Skip to main content
Best-bet databases for journal articles
These are just a few of the databases likely to include articles of interest; a more complete list of USP-related databases is available on the general Urban Studies & Planning Research Guide. You might also want to review other subject guides for suggested databases in those disciplines.
Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary database that indexes and abstracts articles in more than 10,900 journals and other publications in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese; full-text is available for over 5300 journals.
Alternative Press Index & Alternative Press Archive, Combined
1991-present. Citations to articles in alternative, radical, and left publications in North America. which report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political, and social change.
America: History and Life
1964-present. International database for research on all periods of U.S. and Canadian history, including very recent years. Includes abstracts of journal articles and listings of books and dissertations.
Business Source Complete
Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. 1886-present.
Abstracts journal articles, books, dissertations, and working papers in economics. New records added monthly. Produced by American Economic Association.
Education-related journal articles and other material, covering 1929-present.
Indexes articles on all environment-related topics, from 1888-present.
Coverage includes education-related journal articles and non-journal sources, 1966-present.
Search for scholarly publications across disciplines & sources: articles, theses, books, and more, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, etc. Linking to UCSD full text resources is available after you set user preferences.
Search by subject or browse full text of more than 2000 titles, predominantly scholarly journals in social sciences, humanities, and sciences, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years often not included.
PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service)
1972-present. Lists print and electronic articles, books, and government publications on issues of public policy, including politics, government, economy, marine policy, law.
Project Muse: Scholarly Journals Online
Search by subject or browse full text of scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics. Coverage begins 1995 or later, depending on the publication.
Includes journal articles, books, dissertations and more for literature in the psychological and social sciences.
Search across a number of social science journals, or select subject-specific (e.g. urban studies) titles.
Social Sciences Full Text
Articles published since 1983 in over 700 social sciences journals.
1963-present. Abstracts journal articles, monographs, dissertations, conference proceedings, other research covering sociology, social work, and related social sciences. Also includes selected web resources.
Urban Studies Abstracts
Indexes articles in urban studies and related disciplines from 1973-present.
Web of Science
Indexes over 18,000 journals in all subjects (coverage back to 1900 for science and social science journals), as well as 80,000 books and more than 180K conference proceedings. Includes the popular "cited reference search" to identify papers which have cited a previously published work or author. Can also sort by "times cited" and find related articles based on commonly cited works.
Databases for other types of information
CQ Researcher Plus Archive
1923-present. Access to summaries, bibliographies and analysis of current and controversial political issues. From the Congressional Quarterly, a private organization tracking public policy issues.
Dissertations & Theses
1861-present. Database of citations to doctoral dissertations & master's theses from 1,000+ universities. Abstracts for dissertations 1980-present; master's theses 1988-present. Full-text of most UC dissertations published 1996 and later.
Indexes Congressional materials from 1789-present. Includes access to U.S. legislative information, including bills and pending legislation, legislative history, hearings, testimony, reports, documents, Congressional Record, CRS Reports, public laws, etc.
Database Search Tip
Use the term "literature review" as a keyword phrase, along with your topic keywords, to find published reviews of interest.
Looking for books?
The UCSD Library's Roger catalog is the first stop for finding books, journals, documents, maps and all other material located physically in the UCSD libraries, as well as online resources purchased for your use.
Bonus search tip: Having trouble finding relevant books using the online catalog? You can search the full text of many books using Google Books to identify books of possible interest, then do a title search in the library catalogs to find a copy. In most cases, you won't be able to actually read the full text online.
Circuit is a shared library catalog that searches the holdings of all San Diego university libraries and the San Diego County Public Library. If a book you need is already checked out at UCSD, or if or we don't own a book that you need, check in Circuit. If it’s available at another San Diego Circuit library, it can be delivered to UCSD in 1-3 days.
If a book or journal you need isn't available through Roger or Circuit, try the Melvyl catalog. It allows you to search worldwide, or limit your search to UC Libraries. If borrowed from another UC campus, your item should arrive in 3-6 days. From other libraries, books and journals can take up to 3 weeks, so start your research early!
For books, articles, dissertations or other material that you can't easily get through our databases or catalogs, you can use the Interlibrary Loan service. Just fill out the appropriate form, and the library will do our best to get the item for you from another library.