LibGuides: Linguistics: Finding Books &amp; eBooks

Page Contents

	About UC Library Search
	Suggestions for finding books and ebooks
	Information about recommending a purchase and Interlibrary Loan
	Find annual reviews
	List of Social Sciences & Humanities Ebook Collections
	If you don't see what you are looking for (especially regarding course materials, workbooks, or language learning materials), search the Catalog for the Linguistics Department's Language Lab.

A note about textbooks: it is not a practice to purchase course textbooks for our collection, but here are some tips to see if we happen to have them.

Check UC Library Search. We may have it or a past edition.
Check Course Reserves to see if your professor has added it for you to access.

UC Library Search

UC Library Search, accessible from the search box on the library's homepage, helps you locate books, film, music, maps, and various other materials at the UC San Diego Library and beyond. It also contains a limited number of online journals and newspaper articles. You may search by keyword, title, and author, and filter your search to what is available online. You can also place an interlibrary loan request through UC Library Search for materials at other UC campuses or libraries worldwide using your Single Sign-On credentials.

Search Tips

Sign in to access full results lists, electronic resources, request items, and save records. To access electronic resources, you must be logged into the VPN.
Capitalize the operators AND, OR, NOT when combining key search terms.
To request items that the Library doesn't have click the Request button.
Click Digitalization to request scans of print book chapters or print articles.

UC Library Search is one part of your complete search.

UC Library Search does not include all the content to which the Library subscribes. To extend your search, try a database. The database you use depends on the topic or subject you have chosen and the type of information you need to access. You may choose among broad subject areas (e.g., biology, art, political science, etc.), as well as interdisciplinary databases or ones that search across multiple disciplines.

You must also be logged into the VPN to access the information for any database with a blue lock icon.

A-Z Databases

Suggestions for Finding Books & eBooks

1. Start with a keyword search in UC Library Search for your topic.

2. If you haven't already, sign in. Then filter results by "resource type".

3. Locate titles of interest and click on their title. View "Details" to see relevant subject headings/tags. You can search these to find similar title. Click "Virtual Browse" to see other related books nearby.

Example:

screenshot of "Details" of book record

screenshot of virtual browse option

Recommend a Purchase

Recommend a Purchase
If there is a resource you need or a prominent resource you feel we should own, fill out this form.

List of Annual Reviews

To see a list of annual reviews for your discipline, use UC Library Search - "[subject area] -- annual review".

UC Library Search

Social Sciences & Humanities Ebook Collections

Some of the e-book collections listed below are focused tightly on one or a few humanities & social science disciplines, while others cover all disciplines broadly (sciences, arts, humanties, social sciences).

Academic Search Complete
ASC is a multidisciplinary database that primarily provides coverage of academic journals, but it also contains a growing number e-books.
ACLS Humanities eBooks
Full-text and full-page-image access more than 3300 books in the humanities and area studies, recommended by scholars as significant contributions to their respective fields. From the American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS).
Africa Wide Information
Covers 19th century-present, and incorporates African Studies and South African Studies databases. Sources include books, periodicals and magazines articles, newspapers, pamphlets, maps, reports, theses, much more.

Afro-Americana imprints, 1535-1922
This includes more than 12,000 books, pamphlets and broadsides spanning over 400 years, from the early 16th to the early 20th century. Critically important subjects covered include the West's discovery and exploitation of Africa; the rise of slavery in the New World along with the growth and success of abolitionist movements; the development of racial thought, including political protest and resistance to racism; descriptions of African American life throughout the Americans; and slavery and race in fiction and drama.
Ancestry
Ancestry includes 25,000 books of local and family history, genealogy, other documents and index to genealogy and local history periodicals.
Asian American Drama (Alexander Street)
Asian American Drama contains 186 plays by 35 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more.

Business Source Complete
In addition to articles and business news, BSC includes nearly 1000 e-books on business and managment topics by publishers such as the American Management Association, American Marketing Association, Harvard Business School Publishing, Taylor & Francis, and more.

Chinamaxx Digital Libraries (SuperStar) 中文电子书集献
Also known as Chinamaxx Digital Library of Chinese E-Books, and SuperStar Digital Libraries. (Compatible with IE browser only! Requires SuperStar Reader (SS Reader) ). UCSD and UCSB users also have access to additional content called the Local Gazetteers collection (late 1960s to mid 1980s, 地方志 http://uclibs.org/PID/220727), People's Pictorial (人民画报 http://uclibs.org/PID/220726), and Historical Documents (文史资料 http://uclibs.org/PID/220728) in the SuperStar Digital Libraries. Note: Using the IE browser, you can also enter via Chinamaxx.net, see under Specialty.

CogNet Library
A growing collection of searchable electronic texts for cognitive, brain, and computer sciences from MIT Press and others.

CRCnetBASE
CRC Press' e-book collections are primarily based in the sciences, however it also contains a subset related to management, and has a particularly strong collection of project management, marketing and social media and stragegic planning resources. Not all CRCnetBASE collections are licensed by UCSD.
Early American Imprints Series I (1639-1800)
Browse or search Early American Imprints (Digital Evans), a major collection of 17th and 18th century books and pamphlets based on Charles Evans American Bibliography. On completion will consist of over 36,000 works and 2,400,000 images
Early American Imprints, Series II (1801-1819)
Covering every aspect of American life during the early decades of the United States, this primary source collection provides full-text access to the 36,000 American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the first 19 years of the nineteenth century
Early Encounters in North America (Alexander Street)
This release contains 1,482 authors and over 100,000 pages of material: letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters in North America. The collection is centered on present-day Canada and the U. S. with limited coverage of Mexico.
Early English Books Online - EEBO
Containing digitized full text versions of over 100,000 books printed in England or in English between 1475 and 1700, EEBO is an invaluable resource for locating primary texts in the areas of literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, education, mathematics, the arts and the sciences.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online -- Basic Search
Digitization of The Eighteenth Century, a print library covering 150,000 titles (books, pamphlets & essays) published in the United Kingdom 1701-1800.
Gu jin tu shu ji cheng 古今圖書集成
http://uclibs.org/PID/113712
Contains searchable full-text and scanned images of important classics from ancient China to the Qing Dynasty; includes works on astronomy, geography, history, philosophy, literature, politics, economics, art, education, agriculture, medicine, and more.
HeinOnline
Among its contents, which are focused on topics of the law, there are e-books that cover topics on everything from ancient law, constitutional law, and the history of legal systems around the world. Search across collections from this main page, or click on a collection link to browse titles.
Images of America (Alexander Street)
Built on Arcadia Publishing's large and ongoing book series of local town and community histories, on completion it will include over 1 million digitized historical images and texts.
JSTOR
Over 32,000 scholarly books now integrated within the popular and powerful JSTOR platform, searchable, viewable, and downloadable as chapters alongside the articles.

Knovel
3,000+ texts, handbooks, encyclopedias and databases. Primarily engineering-focused, but there also is content for the social sciences. Particularly, there are e-books related to the management topics of project management, Total Quality Management, Six Sigma, ISO 9000, ISO 14000, LEED certification, business process design, industrial administration, supply chain management, logistics and green manufacturing.

Latino Literature
Latino Literature contains approximately 380 plays and 67,500 pages of prose and poetry by Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican and other Latin writers working in the United States.
LGBT Thought & Culture (Alexander Press)
LGBT Thought and Culture includes key works of the LGBT political and social movements from 1900-present in many formats (texts, speeches, letters, interviews, etc). Its e-book content features select rare works from notable LGBT publishers, including Alyson Books and Cleis Press, as well as mainstream publishers, and winners of both the Stonewall Book Awards and Lambda Literary Awards, many of which are no longer in print.
Literature Online (LiON)
A fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama, and prose. See a full list of its e-book content.
Making of the Modern World
Provides primary source documents on topics of banking, economics, finance, transportation and manufacturing. Provides full-text and full-page-image access to books from the 1460-1850 period, and pre-1906 serials.
more...less...
It focuses on economics interpreted in the widest sense, including political science, history, sociology, and special collections on banking, finance, transportation and manufacturing. It combines the strengths of two pre-eminent collections--the Goldsmiths' Library of Economic Literature at the University of London Library and the Kress Library of Business and Economics at the Harvard University Graduate School of Business Administration--along with supplementary materials from the Seligman Collection in the Butler Library at Columbia University and from the libraries of Yale University.
National Academies Press
Over 3,000 book-length reports from the National Academies. Emphasis is on science, engineering, and technology. However the social sciences content includes materials on science and environmental policy, and education.
NBER Books (National Bureau of Economic Research)
The NBER is a private, nonprofit and nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works. Its research is intended for economic research among public policymakers, business professionals, and the academic community. This site also links to e-book pages that highlight its recent books and its books by series.
OECD iLibrary Books (Organisation for Economic Cooperation & Development)
The e-books gateway of the OECD iLibrary cover the topics of development, economics and business, education, finance, goverment and social issues (such as migration and health), and urban/regional policy. UCSD's guide to the iLibrary contents.
Patrologia Graecae
The Patrologiae Graecae (PG) is the online version of Jacques-Paul Migne's standard source for scholars studying Greek ecclesiastical writers up to the year 1439...

Patrologia Latina
Works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216. The database contains the complete Patrologia Latina, including all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indexes.

RAND Monographs
RAND, an independent, nonprofit research institution, publishes monographs on its research, which falls into the topics of Children and Families; Education and the Arts; Energy and Environment; Health and Health Care; Infrastructure and Transportation; International Affairs; Law and Business; National Security; Population and Aging; Public Safety; Science and Technology; Terrorism and Homeland Security.
Slavery and Abolition in the US: Select Publications
A digital collection of books and pamphlets that demonstrate the varying ideas and beliefs about slavery in the United States as expressed by Americans throughout the nineteenth century.
Springer
Over 40,000 books covering a range of disciplines. Titles from 2005-present can be bought at a discounted price of $24.95 - look for MyCopy.
Taiwan wen xian cong kan 臺灣文獻叢刊
Also known as the Encyclopedia of Taiwan. Contains searchable full-text and scanned images of 595 books originally published in print between 1959 and 1972. Temporal coverage from the Tang Dynasty to the Japanese occupation period.
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae
The Thesaurus Linguae Graecae digital library contains virtually all ancient Greek texts surviving from the period between Homer (8th century B.C.) and A.D. 600, and a large number of texts deriving from the period between A.D. 600 and 1453.
UC Press ebooks Collection (1982-2004)
This collection includes almost 2,000 books from academic presses on a range of topics, mostly in the social sciences and humanities. Access to the entire collection of electronic books is open to all University of California faculty, staff, and students, and more than 500 of the titles are available to the public.

Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels
Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels is a scholarly, primary source database focusing on adult comic books and graphic novels.

Wiley
1,300+ e-books on all major disciplines. There is strong coverage in the humanities, the social and behavioral sciences, business and law. The UC's purchased all 2011-2016 e-books, plus selected titles from 2010 and earlier.

Women and Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000
Database of digitized books, images, documents, essays and bibiographies documenting women's reform activities in the U.S., mostly from the 19th and 20th centuries.

World Bank e-Library
The World Bank e-library is an online, fully cross-searchable portal of World Bank documents. The collection consists of World Bank publications and Policy Research Working Papers, plus each new book and paper as they are published. Use its Data Book contents, like World Development Indicators and the Little Data Book series.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Resource unavailable from UC San Diego Library? Borrow it from another library. For free!

If we don't own a particular resource, the Library can borrow it for you from other libraries. For free. And they will have it sent to the UC San Diego Library location of your choice.

Do a search in UC Library Search. If it is unavailable, you will receive an option to "Request through Interlibrary Loan" in the "How to get it" section.

ILL FAQs
How long will my book take to arrive? And other frequently asked questions.

Feedback

Is this page useful?

Absolutely!: 0 votes (0%)

Yes: 0 votes (0%)

Sort of: 0 votes (0%)

No: 0 votes (0%)

Absolutely not!: 0 votes (0%)

Total Votes: 0

Linguistics: Finding Books & eBooks

Page Contents

About UC Library Search

Suggestions for finding books and ebooks

Information about recommending a purchase and Interlibrary Loan

Find annual reviews

List of Social Sciences & Humanities Ebook Collections

If you don't see what you are looking for (especially regarding course materials, workbooks, or language learning materials), search the

Catalog for the Linguistics Department's Language Lab.

A note about textbooks: it is not a practice to purchase course textbooks for our collection, but here are some tips to see if we happen to have them.

Check UC Library Search. We may have it or a past edition.

Check Course Reserves to see if your professor has added it for you to access.

UC Library Search

UC Library Search

Search Tips

UC Library Search is one part of your complete search.

Suggestions for Finding Books & eBooks

Recommend a Purchase

List of Annual Reviews

Social Sciences & Humanities Ebook Collections

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Feedback