Skip to main content

HIEA 128: History of Material Culture in China: Articles and Databases

Articles, Indexes, and Databases

This lock sign, Licensed by UCSD indicates that the resource is fee-based, paid for by the UC San Diego Library. To view these resources from off-campus, you will need to connect through the VPN or proxy.

Also, check out Subjects A-Z and Databases A-Z for other databases that might be useful for your topics

Academic Search Complete Licensed by UCSD

  • Database covers all subject areas broadly, but none exhaustively
  • Includes both popular magazines and scholarly journals, with a large number of full-text articles
  • Coverage dates back more than 100 years

Anthropology Plus Licensed by UCSD

  • An index that offers coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals
  • Coverage is from the late 19th century to the present

Art Index, or Art Full Text Licensed by UCSD

  • Indexes, abstracts and full-text from international periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins
  • Areas covered include archaeology, architecture, art, film, humanities, marketing, motion pictures and photography

Art Retrospective Licensed by UCSD

  • Coverage from 1929 through 1984
  • Periodicals, yearbooks, and select museum bulletins

ARTstor Licensed by UCSD

Comprised of 300,000 digital images and their corresponding data and the tools to make active use of those images; includes many East Asian images

Getting started using ARTstor

ARTstor Asian Studies guide

ATLA Religion Database Licensed by UCSD

  • 1949-present
  • The premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collection of essays in all scholarly fields of religion

Bibliography of Asian Studies Licensed by UCSD

  • An index to western-language books, book chapters, and articles on all parts of Asia

GenderWatch Licensed by UCSD

  • A full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
  • 1970s-present

Historical Abstracts Licensed by UCSD

  • Indexes journals, books, and dissertations on non-US / Canadian history
  • Best for history from 1450 to the present, but includes some medieval sources

Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective Licensed by UCSD

  • 1907-1984
  • Offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences

JSTOR Licensed by UCSD

  • An archive of scholarly articles
  • Some date as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries
  • All full-text
  • Use JSTOR's Print or Download tabs, not your browser's functions
  • Can print or download or email only one full-text article at a time
  • Note that usually the recent 3-5 years are not included; for current articles use Web of Science

National Palace Museum Online

  • An image archive of treasures at the National Palace Museum in Taiwan that includes paintings, calligraphy, ceramics, jade, bronzes, Buddhist antiques, etc.

Philosopher's Index

  • A bibliographic database with informative abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy
  • The literature covered goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology, and book reviews

Project Muse: Scholarly Journals Online

  • Full-text online access to journals in the humanities and social sciences
  • All indexed and peer-reviewed journals

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses

  • Ranging from 1861 to those accepted last semester
  • Where available, it provides 24-page previews

Sociological Abstracts Licensed by UCSD

  • Covers historical articles mainly on sociological/psychological issues like gender, race, identity, nationalism, and religion
  • Also indexes purely historical, political, and economic articles

Web of Science Licensed by UCSD

  • Broad subject coverage of over 10,000 key journals in sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities, with references dating back to 1900

    Ask a Librarian

    Ask a Librarian Get help when you need it.  Call us or stop by one of our service desks for the face-to-face personal touch or use one of our other tools and get assistance at a distance.  Even in the dark of night, UC Chat is there to help.  Try our newest service, Text a Librarian.  Check out the options.

    Select Journals

    Asian Studies Licensed by UCSD

    European Journal of East Asian Studies Licensed by UCSD

    Inter-Asia Cultural Studies Licensed by UCSD

    Journal of Asian Civilisations Licensed by UCSD

    Journal of East Asian Archaeology Licensed by UCSD

    Journal of Material Culture Licensed by UCSD

    Material Culture Licensed by UCSD

    Positions: East Asia Cultures Critique Licensed by UCSD

    How can I get to the full text of an article when I search a database?

    How to find the full-text of the article:

    Some databases include the full text of the article in the database.  Look for icons or links that say:

    • HTML  (good version for reading on a computer screen)
    • PDF  (good version for printing or saving to a portable drive)
    • Full Text  (no specific format listed, but full text nonetheless)

    If the article isn't available full-text within the database you found it, click on the orange UC-eLinks button  uc elinks to checkfor other full text as well as print options.  UC-eLinks checks to see if the article is available through UC San Diego Library's subscriptions - whether it is online or in print. 

    UC-eLinks makes it easy to:

    1. Check for online access
    2. Check the catalog (Roger) for the print version
    3. Use Request to have us get a copy from another library (known as interlibrary loan)
    4. Format the citation information in one of 5 sytles to easily paste into your bibliography - use Copy & Paste citation

    uc elinks menu