Skip to main content

HIEA 128: History of Material Culture in China: Guides & Bibliographies

General Guides

This lock sign, Licensed by UCSDindicates that the resource is fee-based, paid for by the UC San Diego Library. To view these resources from off-campus, you will need to connect through the VPN or proxy.

Material Culture: A Research Guide (in print)

http://roger.ucsd.edu:80/record=b1942083~S9

Handbook of Material Culture (in print)

http://roger.ucsd.edu:80/record=b5108804~S9

Also electronic, in Google Books

History and Material Culture: A Student's Guide to Approaching Alternative Sources (in print)

http://roger.ucsd.edu:80/record=b6248811~S9

History from Things: Essays on Material Culture (in print)

http://roger.ucsd.edu:80/record=b3267311~S9

The Material Culture Reader (in print)

http://roger.ucsd.edu:80/record=b4550730~S9

The Oxford Handbook of Material Culture Studies  (in print)

http://roger.ucsd.edu:80/record=b6918767~S9

Introduction to material culture research and methodology

The Oxford Handbook of World Philosophy Licensed by UCSD

http://roger.ucsd.edu:80/record=b7251010~S9

Includes bibliographical references and index

A Visual Sourcebook of Chinese Civilization

http://depts.washington.edu/chinaciv/

Prepared by Patricia Buckley Ebrey; useful timeline and maps

Bibliographies

China Bibliography

http://hua.umf.maine.edu/China/bibtxt2.html

By Marilyn Shea, University of Maine at Farmington

Oxford Bibliographies, Chinese Studies Licensed by UCSD

        http://www.oxfordbibliographies.com/browse?module_0=obo-9780199920082

        Peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on China across all disciplines.