Skip to main content
Finding Articles--Specific Subjects
Depending on your specific area of research, you may want to look in related disciplines and fields of study. The following databases cover a larger number of publications than more general databases. To browse all social science and humanities disciplines for article databases, see this list.
America: History and Life
1964-present. International database for research on all periods of U.S. and Canadian history, including very recent years. Includes abstracts of journal articles and listings of books and dissertations.
Criminology: A SAGE Full-text Collection
Includes full-text of 17 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals go back 20 years. Subjects covered: Criminal Justice, Juvenile Delinquency & Justice, Corrections, Policing, Forensic Psychology, Family & Domestic Violence.
1960-present. Full text U.S. ethnic community newspapers, newsletters, magazines. Includes African-American, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian-Pacific, European-American, Hispanic, Jewish, Native-American. Searchable in English and Spanish.
Family & Society Studies Worldwide
Publications indexed are drawn from a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, sociology, psychology, demography, health sciences, education, economics, law, history, and social work. Covers 1970-present
A full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. 1970s-present.
1954-present. An international database for research on the history of all regions (except the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the current decade.
Labordoc, the ILO Library's database, contains references and full text access to the world's literature on the world of work.[Full Description]
Social Services Abstracts
Identifies articles about community development, family and social welfare, social work, gerontology, poverty and homelessness, etc. Includes web resources, too
1963-present. Abstracts journal articles, monographs, dissertations covering sociology, social work, and related social sciences.
Finding Articles--General and Interdisciplinary
The following databases look at all areas of the social sciences, humanities and arts and also general interest publications. With one search, you may be able to pull out research from many different disciplines.
Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary database that indexes articles from all disciplines and all subject areas. Also includes popular magazines, so limit to Scholarly Journals to exclude Newsweek, Sports Illustrated, etc. Many articles are full-text in the database.
Search hundreds of years of full-text journals from all disciplines and subject areas. The most recent 3 - 5 years' issues are not included. There are no subject headings, so (carefully) limit searching to title words instead of full text to do more precise searching.
Project Muse: Scholarly Journals Online
Search by subject or browse full text of scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics. Coverage begins 1995 or later, depending on the publication.
Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) via ISI Web of Knowledge
1956-present. Provides author, keyword, and cited reference searching to more than 1700 leading social sciences journals. In many cases with searchable abstracts plus links to e-journal images. One of the Web of Science databases. Use the UC-eLinks button to find full text, print, and/or request the item from another library.