Skip to main content
Handbooks, Encyclopedias & Dictionaries on Business Topics
These items provide authoritative background information. They're a great place to understand more about a topic or concept, and to see how people have been researching and writing about it over time.
AR provides scholarly review articles that may serve as starting points for research, or to keep up with research trends in a field. Each article attempts to convey the research output of a discipline or topic, and reports the nature of the research, in terms of its empirical findings, theoretical development, methodology or historical development.
CQ Researcher Plus Archive
1923-present. Provides access to summaries, bibliographies and analysis of current and controversial issues. All reports written by journalists.
Elsevier Handbooks of Economics
These handbooks contain thorough background on the research and theory of a multitude of economics topics written and edited by experts in the field.
Encyclopedia of Business Ethics & Society
This encyclopedia contains entries describing social and ethical aspects of business, and the theory of business ethics.
International Encyclopedia of Organization Studies
This subject encyclopedia covers a broad range of topics about "how individuals construct organizational structures, processes, and practices" which influence our social relations within institutions.
New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics
This longstanding, scholarly publication is the go-to place for background on any topic in economics, because its articles are written by experts who provide for each entry an overview of theory and the current state of research.
Oxford Handbooks on Business & Management
Includes 28 titles with fuller background on various topics, including business history, comparative institutions, international business, pensions, regulation & strategy.