Skip to main content

HIEA 128: History of Material Culture in China: Art and Geography Resources

Other Resources

This lock sign, Licensed by UCSD indicates that the resource is fee-based, paid for by the UC San Diego Library. To view these resources from off-campus, you will need to connect through the VPN or proxy.

Art, Museum, and Audiovisual

ARTstor Licensed by UCSD

Comprised of 300,000 digital images and their corresponding data and the tools to make active use of those images; includes many East Asian images

Getting started using ARTstor

ARTstor Asian Studies guide

Image Guide

Use this guide to find images for research and class presentations

Bata Shoe Museum

Podcasts on Handmade Chinese Winter Shoes and Shoe Stories of Notable People -- The Dalai Lama

Freer and Sackler Galleries: The Smithsonian's Museums of Asian Art

One of the finest museum collections of Chinese art outside of China, with over ten thousand objects dating from Neolithic times (ca. 7000–ca. 2000 B.C.E.) to the present

National Palace Museum Online

An image archive of treasures at the National Palace Museum in Taiwan that includes paintings, calligraphy, ceramics, jade, bronzes, Buddhist antiques, etc.

OCA Internet Archive

Offers access to open source digital resources including texts, audio, moving images, software, as well as archived web pages

Moving images include: animation and cartoons, cultural and academic films, ephemeral films, movies, home movies, sports videos, non-English movies, etc.

Oxford Art Online Licensed by UCSD

Provides access to Grove Art Online, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, the Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.

Includes image partnerships with ARTstor, the British Museum, the Museum of Modern Art, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Art Images for College Teaching, Art Resource, Artists Rights Society and numerous international art galleries and artists

With biographical resources

Peabody Essex Museum

Yin Yu Tang 蔭餘堂, a Qing dynasty merchant's house re-located from China and re-erected at this museum



China Historical GIS

A database of populated places and historical administrative units for the period of Chinese history between 221 BCE and 1911 CE

Electronic Cultural Atlas Institute

A fairly comprehensive collection of interactive cultural atlases on China

The Religious Atlas of China and Himalaya including Buddhism, Taoism, Islam, Christianity, and Judaism