Skip to main content

HIEA 126 The Silk Road in Chinese and Japanese History: Art Resources

Art & the Arts

This lock sign, Licensed by UCSD indicates that the resource is fee-based, paid for by the UC San Diego Library. To view these resources from off-campus, you will need to connect through the VPN or proxy.

ARTstor Licensed by UCSD

Comprised of 300,000 digital images and their corresponding data and the tools to make active use of those images; includes many East Asian images

Getting started using ARTstor http://libguides.ucsd.edu/content.php?pid=119251&sid=1028203

ARTstor Asian Studies guide http://www.artstor.org/using-artstor/u-pdf/sg_asianstudies.pdf

BBC - A History of the World: Silk Princess Painting

Image Guide

Use this guide to find images for research and class presentations

The International Dunhuang Project: The Silk Road Online

An international collaboration (including Britain, Hungary, Germany, France, China, Japan, and Russia) to make available information and images of manuscripts, paintings, textiles and artifacts from Dunhuang and archaeological sites of the Eastern Silk Road

Maps and photos from the journeys of Sir Aurel Stein

National Palace Museum Online 

An image archive of treasures at the National Palace Museum in Taiwan that includes paintings, calligraphy, ceramics, jade, bronzes, Buddhist antiques, etc.

OCA Internet Archive 

Offers access to open source digital resources including texts, audio, moving images, software, as well as archived web pages

Moving images include: animation and cartoons, cultural and academic films, ephemeral films, movies, home movies, sports videos, non-English movies, etc.

Oxford Art Online Licensed by UCSD

Provides access to Grove Art Online, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, the Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.

Includes image partnerships with ARTstor, the British Museum, the Museum of Modern Art, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Art Images for College Teaching, Art Resource, Artists Rights Society and numerous international art galleries and artists

The Silk Road Project

An international nonprofit arts, cultural and educational organization founded by cellist Yo-Yo Ma with a central mission of developing new music

Has a useful list of education resources for both adults and children