Skip to main content
Encyclopedias and Handbooks
These books are available online, and accessible from anywhere with the proxy server enabled.
Searchable database of 3000+ science and engineering reference works. Includes many property and data tables.
A collection (35 currently) of online reference works about Machine Design. Fully accessible and searchable online.
The following databases allow you to search academic research articles in select fields.
Compendex is the largest research database in the physical sciences and engineering, focusing on mechanical, aeorspace, civil and structural engineering topics.
Inspec is another large database of research articles in engineering, focusing on computer, electrical and process engineering, as well as covering other physical science topics.
Web of Science
Indexes 6,000 key science journals--an excellent place to start looking for articles across a wide variety of science disciplines.
A Google search of just the scholarly literature. May include patents, case law and some other research sources.
This database covers a wide range of science disciplines. It is particularly useful in connecting documents
through citations. Once you find an article on your topic, is allows you to immediately get a list of all other articles that have referenced it. This is a good way to expand your topic and find related research. A
tutorial on how to perform this type of search can be found here.
Web of Science
Indexes over 18,000 journals in all subjects (coverage back to 1900 for science and social science journals), as well as 80,000 books and more than 180K conference proceedings. Includes the popular "cited reference search" to identify papers which have cited a previously published work or author. Can also sort by "times cited" and find related articles based on commonly cited works.
Guide to UCSD ME Info
This page lists most everything that UCSD has to offer for MAE students electronically, sorted by type of information.