Skip to main content
How Can I Find Articles on My Topic?
The key database you will use quite often is PubMed. Go beyond just entering keywords and learn how to make the database work harder for you.
- Learn how to use Clinical Queries and Limits.
- Check the Search Tips & Tutorials page for links to a couple different tutorials.
- Use My NCBI to set up filters
- Know that MeSH terms can make a big difference -- call me if you need help with a search
Where else to check?
Not sure where to start? Maybe your topic is not covered well in PubMed and another database will do better.
BIOSIS Citation Index
BIOSIS coverage is from 1926 to present and includes around 6,000 journals, conference proceedings, books, & technical reports in all aspects of biological sciences. The BIOSIS Citation Index database is an excellent database for all biological information, including marine biology, biological oceanography, marine ecology, developmental biology, and molecular biology. This is the preferred database to use over BIOSIS Previews because you can search for cited references.
Business Source Complete
Dates of coverage vary, some journals back to early 20th century. Abstracts and full text in virtually all subject areas related to business. Journal and magazine articles; also books, industry reports, company profiles, SWOT analysis, much more
1937 - present. Covers indexing of over 5000 journals in nursing and the allied health sciences, with full text for over 700 of those journals. Coverage includes nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative & complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
Embase database covers around 8,600 journals from 100 countries, Subjects covered include all disciplines of medicine and biomedical science with particular strengths in the fields of drug research, pharmacology and toxicology. It also includes coverage of Allied Health subjects as well as Public Health topics. A key resource for systematic reviews, particularly ones involving drug therapy.
1597-present. From the American Psychological Association. Provides access to scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Includes journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations. Includes approximately 2,500 journals. Updated weekly.
The most comprehensive index to the chemical literature and related sciences, including chemical engineering, materials science, & nanotechnology. Search 37 million references, CAS Registry (72 million substances, many include property data) & CASREACT (54 million reactions and 14 million synthetic preparations). Search by topic, reaction, or chemical substance (Registry number, structure, substructure). More information about SciFinder, including registration instructions.
Web of Science
Indexes over 18,000 journals in all subjects (coverage back to 1900 for science and social science journals), as well as 80,000 books and more than 180K conference proceedings. Includes the popular "cited reference search" to identify papers which have cited a previously published work or author. Can also sort by "times cited" and find related articles based on commonly cited works.
How Can I Find a Specific Article?
Sometimes you know exactly what article you want and you're just trying to figure out if you can get a copy at the library. If you have the citation information (title, author, journal title, volume number, etc.), there are 2 ways you can find out.
Harnad, S. "Why and how we are Not Zombies." Journal of Consciousness Studies 1.2 (1994): 164-7.
1. Catalog Search
- Go to the catalog
- Do at Title/Journal Title search for the name of the journal
- If you get too many results limit it to Journals/Serials
- E-journals are found in the same way. If a journal is available online, links are provided to the full-text.
- If the article isn't available online, check to see if we have the year you need in print. Then note the Location & Call Number.
2. Citation Linker -- using UC-eLinks
- Go the Citation Linker form
- Select the type of item you seek -- book, book chapter, journal article, etc.
- Fill in as much information as you have -- the example below is an article with the article title, name of the journal, & the volume number
- Click Continue
- The UC-eLinks screen (see below) will appear with your options for electronic access or print aceess th rough Roger (see instructions above)
- If we don't have the article you need, use the Request link and request a copy through Interlibrary Loan. Articles are usually sent by email in 4-7 business days.
How Can I Get to the Full-Text?
How to find the full-text of the article:
Some databases include the full text of the article in the
database. Look for icons or links that say:
- HTML (good version for reading on a computer screen)
- PDF (good version for printing or saving to a portable drive)
- Full Text (no specific format listed, but full text nonetheless)
If the article
isn't available full-text within the database you found it, click on the orange
UC-eLinks button to checkfor other full text as well as print options. UC-eLinks checks to see if the article is available through UC San Diego Libraries's subscriptions - whether it is online or in print.
UC-eLinks makes it easy to:
- Check for online access
- Check the catalog (Roger) for the print version
- Use Request to have us get a copy from another library (known as interlibrary loan)
- Format the citation information in one of 5 sytles to easily paste into your bibliography - use Copy & Paste citation
Can I search for articles at home?
Yes! The Library online resources are restricted so that only current UCSD faculty, staff, and students can view them from off-campus. In order to get access to these resources from an off-campus computer, you need to connect your computer to the UCSD network.
There are two ways to do this:
Virtual Private Network (VPN)
- Web VPN
The article I need isn't here - How can I get a copy?
Interlibrary loan (ILL) is the service libraries provide when they do not own the item you want. We will work with our partner libraries and borrow a book, video, or get a scan of a journal article at your request.
- If working in a database, look for the Request link in UC-eLinks.
- Know the details of a specific citation you need? If so, use Citation Linker to look for it in UCSD's collection and make your request if we don't have it. (See details).
- Check the status of or renew an ILL item? For details on how to, see Viewin Your ILL Requests on Using My Library Account tab.