LibGuides: Anthropology: Book Reviews

Why read book reviews?

Book reviews, ranging from simple summaries to in-depth critical analyses and evaluations, provide useful informaiton for readers and researchers. Read book reviews to:

Find out what others have said about a book
Identify controversies about the book
Find out how the book relates to other works
Find out what's new in your field of interest
Easily identify recommended books for future reading
Easily identify books that aren't recommended :-)

Article Databases That Include Book Reviews

Academic Search Complete
Search by the author or title of the book, and limit "document type" to "Book Review"
PsycINFO
1597-present. From the American Psychological Association. Provides access to scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Includes journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations. Includes approximately 2,500 journals. Updated weekly.
Sociological Abstracts
1963-present. Abstracts journal articles, monographs, dissertations, conference proceedings, other research covering sociology, social work, and related social sciences. Also includes selected web resources.
Web of Science
Search by title of the book. From results, refine by document type, "review"

Book Review Digest database

Book Review Digest Plus
Indexes and provides links to book reviews appearing in a wide variety of scholarly journals and popular magazines.

Some scholarly journals which regularly publish book & film reviews

American Anthropologist
Each issue includes extensive section of book and film reviews.
American Ethnologist
Each issue includes extensive book review section.
Anthropological Quarterly
Current Anthropology
Access current and past issues via JSTOR. Most issues include extensive book review section.
Ethos
JRAI: Journal of the Royal Anthropological Institute
Reviews in Anthropology
Comparative book reviews on current topics of interest.

Anthropology: Book Reviews

See also:

Why read book reviews?

Article Databases That Include Book Reviews

Book Review Digest database

Some scholarly journals which regularly publish book & film reviews