LibGuides: ETHN 201: Historical Methods and Archives: Articles

Getting Full Text Articles

The full text of an article within a database is provided in multiple formats. Look for:

An HTML link
PDF link
Link to Get it at UC

The Get it at UC link will provide you options for how to access the full text of the article. If there are no online links available, this means you need to request the item through Interlibrary Loan if a print version is not available at UC San Diego. The Library will deliver the full text of an article to you free of charge. When requesting you will need your Library ID number.

Your library card/account number begins with "21822" and can be found on the back of your UCSD ID card or within the UCSD app. Enter the 14-digit number without spaces.

Key Interdisciplinary Databases

Scholarly articles are written by academics who are experts in their field and published in scholarly journals. Peer-reviewed articles are scholarly articles that have been read and vetted by other experts in the field (e.g., the author's peers) before the journal accepts them for publication.

Find citations to scholarly articles in Ethnic Studies and other Social Sciences searching by keyword in the following databases.

Search tip: Use the yellow Get it at UC button to link to the online full text (if available), find the print version of the publication (by searching the UC Library Search) or order a copy from another library (when not available from the UC San Diego Library).

UC Library Search - search all of the UC's library collections
UC Library Search allows you to search all of the University of California's library collections. It includes scholarly and peer-reviewed journals and articles, books and ebooks, course reserves, special formats (media, maps, newspapers, dissertations, etc.), government documents and datasets and primary resources, archives, and special collections

Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary database with 17,800+ journals and magazines, of which 16,000+ are peer-reviewed and 8,750+ are full-text. Also included are books, conference papers and proceedings, government documents, newspapers, video content, and more. Coverage begins in 1887, with material in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese.
America: History and Life
1895-present. International database for research on all periods of U.S. and Canadian history, including very recent years. Includes abstracts of journal articles and listings of books and dissertations. Over 1,800 journals are indexed.
Dissertations and Theses (Proquest)
Ranging from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Where available, it provides a 24-page preview of a document. Most UC dissertations from mid-1990s forward are available for full-text PDF download.
Historical Abstracts
1863-present. International database for research on history of all regions (except the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the current decade. Content includes
indexing of historical articles from more than 2,300 journals in over 40 languages.
JSTOR
Search by subject or browse 2,600+ full-text titles, predominantly scholarly journals and books in social sciences, history, humanities, and science and mathematics, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years often not included. JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Project Muse: Scholarly Journals and Books Online
Search by subject or browse full text scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics. More than 700 journals from over 250 university presses and scholarly publishers are available. Coverage begins 1906 or later, depending on the publication. UCSD also has access to over 30,000 book titles.
EBSCO - All Databases
Select and search across multiple databases we license from EBSCO, including Academic Search Complete. These databases index journals and magazines--and in many cases provide full text access--in all subject areas in the social sciences, arts and humanities, and science and engineering. Additional sources like newspapers, books and book chapters are also indexed in some of these databases.
ProQuest - All Databases
Select and search across multiple databases we license from ProQuest. Most of these databases index--and in some cases provide full text access--of journals in all subject areas, along with indexing books, book chapters, dissertations and other sources. You can also add some non-journal databases to your search, like Dissertations & Theses and several major newspapers (New York Times, Wall Street Journal, etc). However, a few ProQuest products, such as Congressional, Statistical Abstracts of the World, and Statistical Insight, are not included here and must be searched separately.

Key Ethnic Studies Databases

Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America
Database indexing journal articles, books and other publications, covering all aspects of native North American culture and history. Includes materials published from 1500s to present.

Black Studies Center
Includes full text journals and indexing from the International Index of Black Periodicals, newspapers such as the Chicago Defender, Black Literature Index, and essays from the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience.

Chicano Database
Index representing all types of material on Mexican-American topics. Extensive indexing from 1960s to the present; selective coverage back to early 1900s. Since 1992 includes articles on the broader Latino experience.

Ethnic News Watch
1960-present. Full text U.S. ethnic community newspapers, newsletters, magazines. Includes African-American, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian-Pacific, European-American, Hispanic, Jewish, Native-American. Searchable in English and Spanish.

HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index
1970-present. Lists journal articles on Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean, the U.S.-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the U.S

IIBP: International Index to Black Periodicals
Citations and abstracts from over 150 scholarly and popular journals, newspapers and newsletters from the United States, Africa and the Caribbean (as far back as 1902)--and full-text coverage of over 40 core Black Studies periodicals (1998 forward)
Oxford African American Studies Center
More than 7,500 articles from Oxford's reference works, plus primary sources with commentaries, over 1,000 images, maps, charts and tables, timelines, and over 6,000 biographies
Race Relations Abstracts
1975-present. Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline[Full Description]
URL too long to display

Google Scholar

Bonus search tip: Google Scholar is a useful tool because it searches within the full text of articles. It's most useful when your topic is so narrow that you don't find much using the subject-specific databases.

About BrowZine

BrowZine is a current awareness service to help you keep up with the latest research in your field. You can use it on the web, through a mobile app, or both as it syncs your account across all devices. It's available to all UC San Diego faculty, staff, and students.

With BrowZine:

Create a customized list of your favorite scholarly, peer-reviewed journals (64 max), which you can access on the web (via BrowZine.com) and mobile devices. This includes journals in all disciplines, from hundreds of publishers.
Check in periodically to see if new articles have been published. On your mobile device, you'll get a notification with the number of new articles.
Browse the articles for ones you want to read, or download to read later.
Create and organize lists of articles ("My Articles") for easy retrieval. This is a great way to save articles for later reading if you like to scan for articles on your phone but prefer to read them on your tablet or computer.
Share links to articles, or export references into bibliographic management software.

For more in-depth searching of the literature, to search materials not covered by BrowZine like books and popular magazines, and to access older journal issues, please consult other resources such as UC Library Search, our databases and research guides, and your subject librarian.