Skip to main content

Medicine: Online Clinical Library: Request Articles or Books

Interlibrary Loan Form
extra line

Getting PDFs of Articles from the Print Collection

I'm not on campus, can you send me an article?

If you work at Hillcrest or Thornton, you can get a scanned PDF copy of an article from our existing print collection if an online version is not available.  Simply use the link for our interlibrary loan form to place your request.  There is no fee for this service for those who are located at Hillcrest or Thornton.  

Is there a scanner at Biomed to scan articles?

Yes, by the desk in the Learning Commons area at Biomed, there is an easy to use scanner.

I'm Not From UCSD, How Can I Get an Article?

Area health professionals (and members of the general public) are welcome to come to the library to use either our print or electronic collection.  However, the Request or interlibrary loan service is only for UC San Diego faculty, staff, & students.  

Area health professionals have the ability to use Loansome Doc - a service of the National Library of Medicine - to request articles found in PubMed - for a small cost.  For more information, see the online Fact Sheet.

Interlibrary Loan Form Citation Linker Form - a form to see if we have something
& if not, submit the ILL request.

Request an Article or Book not at UC San Diego

Request an Article

Use the Request form or the Request link from UC-eLinks (demonstrated below).

Many databases are citation databases - they have the citation information and an abstract, but do not offer the article in full-text. So, UC San Diego Library has a special tool to help you get from the database to the article, often with just one click:  UC-eLinks

  • If the article isn't available full-text within the database itself (and that's most databases), click on the orange UC-eLinks button  uc elinks to check for other online full text options. 
  • Print option:  When we don't have online access to an article, we might have it in print format in the library and UC-eLinks will give you a link to our catalog, Roger, to check that too.  
The UC-eLinks Menu page looks like:   and  The UC-eLinks Request page looks like:
 

Fill in your barcode number (from the back of your campus ID), add in your email address and submit your request.  

Note:  If you don't have a number that starts with 21822 ..., then you need to contact the library - either through Ask A Librarian or call X43253.

 

Help!  The form keeps asking for a barcode and I don't have one.

The barcode/library ID number is on the back of the campus ID cards, but is not on the hospital ID cards.  If that is your situation, please call the staff at the Biomedical Library Building for assistance, 858/534-3253.

Request a Book

  • Try Melvyl:  If the book is unavailable in Roger (our catalog) it might be available at another UC campus.  From Roger, look for the link to Melvyl to automatically search for your book or go to ucsd.worldcat.org/ to start your search.  When you find what you want, use the Request button to place your request.  
  • Try Circuit:  If you think the book is one that the local area universities and local county public library might have, try this catalog.  Not the best for clinical texts - Melvyl will be better for that.  When you find what you want, use the Request button to place your request.
  • Back up ILL Request Form:  If you have the citation you need, you can copy & paste (or simply type) the details into this form to start the interlibrary loan process.
   Links you may see in Roger.

 

Help!  The form keeps asking for a barcode and I don't have one.

The barcode/library ID number is on the back of the campus ID cards, but is not on the hospital ID cards.  If that is your situation, please call the staff at the Biomedical Library Building for assistance, 858/534-3253.

Loading