The Oxford Handbook of World Philosophy

Includes bibliographical references and index

A Visual Sourcebook of Chinese Civilization

Prepared by Patricia Buckley Ebrey; useful timeline and maps

Bibliographies

Bibliography of Buddhism in Western Languages

A bibliography of bibliographies; covering 149 classic, standard works

China Bibliography

By Marilyn Shea, University of Maine at Farmington

Includes general references and selected topics (including the Silk Road)

The Silk Road Bibliography

Compiled by Joseph A. Adler at Kenyon College for his class on the Silk Road

Silk Road Seattle

A public educational project sponsored primarily by the University of Washington's Simpson Center for the Humanities

Provides digital materials for learning and teaching about the Silk Road -- historical texts, historic sites, cultures, bibliographies, atlases, and art exhibits

The Silkroad Foundation

Provides maps, article abstracts, photographs, time-lines and other resources and links to information on the Silk Road, Inner and Central Asia

The Silk Roads: An Education Resource, from Education About Asia

Many research recommendations by Morris Rossabi, on both general and specific eras, including many classic works on the silk roads

The Silk Roads: Early Globalization and Chinese Cultural Identities

Bibliograpy of relevant works by presenters at the East-West Center's 2010 NEH Summer Institute