Skip to main content

Medicine: Online Clinical Library: Find: Articles

How-to

PubMed is free for anyone (and everyone) to use, so how can you know which articles you have access to through UC San Diego's Library?

The answer is the UC-eLinks button.    And, you will only see it if you use the link below to PubMed.

This button will take you to the full text, when possible or give you a link to check Roger (e.g., see if we have it in print).  Most of the time, it will take you directly to the article on the publisher's website where you can use the PDF link to get a printable copy.  However, there are other usefull tools in UC-eLinks:

  • Request this ...  for those times where the Library does not have the article you need, simply request a copy and we will take care of tracking it down for you.
  • Copy & paste citation ... for those times where you need just simple plain text of the article citation.  You can choose one of 5 styles and after clicking Go, can past it into any document or email.

 

See UC-eLinks in action.

Search for a specific article using the article's citation information through the Roger catalog or the Citation Linker in UC-eLinks.

This list provides access to online journals subscribed to by the UC San Diego Library.  It does not search for articles! It only searches for journals, and then you can search for articles within that one journal. 

f you would like to search for articles in more than one journal at the same time, search one of the article databases.

Request an article through Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary loan (ILL) is the service libraries provide when they do not own the item you want. We will work with our partner libraries and borrow a book, video, or get a scan of a journal article at your request. 

  • If working in a database, look for the Request link in UC-eLinks (see Request Articles or Books for details). 
     
  • Know the details of a specific citation you need? If so, use Citation Linker to look for it in UCSD's collection and make your request if we don't have it (see the How-To "Find a Specific Article").
     
  • Check the status of or renew an ILL item? For details on how to, see Viewing Your ILL Requests on Using My Library Account tab. 
     
  • Find more information about what can be requested and what cannot be requested by visiting our Requesting Books and Articles FAQ.

  • Print-only articles in our collection can be copied for those at Hillcrest or Thornton for free. Fill out this request form.

Can I search for articles at home?

Yes! The Library's online resources are restricted so that only current UC San Diego faculty, staff, and students can view them from off-campus. In order to get access to these resources from an off-campus computer, you need to connect your computer to the UC San Diego network.  You can use the desktop VPN, the Web VPN (good when at VA), or the proxy.

For more information or help with off-campus access, contact the ACMS Help Desk.

Loading

What if the journal (or article) I need isn't here - can Interlibrary Loan help?

Requesting an Article You Cannot Find

Interlibrary loan (ILL) is the service libraries provide when they do not own the item you want.  We will work with our partner libraries and borrow a book, video, or get a scan of a journal article at your request. 

  • If working in a database, look for the Request link in UC-eLinks. 

  • Know the details of a specific citation you need?  If so, use Citation Linker to look for it in UCSD's collection and make your request if we don't have it.  (See details).